We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't leave anything in your room!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chula Vista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chula Vista Resort
Ranked #41 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't leave anything in your room!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We went for a 1 night getaway and had fun. The water park was nice and there was hardly anyone there so we had free range of the place. The only complaint I have is that in the morning we went to breakfast and took half our stuff to the car. When we came back to the room (still before checkout) housekeeping had the door open. There was nobody in the room but someone had opened a present we had brought for our friend's daughter. I'm sure even if we had forgotten it in the room they weren't supposed to open it. I was highly disappointed in that and very glad we had taken most of our stuff out.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Rachelmari,

Thank you for being with us and I am glad to hear that you had a pleasent stay. Although I was disappointed on the housekeeping issue. This has been addressed with the appropiate managers for review.
We do hope to see you again soon and we appreciate the feedback. Have safe future travels.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    610
    418
    354
    284
See reviews for
1,282
203
9
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Last year me and my husband went on a getaway to chula vista we got king bed with the view. The stay was pleasant but the service at the bar was awful!! Bartenders are very rude. We notified managers. Not much was done. The location is wonderfull tho. Nice views from the balcony. Water park is good, and they have very nice hot tub outdoors. So first time our stay (not looking at horrible service ) was nice. We decided to come back this year again. So i booked us a room with jacuzzi,fireplace and the balcony. 4 months ago we welcomed our first child so it was our first romantic getaway alone. When we arrived on monday checking in was easy no waiting. As soon as we opended the door to our room it smelled like cigarettes! I called the front desk and asked to get moved. Since nothing was available thats what we were told they placed us in executive suite, which i did not like at all. It had no jacuzzi not even a tub no fire place nothing i wanted. So i called again and said that im not happy with this. I said we are on a romantic getaway and need a room with jacuzzi. So OMG they moved us to a theme room with kids beds and funny western style. Thats where my husband got really upset. After hours in that room we went to front desk and asked for different room. Finally someone listened to us and our need. The girl name Yanitsa was very helpfull even more helpfull than the manager who i spoke with. She found the room closest to he one i originally booked. We quickly moved. The room was simple. The balcony was full of bees so it was impossible to come out and sink was clugged. Other than that was ok. The bar still had awfull attitude and bartenders did not change their mean faces a bit. We went for a happy hour to kaminsky brothers chophouse and the server at the bar was very polite and nice man. We enjoyed our visit. He is probably the nices person in the whole resort.
Other than that this stay was not good. We wont be back next year. There are many nice resorts with better service. Wilderness resort for example. So good bye Chula Vista!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaShanchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
TanyaShanchuk,

We appreciate you being with us on your recent visit, but I am sorry that part of your experience was not to the level of service that is expected at Chula Vista. For that I offer my personal apologies.
Your feedback is of most value for our managers in development and training to avoid future instances.
I do hope that you may give us another opportuntiy in the future and I would be happy to make your reservation for you.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife, daughter, and I took our grandkids (ages 16 and 12) for a weekend getaway. Unfortunately, it was the off-season and rather cool. It also rained often while we were there. Chula Vista is a large resort area. Check in was very smooth and efficient. Our room was excellent. It had a balcony overlooking the outdoor hot tub area and the river. Due to the weather, we did not get to use it very much; this was quite a let down. The waterpark is in a separate building. Luckily, the front desk told us about an underground walkway between the building in which we were staying and the waterpark. If no one tells you about the walkway, be sure to ask. The only negative we found was that the eating cost at the resort was rather expensive. Luckily, Wisconsin Dells offers a wide variety of eating options which we enjoyed. Next trip, we'll make sure to come when the weather should be better; my only concern with that is I fear the crowds could be an issue.

Room Tip: You pay a premium, but rooms overlooking the water are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rettopcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Rettopcop,

Thank you for being with us on your recent getaway to the Dells, sorry the weather was not as desired for you. We appreciate you being with us for we know you have many choices. I do hope that we may see you again in the very near future.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
Generall Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was our second trip to Chula Vista Resort. Both time we had good stay at resort. We loved river walk and outdoor hot tub and fire place. Good selection of restaurants at resort. Only one suggestion for management is to upgrade rooms and amenities.

Over all good experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Scott W,

We appareciate your feedback and thank you for being with us your recent visit to the Dells.
I hope that we may be of service to you again in the near future and we will keep you updated on our progress of future improvements.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for a conference and maybe that is why they gave us a below average room... Stayed before in a lovely suite but the room this trip was below expectations. There was writing on the wall in the bathroom, shower head barely let any water out (could barely wash soap out of my hair), wall paper was peeling off, sink faucets were dirty and fridge froze everything put in it.

Buffet was ok, got meal ticket included with conference however had to pay almost $4 for a small glass of OJ. Dinner buffet was over priced as most things were at the "resort".

Not a bad place to stay but way too far to be so over priced. Not even close to any of the attractions in the Wis-Dells area. Staffw as friendly but not infomative to say the least. Sheets were clean, bed was comfy and that was good.

Room Tip: Stay in a suite or the newer part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsAlwaysRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
MsAlwaysRed,

Thank you for being with us on your recent business trip. We are in the process of reviewing options for our guest rooms, we do appreciate the feedback. I do hope that you maybe able to spend time with us on a personal basis sometime in the near future and we will be sure to keep you updated on our progress as we move forward.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in the golf villa in late September. Good: microwave, oven, fridge, 'private' hot tub for the villa guests a few steps from our room, waterpark busy but not crowded due to off-season, clean, beautiful grounds, really fast shuttle service, indoor waterpark had plenty to keep my 3 kids busy. Not so good: everything (food, drinks) is very expensive, villas require a long walk or shuttle ride to get to the waterpark area, dinner at golf course restaurant was just fair. Shrimp scampi was obviously frozen shrimp that ended up very overcooked and rubbery. The prime rib was the same. Skip the garlic mashed and crab appetizer - yuck!! The kids enjoyed the mac& cheese and the homemade apple sauce was yummy. Large quantities of food, but the quality was not great. Tried to go for an early evening walk by river but everything was padlocked. Overall, it was a very nice weekend. We swam 'til we dropped.

Room Tip: Golf villas were nice and a bit secluded from the main hotel. Plenty of room for a family of 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lundson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Lundson,

Thank you for being with us on your recent getaway to the Wisconsin Dells. We do appreciate you being with us and we appreciate the feedback. I am sorry that your meal at Moe's did not meet your expectations and I hope you may be able to give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Enjoy your fall season and safe travels.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend and would come back. Food was good, especially the Chop House. Indoor water park was a blast. They need to do a little updating in the rooms but they made up for it in cleanliness.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelaMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
MichaelaMB,

Great to hear from you and glad to see you had a great stay with us. You will never go away hungry at the Chophouse. Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
4.0 mi away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#31 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
5.9 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
2.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
3.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chula Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Resort

Property: Chula Vista Resort
Address: 2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9062
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chula Vista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chula Vista Resort and Waterpark is a complete resort experience in Wisconsin Dells with over 200,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor waterparks. Luxury comes standard in all of our guest rooms, suites and condominiums. Bring your clubs and challenge yourself on our 18-hole golf course. At Chula Vista, we invite you to laugh harder, splash bigger, stay longer and vacation better at Wisconsin Dells' most complete family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chula Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chula Vista Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Chula Vista Theme Hotel
Chula Vista Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Chula Vista Theme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing