We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice Place to Stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Orting, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a nice hotel. Nothing Spectacular just nice. Rooms were a bit dated but clean. The pool area was very nice. It included a Sauna and Hot Tub. Breakfast was a bit disappointing. It had no eggs or sausage just the standard waffle machine, some oranges, cereal, non-fat milk, yogurt and a small assortment of breads. I did have a donut or at least a bite of one. It was soggy like it had been defrosted. Overall though I would stay there again but I would eat breakfast at Denny's next door.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wxwatcher49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    269
    139
    52
    25
See reviews for
441
168
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Was looking for a place to stay that was not a resort and not as pricey as the resorts at the Dells.We needed an overnight stay while attending the Automotion car festival.
This place was great, payed $78.00 for a nights stay. The front desk was very helpful and friendly and gave us great advise on some of the things to do in the Dells.
Our room was great with a balcony over looking the pool and woods. Very clean and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Also had a great free breakfast in the morning.
This place was one of the best hotels I have stayed in at that price, to me this place was as good as a $300.00 a night resort, just without the big waterparks.
Next year we will be back for Automotion and I will definitely make my reservations at this Best Western every year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here on a Tuesday - Friday in April. It was nice. It's close to the freeway and within walking distance to the downtown dells area. It's also right across from Paul Bunyans. The continental breakfast was good(waffles, english muffins, mini muffins, cereal, juice, milk, coffee, fruit), certainly enough to get you going. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The pool area seemed nice, we didn't go in. When we stayed we got free passes for Chula Vista, so we went there. Our room was big and had a fridge and a microwave, which was awesome for leftovers. The prizes in the game room were lacking, but I'm sure it's not aimed at adults. My only complaint would be the bed was a little harder than I'm used to. I'd stay again but try for a softer bed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

When I called on the phone to make reservations, the lady helping me couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. She was great. We needed just an overnight stay. We arrived and were able to check in a couple hours early which was extremely helpful as our kids and I stayed at the hotel while my husband went to attend other business. We were pleasantly happy with the size of the room. We had a standard 2 queen bed room. There was nice sized floor space for one of my sons to sleep on the floor which he prefers and which isn't always the case in other places we have been at. This hotel also did not allow pets which is a BIG thing we look for when choosing a hotel. The pool is just average but our kids enjoyed it. We could get free passes to Chula Vista waterpark for staying at BW but we didn't have time to fit it in. At checkout, the gal helping me looked up our record and remembered me from calling in as I had to make a possible special request in case we weren't able to make the trip. Again, she was so pleasant!
Two negative things that we experienced: The room itself was clean but the bathroom was filthy! It was almost as if they forgot to clean it after the last one left! Hair all over the place. ICK. And I wish I would have had disinfectant wipes along as the light switch plate needed major attention. The re-caulking job in dark grey around the light colored toilet was tacky. And one of the floor tiles was very loose. Second, they do serve breakfast but it is a bit limited compared to our past hotel experiences. Waffles, donuts, yogurt, cereal. My son met us in the breakfast area a little later and he walks in and asked where are the eggs. He just assumed every hotel served them for breakfast. But it was enough to get us by. Also, the ladies working the breakfast area didn't make eye contact and didn't talk. It seemed a little strange.
Overall, we were in town a very short time so this place did the trick for us and we will likely stay here again when we are in town for the same purpose.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidwestIris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The room was not ready when we checked in. When we decided to give up and go to dinner at 5:10 and when we returned at 6:30 the room was finally ready. They gave us $10 off the rate, but I am not sure that was the best way to deal with it. There was some sort of basketball tourney or something there and the place was packed. The pool area could not have been more full of people. The breakfast area was so crowded, it was easier to go next door to Denny's and pay for breakfast since the food was pretty scarce.

The front desk was not equipt to deal with all of the people that were there and with one more front desk person I think that the check in process could have been a whole lot easier for all of those people.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nennypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
I am disappointed that your stay with us was not satisfactory. I will agree that our property was very busy during your stay with us. However, this does not excuse the fact that your room was not ready at 4:00 pm as promised. Your observations have aided us in locating areas of service needing improvement. Your comments will be passed on so we can learn from the mistakes mad that week.

We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites the next time you are in Wisconsin Dells. Please call me personally at 1-800-828-6888 and I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very disappointed in this hotel stay. The walls are paper thin, floor creeks, the rooms are not clean, breakfast wasn't nothing to brag about. If this was ONLY place left to stay in the Dells, we still would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Not across from the pool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie-lenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Manager at BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We appreciate your time to complete your review with Trip Advisor. Thank you for sharing your experience and views of the Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites.

We are very sorry to learn that the hotel cleanliness and amenities did not meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been shared with the Management team for their awareness.

Thank you for sharing your opinions of your overall stay with us. I hope that you will reconsider staying at Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites and we are looking forward to welcome you soon.

Warmest Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, Usa
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Rooms were not ready when we checked in.had to wait until 530 pm for a room! They gave us $10 off room rate. staff was courteous, but manager failed to staff properly on holiday weekend. It want the front desks fault rooms weren't ready.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 224CatherineM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#16 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#19 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin Dells
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin D...
#30 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin De...
#23 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites Wisconsin Dell...
#13 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
Address: 610 S Frontage Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9674
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#22 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Wisconsin's largest resort area, non-stop family fun awaits at the BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites. With a great selection of spacious, newly remodeled rooms, there is a style for everyone. Don't forget to stop in and enjoy our free hot breakfast of eggs, sausage, waffles, cereal, yogurt, juices, coffee and more before starting your Wisconsin Dells adventure. Other amenities include a Fitness Center, Business Center, indoor and outdoor heated pools, whirlpools, and free high speed wireless internet access. Take advantage of a great central location close to many local attractions, dining, sports complexes and businesses. From waterparks to skiing, basketball to volleyball, golf courses to shopping, you'll find an endless array of activities at your fingertips. Whether you want to stay relaxed or stay productive, stay in the heart of it all at the BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ambassador Inn And Suites
Best Western Ambassador Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Best Western Wisconsin Dells
Wisconsin Dells Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing