We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced”

Pier 290 Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Pier 290 Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Williams Bay
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Walworth
Description: PIER 290 Restaurant is situated along the western shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, in the quaint village of Williams Bay WI. The farm to fork method is applied to nearly every dish they serve. Working with local partners along with using produce grown in their own garden; Farm 290, the menu is ever changing, focusing on the flavors of the season. Be sure to stop by the Shops at PIER 290. Dine year round for lunch and dinner, indoors or al fresco. Accessible by land, water and ice.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
164 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a new restaurant that has only been around for about 9 months. It is a new venture by Gage Marine, the same group that runs the tour boats on Geneva Lake, off the Riviera Dock in downtown Lake Geneva. I ordinarily like new ventures and also like to support them, so I recently gave this restaurant a try only to find that for dinner I thought it was way overpriced. Keep in mind that this is a marina...in fact, in the current winter months the tour boats are all docked there. It is right on the water, and they say they have firepits and waterfront dining in good weather, which is very nice. But for dinner you will pay $22 for a roasted half chicken dinner with mashed potatoes and carrots and $39 for a rib eye steak! I eat out a lot and regularly in the Lake Geneva area, and I think that's a bit steep for this location. Granted the restaurant offers salads, sandwiches and a pasta dish, which are more reasonably priced. But if you are interested in main entrees, none of which are that unique or creative, and usually have a drink or wine with your meal, expect your bill to be on the high side.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank toelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    92
    55
    55
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
River Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful!! But, service spotty.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

LOVED, loved, loved the ambiance! Food was good. Maybe, as another reviewer wrote, "trying to hard". I had a lobster roll at $15/lunch and there was about 3 tablespoons of lobster. Bright note, it came with a lovely green salad. My husband had a very good pulled pork sandwich & daughter had fresh french toast with the best bacon ever!

Our waitress was wonderful, but the greeting at the entrance was awkward and not exactly welcoming. Plus, I noticed, the staff, just overall, not looking all that happy to be there. I'm glad we had the server we did!

Either way, we'll be back when it's warm to have a cocktail while enjoying the shimmering glisten of the lake and the warm sunshine!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lisalovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delavan, WI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wine Divas at the Pier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

The location of Pier 290 in Williams Bay is lovely. Beautiful Lake Geneva, with the bustle of the marina at Gage Marine, is an interesting place to lunch, but in past visits I was less than excited about the menu and service. The Wine Divas event on the last day of February changed all that!!!! The event was held in the outside "room" which was very warm with the blazing stone fireplace and heaters to keep us toasty while we toasted! The wine selection was a "face-off" with domestic vs. French. The food pairings were nothing short of amazing. Maine lobster, lake perch, seared scallop!!! Wow! My favorite was the Pinn Oak Farms Lamb Dumpling in a spiced tomato basil broth. I shared my earlier impression and my newfound delight with management after the event and learned that they will be trying to incorporate some of the tasty treats we Divas got to try into their regular menu. Our host was gracious and well-informed and the waiters worked hard to keep our glasses ready for tasting and our tastebuds happy as could be. While Pier 290 may be a premier dining experience in progress, there was no shortage of good taste and great service on Wine Divas night!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryKayDelavan_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere in all seasons with service and food that has improved as the staff has melded together.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Great lakeside location that offers a great variety in food, wine and spirits. Friendly staff that is improving its service level as time passes. We found our meals very good the last time we visited. Presentation was above average for the price range. Food tasted great. Love the atmosphere and will be a loyal patron as the kinks are worked out. Will post another review in six months.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Colter69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Forget it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Other than noisy atmosphere, mediocre food, and so-so service, it was great...the place is simply not built or organized as a premium restaurant

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemutligkeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier 290 Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pier 290 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing