We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family vaca in the Dells!--would do it again!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
whiting, United States
1 review
“Family vaca in the Dells!--would do it again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We go to the dells every year for our sons birthday for a couple days. This year we stayed at the Best western. It was a good time, good deal, considering it was 4th of july week, and the breakfast was pleasantly surprising! The only complaint I had was the beds. My son tossed and turned all night, my sister slept on the sleeper sofa which was TERRIBLE and I had a stiff neck upon arrival, which was only made worse by the beds. CHANGE THE BEDS AND YOUR PLACE WILL BE EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide our hotel with feedback from your recent stay. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as our continental breakfast! We will definitely look into the issues you had with your bed and see what we can do to make sure all our guests get a good night’s sleep. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    280
    145
    57
    26
See reviews for
460
182
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel was very nice. Everything seemed to be well kept and clean, like the glass windows and doors. The front desk was friendly, however it was really hard to understand them as they had an accent. Check in was slow but that wasn't a problem as the rooms were super clean and so much better than other hotels. Breakfast was super hectic though! Woah! The hotel can't help it but still. Enjoyed my stay:)

Room Tip: 3rd floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide our hotel with feedback from your recent stay. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our hotel and your room exceeded expectations! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan WI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here on our annual trip to the Dells. The free breakfast was a big reason we tried this hotel and we were glad we did. We stayed on the third floor so we wouldn't have kids bouncing above us. To us this is common sense it is a water park destination so it is going to be crawling with kids. Very helpful staff and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffSheboyganWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide our hotel with feedback from your recent stay. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as our continental breakfast and our updates! We are continually trying to improve our property to give our guests that best experience we can. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machesney Park, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

The internet wi-fi was either very slow or not working. The staff was unable to help with that. According to what we were told it was the internet provider service & it was supposedly working. Also, we were on the 2nd floor and the noise from the 3rd floor was annoying. There was a lot of running back & forth I assume by children. We have stayed at other hotels where we did not hear as much noise from other floors. But I can say that this hotel is clean & the beds were comfortable so it wasn't the worst we've stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Audrey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide our property with feedback from your recent stay. Your input and the feedback from all our guests is vitally important to us. I want to apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. I would like to apologize that you experienced difficulties with the Wi-Fi, as unfortunately, we were experiencing some problems with our Internet Service Provider due to an outage. We deeply regret the inconvenience this caused you during your stay. We would love to have you give us another chance and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Very well maintained inside and out but unless you are on a top floor expect a lot of room noise. Can hear people walking in room above you and if they have kids jumping and playing it sounds like they are coming thru the ceiling. Room was very good size and very clean and beds were comfortable. Staff very friendly but check in was terrible. Four girls at check in desk and only one seemed to have a vague idea of what she was doing. All very slow and the girl that checked us in seemed to be more interested in listening to what the other girls were doing than checking us in. She wasn't the boss because every time one of them had a problem they called to a lady that would come out of a office to help them. I realize it's a large motel with many rooms but with four people handling check-ins you would think it would go a little quicker. it took us almost 20 minutes just to get checked in and then found out that they didn't know if our room was ready. Asked us to wait in the lobby while they checked and after about another 15 minutes I went back to the desk and had to ask if it was ready. the girl said it was so we finally got the key and went to our room. the rest of the staff seems very efficient but the front desk staff needs major improvements. There were probably 5 or 6 others waiting to check in and none of them sounded very happy either. Breakfast was average continental. Could tell most of the mini muffins, donuts and bagels were of the frozen variety. Did have waffle makers if you had the half hour or so to wait in line. For a Dells motel I think it ranks pretty good. Has a good location and would definitely stay again but would want a top floor room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWD435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide our property with feedback from your recent stay. Your input and the feedback from all our guests is vitally important to us. As a result of your great feedback, we will be definitely take a look at what improvements we can make at the Front Desk to make the check in process go more smoothly when there is a high demand. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Now keep in mind I know this is a Best Western, but the beds were hard, the rooms dated (dirty carpet) and the staff "meh" about everything. The only saving grace was the indoor pool, we didn't get to the outdoor pool because it was too chilly. We planned our trip last minute and it worked out to stay here, but I won't book here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide our property with feedback from your recent stay. Your input and the feedback from all our guests is vitally important to us. I want to apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations and we will share your comments with our staff and work towards improvements. We would love to have you give us another chance and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick
Level Contributor
718 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

I booked here because it was near the Wisconsin Dells attractions that we wanted to see. What a mistake. This place doesn't live up to the Best Western standards that their customers should be able to expect. The outside looks dirty even before you step in through the smudged glass, passing into the lobby. When we walked in there were two clerks standing there and neither one even looked up at us. I had to start talking to get the female to look up and check us in. I needed to use a computer immediately to transfer some money and the one that they have is right in the lobby and is dirty and greasy. Also, the internet doesn't come up, just an error message, so I had to get assistance even with that. When I went back to it later that night to check my emails, it wasn't working then either and I gave up. The next morning I once again tried to log on and got the same message so I gave up. Also, the next morning when hubby took a shower he announced to me that "the shower head is broken and to be careful if I took one." I told him to tell the front desk during breakfast, which he did, and told me that the clerk shrugged, said "Well, you're leaving. Let it break and then they'll fix it." Breakfast itself was an effort too. After a night of being woken up several times by yelling, slamming doors and clomping back and forth overhead from the guest above us, I was very cranky. I wanted breakfast and I wanted it fast so I could get back on the road for a 3.5 hour road trip that we had. I barely got my coffee and juice and a couple of tiny powdered donuts. There was a stampede in the area and with guests moving in every direction, grabbing seats, food and children, so I wolfed mine down and got out. Thank gosh it was only one night. Oh, and when I inquired about possibly staying an additional night (before seeing it), was told that "they were already overbooked for the next two nights." I looked on the Best Western website and there was clearly availability for those nights, The woman just wanted to get me off of the phone. That gives you an idea of their customer care.

Room Tip: My tip is to book at another property. I liked the Ramada Wisconsin Dells (separate review).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelkitty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide our property with feedback from your recent stay. Your input and the feedback from all our guests is vitally important to us. I want to apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. I will definitely address your concerns with my staff as we pride ourselves on customer service and we want every guest to be treated with respect during their stay. We are looking into several ways to improve the breakfast experience for everyone. We would love to have you give us another chance and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin Dells
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin D...
#27 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#32 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
Address: 610 S Frontage Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9674
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Wisconsin's largest resort area, non-stop family fun awaits at the BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites. With a great selection of spacious, newly remodeled rooms, there is a style for everyone. Don't forget to stop in and enjoy our free hot breakfast of eggs, sausage, waffles, cereal, yogurt, juices, coffee and more before starting your Wisconsin Dells adventure. Other amenities include a Fitness Center, Business Center, indoor and outdoor heated pools, whirlpools, and free high speed wireless internet access. Take advantage of a great central location close to many local attractions, dining, sports complexes and businesses. From waterparks to skiing, basketball to volleyball, golf courses to shopping, you'll find an endless array of activities at your fingertips. Whether you want to stay relaxed or stay productive, stay in the heart of it all at the BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ambassador Inn And Suites
Best Western Ambassador Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Best Western Wisconsin Dells
Wisconsin Dells Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing