We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chula Vista Resort
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$174
$153
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$149
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$124
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alakai Hotel and Suites(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Hawk Motel & Suites(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$139
$135
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmericInn by Wyndham Wisconsin Dells(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$180
$162
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delton Grand Resort & Spa(Wisconsin Dells)
$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Wolf Lodge(Wisconsin Dells)
$270
$250
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
All Star Inn & Suites(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$109
$106
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,338)
Filter reviews
2,338 results
Traveler rating
488
658
463
401
328
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
488
658
463
401
328
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschop houseunderground tunnelall inclusive packagebedroom condothe indoor water parkgreat escapefull kitchenwisconsin riverall agesoff seasonolder kidstwo queen bedsgreat resorta lot of funyear oldsmini golffamily vacation
Filter
Updating list...
1,467 - 1,472 of 2,338 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Chula Vista Resort numerous times over the years and have always been quite pleased. We usually stay in the main hotel which is beautiful in the lobby but the rooms are a bit dated. This last stay, we stayed in the golf villas which were very nice and updated so we were very pleased. We really enjoy the all inclusive specials they have and our kids really enjoy the indoor water park. The only improvement that they could make to make it a top notch resort is to redecorate the main hotel as it has the same bedspreads that it had 20 years ago when we visited here for the first time and they need to upgrade their towels. Their towels are extremely low budget, small, thin and rough like sandpaper. Other than these two items (the decor in the rooms and the towel quality) I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetotravel7066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Loveto Travel7066,

Thank you so much for being with us again and being so loyal to Chula Vista, it is very much appreciated. The feedback you provided is most helpful and we do use these for our future planning.
We are in the process of reveiwing our options for the hotel rooms and will keep you updated on our progress.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future, have safe travels.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have gone to the Chula Vista with our family and just as a couple. It never disappoints. The views over the bluffs and down to the river are absolutely beautiful, especially in the fall. The buffet is excellent for adults and children. And the rooms are spacious, clean and fresh. We really enjoy our time there and if you can get the "all inclusive" deal...it's a real winner.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antwo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Antwo5,

Glad to see you had such a great time on your recent visit and thank you for being with us. Our team members appreciate your comments and feedback.
We hope to see you again soon and we will keep you updated on our specials for the coming season.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We recently stayed at Chula Vista Resort in Wisconsin Dells, WI. The hotel and rooms were very pleasent, nicely kept and clean. The sports bar food and drinks were good and wait staff were friendly and nice. We generally were very happy with our stay up until we got our bill. On the bill there was a $4.00 charge for "Green Initiative" which when questioned about this, we were told that "this is a fee to help the hotel to 'go green' to help them purchase new light bulbs, etc to become more energy efficiant." Not sure why this is my responsiblity??? Then there is the issue of the resort fee - which was $19.90. I realize a good majority of hotels are now charging these fees to use the pools,waterparks, etc, but when asked about this fee, I was told it was for the shuttle bus and parking. REALLY?? Bottom line - just am not happy with the extra fees that were assessed to us. When you plan on spending a certain amount for a hotel stay, that should be the amount you are charged.. We also were hounded to attend a presentation on their timeshares after we had told them NO several times.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Denise D,

Thank you so much for being with us and for taking the time to provide feedback. Your comments do help us in future planning as we move forward.
I do hope that you will visit us again sometime in the future, we look forward to being of service.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed in unit # 2423 and it was excellent. Beautiful decor, kitchen with granite countertops, big whirlpool in the living room, lots of room. Loved the 2 fireplaces on the cold days when we were there. It was right on the river and had a great view of the trees and some visibility of the river. It was nice that it was a little out of town. It was more relaxing and only a 3 - 4 minute drive to the Dells.

They had tons of activities for Halloween - trick or treating, hay rides, s'mores, and a fun dance / costume contest. This is a great resort. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Unit 2423 that we stayed in was excellent, right on the river, 2 bedrooms with lots of room, and elevator went right to the underground tunnel to the water park.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaB036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Tina Bo36,

It was great to see that you and your family had such a memorable stay with us. The Halloween activites are always popular. We look forward to being of service to you and your family again in the very near future.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Room was nice, but our relaxing evening was ruined by the sales staff hounding us to attend a presentation on their timeshares. I told the gentleman who took our reservation that we were NOT interested. That should have been enough. Beds were okay, but the pillows were horrible. The 10:30 checkout time was ridiculous. Especially when they were not at all busy. The gentleman who took our reservation neglected to share that little detail.

The hallway needed a good cleaning. There was small pieces of litter all the way down the hall. Very disappointing considering we passed two maids who walked right by without picking anything up.

Had breakfast at the buffet restaurant in the morning. Won't eat there again. Not much of a selection. The eggs were cold, and the french toast was hard as a rock.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Tammy K,

I am happy to see we had the opportunity to serve you and for you being with us,but I apologize we did not deliver the expected experience.
Thank you for providing your feedback for this is helpful to our managers. We hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews