We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”
Review of Chula Vista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chula Vista Resort
Ranked #41 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
1 review
“Average”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Overall we just had an average stay. We stayed in a studio condo room and it was a pretty nice room other than the furniture needs some major updating. The beds were horrible and sunken in..my back still hurts from them. The room also had a weird smell to it that I can't describe. I would also recommend asking that your room is close to the waterpark and restaurants. Our room was literally across the entire resort from all activities. At one point we even drove down to the other side of the resort just so we didn't have to walk a mile to eat. We didn't use the water park as it was geared more for kids. I probably wouldn't stay here again unless I knew they did some remodeling.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mds0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
MDS0508,

We appreciate you beig with us on your recent visit to the Dells. I am sorry that we did not fully meet your expectations. We are in the process of reviewing options on our accommodations and we will be sure to keep you updated on our progress. Have safe future travels and we hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    614
    425
    356
    285
See reviews for
1,289
203
9
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clintonville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed in the Presidential Suite on October 17th and 18th. We got an excellent deal for only $74.19 a night. The hotel is very nice however the rooms really need to be updated. It rained the day before we got there and for the entire two days we were there. I realized this is a lot of rain however we were on the top floor and the ceiling had a leak. Also the fireplace orfaces needed a good cleaning. The flame was so low you could barely see it. It did have 3 TV's but these were also very old.
All in all we did get what we paid for, however I would never stay here if I had to pay full price!

Room Tip: Be sure if we stay during the winter months that you are in a room that is attached to the water par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Tina N,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us feedback it is useful to our planning and managers.
I am glad you had an enjoyable time with us and we will keep you updated on the progress of our accommodations.
We look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My boyfriend and I receiced free tickets to the water park at Chula Vista with a deal we had on a hotel. We are in our late 20's and have been to many waterparks. When we first walked in, I thought it was small and had my doubts, but the way the indoor waterpark is set up makes it small but mighty. The 5 full sized waterslides and water coaster were as thrilling as most of the waterslides I have been on in Illinois and Indiana. The lazy river was nice, except they allow children to play in it without a tube. The major problems we encountered were the excessive loud noises, and children in the lazy river with no tubes. The other thing was the smell of chlorine was so strong it dried our sinuses. Our experience, overall was a positive one. We would reccommend it as part of the Atlantis stay package.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank britblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I wasn't going to write a review about our recent stay at Chula Vista, because I left my comments with the hotel and thought I would just talk it over with hotel management. But, they never responded, so they've confirmed what I thought of their service - subpar. Upon check-in, we were given a 2-bedroom condo that had not been cleaned. The condo was a mess, including human waste still in the toilet. We immediately called the front desk and asked for a new (clean) room. The front desk was very short and rude about our situation. They kept saying they were very busy and they didn't have time to move us to a new room. This is completely unacceptable and a horrible way to welcome someone to your property. Once we did get a new room, it was very clean and overall a very nice place.

We did have other issues with our stay:
- We traveled with our young children and decided to eat at the hotel restaurant so we could get our kids to bed at a reasonable hour. It took an hour and a half to get our food after originally being told it would be 20-30 mins. In addition, the order was wrong. What a total waste of time and money. The final kick was the food wasn't any good.
- Chula Vista needs adequate parking space. There were many cars parked in a mud lot. For paying $300+/night for a condo, this is unacceptable.
- Wi-fi was ridiculously slow (at best) and usually non-existent. If you're ever there for a conference, don't expect to get any word done.
- The Chula Vista has a 10:30AM check-out time, which is the earliest I've ever seen. Again, their front desk showed their lack of customer service as I called on Saturday evening to request a late check-out of one hour past check-out. I was told I needed to call back on Sunday morning to see if they'd be able to accommodate my request. I called again on Sunday morning and after almost begging with the front desk person she said we could have an extra hour, but that was it. I can't imagine there are a lot of people checking in on Sundays during the off-season. A simple request like this from a guest should be no problem for a hotel to accommodate.

Overall, the Chula Vista is a decent place. Their waterpark is nice and most of their employees are very pleasant. Our 2 bedroom condo was comfortable. Seeing how competitive the market is in the Dells, I can't really see us returning to this property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonwpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
LondonWPR,

We appreciate the feedback on your recent stay, I am sorry that you encountered housekeeping and front desk issues these have been brought to the attention of our managers and supervisors.
I was gald to see that your accommodations were comfortable.
Again, thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Assistant manager Carolyn made our check-in very easy and gave us an upgrade (for a fee) and early check-in. Our family suite in the condo section was lovely and clean, close to the elevator for water park activities. We ate at the bar one evening, and our waitress Jenny was very attentive to our family and made our wait for our food very easy. Chula Vista is out of town, but provides plenty to do for a weekend. Our grandchildren had a wonderful time in the water park.

Room Tip: The condo rooms are newer than the hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishteacher28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
English Teacher28,

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on our team members Karloyn and Jenny. It is always good to see the grandchildren having a memorable experience with their grandparents.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
115 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We decided to go here based on all the great things they mentioned on their website including laser warfare which we knew would be a hit with our teenage son. After a day in the very loud and severely over-crowded water park my husband and I decided to have dinner at Kaminski's chop house while we sent the kids to laser tag. The food was excellent but we split one steak had no appetizers, I had one glass of wine while hubby drank water, and one potatoe side dish and the bill was $100 with tip. There was also a table of very loud obnoxious people at the table next to us which the host should have suggested they lower their voices in an establishment of this nature. It ruined the relaxing meal I was hoping to enjoy after the loud water park. After dinner we went to meet back with kids only to find out that they did not get to play laser tag as It was not open Fridays but they were told it would be on Saturday. On Saturday we called to find out the hours and were told that we would need 6 players or they wouldn't open it. Since there were only 4 they would not budge. They seemed very unwilling to work with me no matter what I suggested. I will never go back to chula vista again and will be sure to recommend the many more customer focused places in the dells area. One more issue was their horrible reservationists. They were abrasive and uninformative. Go elsewhere!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
TravelingSix,

It is important for us to receive feedback, so thank you for taking the time to do so. I can understand your frustration when your son was not able to participate in the Laser Tag program for not having enough indivduals.. We never care to see disappointed family members, for this I apologize.
I do hope that you may be able to visit again sometime in the future so that we can erase any poor memories.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wisconsin Dells hotels

Bolingbrook, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My family stayed at Chula Vista in August of this year. We stayed in a two bedroom condo and the room was gorgeous. It had so much space that I felt we could have our entire extended family come stay, too! The kitchen seemed well stocked with everything you would need. We didn't do much but cereal in the room, though, so I don't know if anything essential was missing.
I want to mention right away that if you're going to the Dells to visit the Dells, this may not be the right hotel for you. It's about 10-15 minutes out of town and the parking was not great at the resort. We had nights that we'd have to go get the luggage cart to bring all our stuff and sleeping kids into the resort, because we'd have to park so far away. (Plus our room was VERY far from the elevators.) Be prepared to do a lot of walking when you stay here.
The kids had fun in the indoor waterpark, but we were sad that we could never find an inner tube to ride the lazy river. My son and I walked the whole river twice trying to get one. They had several restaurants on site. The only one we ate at was the breakfast buffet. There is a lot of food to choose from on the buffet and I think the breakfast buffet was reasonably priced. (Dinner was high to me.)
The condo we were in had a hot tub in the living room, which the kids loved. They were allowed to take one bath in it. I'd personally rather see a washer and dryer than a hot tub, especially at a water resort. I don't want to spend the entire day at the water park and then get into a hot tub, but that could be just me.
Room was beautiful and I loved the fireplaces. We really did relax when in the room. I didn't notice any noise carry over from other rooms. I think staff and service was somewhat lacking. My husband went down to the front desk hoping for complimentary coffee and the only option was to buy from the Starbucks on site.

We would probably visit Chula Vista again, but only to stay there and have fun. My family visits the Dells at the end of every summer and have specific things that we try to get in. Chula Vista isn't the proper hotel for that kind of activity. You want to be at Chula Vista to stay and play.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Paula K,

So glad you and your family were with us this August and the condo accommodations worked well for you.
We hope to see you again next summer and we will keep you updated on specials and promotions.
Thank you for your time and feedback.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
4.0 mi away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#31 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
5.9 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
2.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
3.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#4 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chula Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Resort

Property: Chula Vista Resort
Address: 2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9062
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chula Vista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chula Vista Resort and Waterpark is a complete resort experience in Wisconsin Dells with over 200,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor waterparks. Luxury comes standard in all of our guest rooms, suites and condominiums. Bring your clubs and challenge yourself on our 18-hole golf course. At Chula Vista, we invite you to laugh harder, splash bigger, stay longer and vacation better at Wisconsin Dells' most complete family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Chula Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chula Vista Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Chula Vista Theme Hotel
Chula Vista Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Chula Vista Theme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing