We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bailey House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williams Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bailey House
Ranked #1 of 2 Williams Bay B&B and Inns
Chicago
1 review
“Fantastic Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2009

The Bailey House provided the perfect weekend getaway for my boyfriend and I. Owners John and Karen were the perfect hosts and their hospitality is unmatched. This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast but it far surpassed our expectations. The food was great, the house was quiet, and it was only a short (5 minute) drive from downtown Lake Geneva. We look forward to returning in the summertime and will definitely be recommending The Bailey House to our family and friends!

  • Liked — The Bailey house was clean, quiet, and the food was great!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicagogirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    5
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belvidere, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2008

Fabulous breakfasts and wonderful hosts. We stayed two nights and brought our bicycles along. Karen and John treated us like family. Loved the huge jacuzzi tub in our room and the very comfortable room. Great place to kick back and unwind.

  • Liked — Home-like rooms.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank peggymalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2008

My wife Bjørg and I was lucky enough to end up at Bailey House more or less just by luck after having browsed the internet. We were in Williams Bay on holiday from Norway. The area was all new to us and it was our first stay in a B&B. Now we have got a problem knowing that no mather what B&B we will try in the future it can't get any better than this. After a 3 night stay we returned for another 2 nights after having been to Memphis Tennessee for some days. Karen and John made us feel very welcome and it was really nice to get to know people around the breakfast table.
Breakfast will never be the same after having experienced Karen's meals (and John's muffins). We stayed both times in The Smythe Suite and hope to back some other time.
The pool was very nice on warm days and we enjoyed the garden where we had a glass of wine and read books.
Karen and John also pointed out to us things to do and see in the area. That made it easier to us as "newcomers" to get to know our way around.

Highly recommended to anyone who wants to have some time off and relaxe.

Bjørg and Tom

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank tostorvi57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2008

My husband and I celebrated our 1 year anniversary at the Bailey House B&B in Lake Geneva this past weekend (3/14-3/16, 2008) We stayed in the Smythe Suite. The accomodations were incredible, the room was beautiful, the breakfasts were insanely delicious (we weren't hungry again until dinner!) and our hosts, Karen and John were very, very pleasant. We were so comfortable here, that all of our stresses and worries (even about leaving the kids) melted away!

I would highly recommend this B&B as a place (and especially the Smythe Suite) for a weekend getaway!

  • Liked — The room we stayed in and the Saturday morning breakfast!
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joybrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2007

They say "there's no place like home for the holidays", and that may be true. But The Bailey House is BETTER than being home for the holidays! Talk about stress-free holiday enjoyment. Karen & John decked the halls (and the windows, the mantels, the jacuzzis and every corner of the home) with gorgeous holiday decor inside and out. It was reminiscent of the scene in a Chevy Chase movie with the line - "cue the deer!" as the graceful whitetail deer wandered the edges of the property in the sparkling blankets of snow. Serenity and delicious homemade cookies among crackling fireplaces - It just doesn't get any better than this. Books and magazines for every interest. For an escape from everything stressful - this is the place to choose.(Our second visit and we'll be back!)

  • Liked — Comfort-serenity
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank grandslammom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2007

John and Karen were the best hosts we could have asked for! The room was very beautiful and the house and grounds were the same! Barney the dog was adorable, and gave everyone a smile. The lively chats around the breakfast table were great, plus John's muffin demonstration can NOT be missed!

This place is everything you would want in a B&B - although it is not in downtown Lake Geneva, I truly would rather stay here and drive the five minutes into town. It is worth it!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emuhockey4844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake in the Hills, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2007

This was our first time staying at a B&B. We weren't quite sure what to expect. We were very lucky to have ended up at the Bailey House because we couldn't of had a better experience. The room was huge and very comfortable. The grounds, landscape and pool are beautiful. The hosts John and Mary were some of the nicest and most welcoming people we have ever met. The breakfast was out of this world. Everything was truly exceptional and everything that we could of hoped for and more. This is a very special place.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank chrissylm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williams Bay
2.5 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
6.5 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lake Lawn Resort
Lake Lawn Resort
#1 of 7 in Delavan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#13 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
8.1 mi away
Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
#3 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bailey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bailey House

Property: The Bailey House
Address: 372 West Geneva Street, Williams Bay, WI 53191-9682
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Williams Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Williams Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautifully decorated guest rooms each with private bath, double whirlpool, fireplace, TV with DVD and basic cable. An in ground swimming pool and three acres of scenic woods and gardens, insure a restful, relaxing respite in a comfortable, casual country manor house. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing