We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good points!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chula Vista Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chula Vista Resort to your Saves list
Chula Vista Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Some good points!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stay at the Wlderness every year for a family weekend, rent 2-3 condo's and enjoy time with our children and grandchildren.

This year we decided to try the CV, smaller waterpark with the smaller kids, thought it would be better.

Pros: Like the smaller waterpark for the little one's. Ages 8-2, a perfect size. Condo was clean and looked nice. Hot Spring's also looked good, wasn't able to go in, wish that I could have though.
Condo size was great...plenty of room for the kids to not be under foot. Hot tub in middle of room was weird at first, kid's enjoyed it when they weren't at the waterpark, parent's enjoyed the not nagging to go all the time.

Cons: The condos are in some dire need of new furniture. All the furniture is in a shamble's, stool's scratched all up, sofa sleeper has seen much better day's and the chair was just to uncomfortable to sit in. I know that this place get's a lot of activilty, but we paid a lot of money for 2 condos and were not impressed.
Bed's were hard and uncomfortable, bring your own pillow.

Bare minimum for any sort of kitchen supplies, you will get (8) plate's, bowl's, cups and silverware, can opener,wine opener, couple of dull knive's and pizza cutter. (3) mixing bowls small, smaller and real small. (1) glass mixing bowl, pan, cookie sheet, pizza sheet. (2) small pots and a coffee maker. Nothing else!!! We were VERY disappointed in that.

Condos we were in, NO balcony. We like the balcony to put beer, soda etc outside for extra fridge room.

We had a nice weekend because of our family being together and the grandkid's enjoying the WP, jury is still out if we would stay here again. If we would get a GREAT price, probably. Would NOT pay what we did this year though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveann11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
DaveAnn11,

We appreciate you beign with us on your recent trip to the Dells and giving us an opportunity to
be of service. The comments you have provided are most appreciated for these are used for future planning.
We will be sure to keep you updated on our progress and we look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    568
    381
    322
    246
See reviews for
1,142
182
7
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Brad at the Front Desk was wonderful! He was extremely informative about all of the hotel accomodations and said it all with a smile. In addition, every staff member we saw during our stay, always said hello and offered assistance when needed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJH1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
KJH1125,

Great to see that you had such a wonderful time on your getaway to the Dells. We are most fortunate to have team members such as Brad.
Thank you for taking the time to recognize Brad and give us feedback. We look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed at resort this past week-end. Had to change rooms 3 times. At our first room we turned down the sheets to find hair in the bed! And not just one. It was disgusting! When we complained to the front desk they "upgraded" us to the Safaria suite. Little did we know that the upgrade was actually a downgrade. This room too, was filthy. Upon entering we immediately spotted a champange cork and dirty kleenex in plain site. The table was so sticky that our brochue ripped when we tried to pick it up. The carpet had not been vacumned. In addition, the room was located in the basement (not ground level). It was very musty smelling, which explains the king size dehumidifer in the bathroom. When we demanded a CLEAN room or our money back they put in the condo building which is much newer. The room was very clean, however the drain in the bathtub was totally clogged. There was 3 inches of water in the tub an hour after we all showered. Chula Vista needs to get their housekeeping in order!!! Parking is also a major problem. If you do decide to stay here - good luck and make sure you request the condo building.

Room Tip: The condo building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
JanetT,

I know how dissappointing it is to start a getaway for family vacation off to a poor experience and I offer my personal apology for wht occurred.
Your comments were brought to attention of the appropiate managers and used as a training opportunity.
I do hope that you may be able to give us another opportunity sometime in the future.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wisconsin Dells hotels

Highland Park, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our family spent 2 nights here. It was during the busy time between Christmas and New Year. When we arrived there was a huge line to check in and we waited an HOUR in line (with kids anxious to get to the water park) to get our room. When we FINALLY got to our room it had not been cleaned. And I don't mean it wasn't well cleaned, I mean the previous guests had left and nobody had been in the rooms since. Yuck. When my husband called the front desk, he was transferred to housekeeping (not really a housekeeping issue--we should not have been given that room at all). The person from housekeeping checked their system and confirmed that, in fact, the room had not been cleaned, and it was not ready for a new guest (uh, yeah, thanks). Another 20 minutes or so passed before we were given our room. Which, to be fair, was very nice. We had a 2 bed, 2 bath condo. Except for the fact that some previous guest had clearly smoked in the bathroom--which retained the smell--the room was perfect. We were given a free breakfast the next morning for the mess up. While I did like the facility, I do have one negative comment in that regard. For our entire building, there seemed to be only 1 elevator that took guests to the level necessary to access the water park. This was ridiculous. We generally took that stairs instead (which were extremely wide--as if they knew lots of people would be using them since there was only 1 elevator). While this was a minor inconvenience for us since our kids are 10 and 12, its not even an option for families with strollers--and there were many of them there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Elizabeth M,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. I do apologize for the way your outing began and this has been addressed to the appropiate team members.
I was glad to see that corrective measures were taken and I hope that we may be able to be of service to you again in the near future.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
263 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We rented a 2 bedroom unit with attached efficiency unit. This provided sleeping for the 8 of us without having to double up. The kitchen was well laid out, and had really hot water. Loved the fireplace, however didn't understand the jacuzzi tub in the middle of the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ImeldaMario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
ImeldaMario,

Thank you so much for your note and glad to see that the condo worked well for your group.
We hope to see you again soon and we will keep you update on our progress.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amery, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time at the resort but I can definetely see why other reviewers were frustrated with the service. Seemed like all of the employees were undertrained and didn't know the answers to our questions. My family previewed "The Club" to get a discount for our 3 room condo. Obviously the club is a huge scam but we were never intending on joining anyway. We got a 3 bedroom condo for only $240 per night. They also gave each couple that attended $100 which fed our entire family of 10 for lunch at the waterpark snackbar. The bed cut the foot of my nephew because the bar was sticking out from the side of the bed. Overall the room and waterpark were a great deal and we all had a great time!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slelle30325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed 1 nite, 7 people, 2 rooms with waterpark passes less than $150...How can u beat that??? Nice waterpark plenty of fun for kiddies. Clean rooms, balcony, huge outdoor fireside hot tub open in winter.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Natel 77,

Thank you for being with us on your recent trip to the Wisconsin Dells. We are glad to see that you and your family had a memorable time.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#59 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 stars 546 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#4 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 811 reviews
5.9 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#16 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
4.1 mi away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#34 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
4.5 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#39 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chula Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Resort

Property: Chula Vista Resort
Address: 2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chula Vista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chula Vista Resort and Waterpark is a complete resort experience in Wisconsin Dells with over 200,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor waterparks. Luxury comes standard in all of our guest rooms, suites and condominiums. Bring your clubs and challenge yourself on our 18-hole golf course. At Chula Vista, we invite you to laugh harder, splash bigger, stay longer and vacation better at Wisconsin Dells' most complete family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Chula Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chula Vista Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Chula Vista Theme Hotel
Chula Vista Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Chula Vista Theme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing