We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - great hosts”
Review of Amil's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amil's Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Wilton B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Great stay - great hosts”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was our second trip to the Inn and it proved our great time on our first visit was not a fluke! The breakfasts were all great and a special thank you to Anita who made excellent meals for me accommodating my food allergies. The rooms are very comfortable and have many touches to make our stay perfect. Anita and Dave are the definition of hospitality! We loved the access to the bike trails and enjoyed the other local sights and dining. We're planning to stay every year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
67
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delafield, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Basically out in the middle of no-where, but worth the drive back and forth, from spending 2 days at the Warren's (WI) Cranberry Festival. Anita and Dave's gracious hospitality, delicious and abundant breakfasts, many personal touches, and light-hearted conversation, made for a wonderful Fall get-away weekend! The remodeled farmhouse and surrounding property were immaculate, which reflects on the great pride that the hosts have for their accommodations. The location is also ideal for visiting your college children at any one of the 3 universities in the city of La Crosse, about 45-50 minutes away, on the mighty Mississippi, which we did after check-out. It was truly a different experience for us, as we are accustomed to traveling mostly with our children, to major vacation resorts, theme parks, islands, etc. This weekend was for us, and the fact that there was no television in the room or even the parlor, it "forced" us to mingle with other guests, right alongside the hosts. We were "pleasantly-surprised" at how "we did"! We had no expectations coming into this, and now I can only hope that other B&B's that we might experience, can live up to this one. Kudos to Anita and Dave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

While a bit off the beaten track- this bed and breakfast was worth the trip! The inn was clean and comfortable with a great shower and super soft sheets. The inn keepers are very kind and were happy to accommodate our request for a bonfire-they even added a s'more basket as a nice suprise! The morning breakfasts were incredible and cooked from scratch with garden ingredients! It was a great stay-we highly recommend Amil's Inn!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glieser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed 5 days here and it was a friendly, comfortable stay with fabulous personal service. Anita's cooking is wonderful; there's more food than most of us could eat daily plus snacks and "people bags" to go. We had great breakfast conversations with other guests and enjoyed visiting the places recommended by Anita in the region like Amish stores and Cranfest. The owners put a great deal of effort and care into the property,with immaculate gardens to stroll through. the home grown produce is used in the daily breakfast and baked goods. The rooms are lovely (we sampled two) with great beds and extras you won't find in nice hotels. I can't recommend enough!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelOn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This converted farmhouse, the ancestral home of the owner, is a fine launching pad for biking Elroy-Sparta, canoeing the Kickapoo, or exploring Amish stores. It is close to the road, but was quiet anyway, nestled in a beautiful valley, gardens all around. Our room was very comfortable, many nice touches with clean, new finishes. Anita thinks of everything. Breakfast was several courses, including fresh picked warm apple compote, raspberry and cream cheese stuffed baguette French toast, home grown potatoes and tomatoes. All were delicious. I sheepishly asked if there was anything gluten free, and was treated to GF pancakes. The rate is quite reasonable, half of some area resorts.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DaveWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We were welcomed like family; what am unusual way of doing things these days!

We were blown away by Anita's and Dave's readiness to provide whatever support we needed or wanted. We were there to bicycle the Elroy to Sparta Trail. They were ready to shuttle us to any point on the trail and then to pick is up at any other point on the trail. The trail is 32 miles long which makes that a pretty substantial offer!

Her breakfast would rival any five-star hotel.

The rooms are impeccable and very tastefully done with much of the furniture locally Amish made and beautifully made I might add.

We look forwArd to a good excuse to return to their bed an breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pencarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just got back from a second girls' weekend at Amil's and I can hardly wait to go back. Anita was a delightful and entertaining hostess. We savored her lush garden, cozy porch, immaculate rooms and wonderful cooking after 40 miles on the bike trail. Thank you, Anita and Dave!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marci P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilton
15.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge
14.5 mi away
Lark Inn
Lark Inn
#3 of 11 in Tomah
150 reviews
15.3 mi away
Justin Trails Resort
Justin Trails Resort
#1 of 5 in Sparta
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Franklin Victorian Bed & Breakfast
5.5 mi away
Brush Creek Inn
Brush Creek Inn
#1 of 2 in Ontario
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amil's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amil's Inn

Property: Amil's Inn
Address: 27038 State Highway 131, Wilton, WI 54670-8552
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wilton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wilton
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing