We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for the family ”
Review of Chula Vista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chula Vista Resort
Ranked #52 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We visited the indoor water park during Thanksgiving and had a blast! There are many slides to choose from for all ages, even toddlers. This is worth the money and time. We will certainly visit again. The price is worth it and you can easily make half a day of it. The lifeguards are very attentive and do their job well.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Pallas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Pallas A,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your visit to Los Rios waterpark. it was great to see that you had a memorable time. We do hope that you will be able to be with us again in the very near future. All the best this holiday season.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,226)
There are newer reviews for Chula Vista Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,083 - 1,089 of 2,226 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

Won't stay again. Had issues with the onsite restaurant and manager refused to speak to us and told our waitress to pay our tab as she refused to comp any of the items ordered in error. Our waitress was embarrassed and we left upset. Complained to front desk as well. This hotel was about $100 cheaper than others and I guess u get what u pay for.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HNYMOONER28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Hnymooner28,

I personaly apologize for the experience you encountered, for this is not expectable in our service culture. We have followed up with the indivduals involved. Again I apologize and hopefully you may be able to see an opportunity to give us another try in the future.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Our family used a Groupon for a night at Chula Vista last Friday. Our check in experience couldn't have been better. The gal who checked us in was familiar with the items included in the Groupon and knew the answers to all of our questions.
Since we had a $25 dining credit we dined at the Market Buffet. The credit brought the price down to about what it should be. Food variety and quality was very good. Our sons are 6 & 16 years old so tastes are diverse but they had something for everyone. One item I thought was unusual was that desserts need to be requested through your waiter. Not sure why they aren't on the buffet since the choices were items such as cake & pie that could sit on a buffet without degrading.
Our Groupon was for a Jr Suite which was pretty much an ordinary room. A bit disappointing but we didn't spend much time in the room anyway. As for the waterpark we've been to several others including Kalahari and for our family the Chula Vista works well. It's small enough where we can keep track of each other yet large enough to have slides/activities for everyone. Everything was in working order so no surprises or complaints.
The only negative we experienced was an early morning phone call to try to sell us a property. Once my 6 year old is awoken he's not going back to sleep so that left everyone groggy the rest of the day. Not very professional. Other than the early call everything was tip top. All staff that we observed in the hotel, restaurant, coffee shop and waterpark were very friendly and competent. Kudo's to their Human Resources team.

Room Tip: The Jr Suite is quite ordinary. Consider an upgrade.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Joe J.,

We appreciate you being with us on your recent journey to Chula Vista and the Dells.
I was happy to see that you had a most memorable stay and hopefully we will see you again in the near future. Have a wonderful holiday season and safe travels.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in July for a weekend Checking in took a long time and the room was not ready for an hour past check in. The agent was not apologetic at all. The lobby was full of people waiting to get to their rooms. The room was ok, clean and well stocked with dishes, but whenever we asked for linen or towels we were told it was a busy weekend and we were lucky to get the towels we got. I'd hope for the price of the room we would at least have extra towels! The room service menu was incorrect and they did not have many choices. Wifi was terrible unless you stood in the kitchen. The buffet was way to expensive, poor variety and cold. Water park was ok , not great. Drinks were over priced and there were not a lot of slides. It could use a makeover. Think I'll stay elsewhere next time we visit the Dells.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Drafter,

Thank you for beign with us this past July and providing feedback on your stay. I do personally apologize that we did not meet expectations and certain team members were not responsive to your requests. Your comments are helpful to our mangers in training sessions. Although, time has passed we have made adjustments that we hope you may be able to visit us again in the future.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We took the kids for a fun weekend in mid September when they were not too busy.

Check in was SLOOOW.

Room was average. TV old and bed had the bedspreads that do not get changed every visit.We had a room with a kitchenette, that was nice.

Choose this place for the water park and the biggest ride/slide was closed the entire time we were there and had been closed for several days. One of the other slides was also shut down while we were there because my husband and another guest got cut on the slide. Hot tub at the water park was barley warm. Disappointing when you are cold from the other water activities. Food at he water park was reasonably priced (I was surprised). Hoping this was just a bad week for them. We night try it again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Fairway Family Villas, kitchenette included with all rooms there. Had outdoor hot t...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeatherHep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

HeatherHep,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations in some areas.
Your information is important so that it can assist in future development. I do hope that you may be able be with us again in the future, Best of holiday wishes.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Recently attended a Wisconsin Fire Chiefs conference at the Chula Vista and would like to pass along the accommodations, service, and meals were handled very well. The accommodations provided everything we needed. Will be back again. All personnel working for the Chula Vista were very professional and friendly. The meals and dinner provided certainly appealed to all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Scott S.,

Great to have you with us at the Fire Chiefs conference, hope it was fruitful for you. Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your stay.
Hopefully you may be able to be with us on a personal visit sometiem in the near future.
Thank you again,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I along with our 2 daughters (8 & 4) stayed here for two days. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. The waterpark was very clean and had plenty to do for my 8 and 4 year old. is this as big as Great Wolf or Kalahari - No but it is a wonderful place and enough for my children. Honestly my husband and I enjoyed being able to sit and watch the kids with out worry because we could not see them. The hotel room was very clean and plenty big enough for our family of four. It had a refrigerator so we were happy. Our room was a little far from the water park but they had an underground tunnel and they also offered a free shuttle bus. We enjoyed our stay and loved spending quality time with our children

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bid421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Bid421,

So glad to have you with us and thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your recent jouney to Chula Vista and the Dells. We are happy to see that you and your family had a most memorable time. We will be sure to keep you updated on future promotions.
Have a wonderful holiday season.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#59 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
642 reviews
5.9 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
717 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
968 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#23 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
956 reviews
4.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chula Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Resort

Address: 2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: $126 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chula Vista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chula Vista Resort and Waterpark is a complete resort experience in Wisconsin Dells with over 200,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor waterparks. Luxury comes standard in all of our guest rooms, suites and condominiums. Bring your clubs and challenge yourself on our 18-hole golf course. At Chula Vista, we invite you to laugh harder, splash bigger, stay longer and vacation better at Wisconsin Dells' most complete family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Groupon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Chula Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chula Vista Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Chula Vista Theme Hotel
Chula Vista Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Chula Vista Theme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing