We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Good food, Slow Service Review for Kalahari” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Karoo

Great Karoo
Ranked #50 of 184 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
463 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Another Good food, Slow Service Review for Kalahari”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were seated immediately but waited a few minutes for a server to arrive in the mostly empty restaurant. When she did come, she was pleasant. We ordered our beverages and decided on the pasta bar as we feared that ordering from the menu might take all night. As it turned out, the pasta bar was very good. Nice variety, the pasta and toppings were well prepared. The desserts were very good as well. We would recommend this restaurant for the pasta bar.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2Travel-4funNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Great Karoo, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to review our restaurant. Certainly our pleasure to have you. Very glad to hear you enjoyed the Pasta bar, and I will be sure to pass along your thoughts to our Chef. Take care and hope to see you again when you visit next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    27
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at the Kalahari for 4 nights and on the last night were too tired to venture off property. Our son had wanted to try this place earlier but we had diswaded him assuming that a buffet inside a hotel, overlooking a waterpark would be subpar at best. We were wrong. It was excellent. The buffet was $15.99 for adults and $4.99 for children 10 and under. The salad bar was extensive with several unique items. The pizza was very good, fresh and tasty. What impressed me the most was the bulid your own pasta bar. Much to my surprise the pasta (4 different types) were al dente, out of warming pans. They had 4 different sauces to choose from. I had the alfredo and meat sauce both of which had very good flavor. They also had cauliflower, brocolli, sauted mushooms, onions and a few other things to add to your pasta. The brocolli and mushrooms were yummy. There was a dessert bar which was ok. The cheesecake was not good. The tiramisu was fine. The key lime pie was very good The chocolate pie was excellent. We would return even if we aren't staying at the Kalahari.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank disfan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Good food and a nice view of the pool while you eat!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank mtem28922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Great Karoo, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
I just wanted to be sure to send a quick note, thanking you for taking the time to find us on TripAdvisor and reviewing us! Certainly our pleasure to have you! Looking forward to seeing you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood Dale, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent buffets! Perfect for everyone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Food is great! !! Buffet is average price. There is truly something for everyone! HIGHLY recommend!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Familyof4fromChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Good dinner buffet.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed the dinner buffet on our stay here. Food was good. However the view of the pool area wasn't a great thing while eating (depending on what's going on)....

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jandrews77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Karoo also viewed

Wisconsin Dells, WI
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Great Karoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing