We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in June!”
Review of Hamilton House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hamilton House B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Whitewater B&B and Inns
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice stay in June!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here with my daughter, after picking her up at Orchestra Camp for UW Whitewater. They were flexible and let us get the keys early so we could hear the final concert, go out with friends and not have to hassle with meeting up. With a last minute web special, much cheaper than chain options in the area. We had the Renior room, queen bed and a shower. Worked well for what we wanted, a place to relax and stretch out our vacation. A nice b an b with a sitting area, great breakfast and cordial hosts. Small fridge on second floor with a communal fridge, microwave and complimentary beverages.
I enjoyed the hot breakfast and ordered a take out one for my teenage girl. Enjoyed reviewing the scrapbooks and history of the building. I recall that I was used as an office space when I was in college here in the late 80's.
Would definitely stay again- and next time, would like to see the tunnel on site that was used as part of the underground railroad.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmokeyGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BandBInnkeeper, Owner at Hamilton House B&B, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking a few moments to share your experience at the Hamilton House. It is particularly a treat for me to see mothers and daughters traveling together, having the opportunity to spend time together as girls enjoying each others interests.

We try to provide options for breakfast styles and additional beds for just such cases when families travel to the area for events at our local University.

I look forward to your return visit. Unfortunately the tunnels are not available for viewing but we do have pictures we can show you.

Sweet Dreams!
Kathleen - Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    6
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
44
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Overall, any complaints I have about this place has nothing to do with how it is run. The owners do a fabulous job. It was clean, food was good. They are well organized. They are very appropriate in their familiarity with you and also the space they give you. I'm not the biggest fan of B&Bs in general. When I get away, I don't want to talk to other people, I want to stare at a wall or sleep. My husband and I work with people and sometimes I just want to go zone out. So that is me, not how this place is run. They have beverages and a microwave upstairs. And space to put food in a small fridge. Very thoughtful. Couldn't ask for nicer innkeepers.

The issues I had were minor. The window above our bed in the Pissarro room did not have light blocking drapes. I like a dark room and the light from the street bothered me. Then, drunk college kids yelling outside woke me at 2:30am. At least they had great books to go read downstairs. But I would encourage them to oil the doors. I didn't want to disturb anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hope556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BandBInnkeeper, Owner at Hamilton House B&B, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for the feed back.

Knowing that not all of our guests prefer to partake of the traditional B&B breakfast in the dining room, we are considering alternative breakfast styles. Your comments are very timely. We are working towards providing more personalized, private dining options. Any suggestions on how to make the B&B experiences more personalized are always welcome. Currently we do offer several options for breakfast, including a private full breakfast delivered to you guest room anytime between 7am and 10:30am.

I appreciate the suggestion regarding room darkening drapes. The front rooms have room darkening blinds however; It is helpful to know the Pissarro room needs them as well. I will get my maintenance crew on the hinges and room darkening shades right away.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your comments. We are committed to enhancing the services provided by the Hamilton House as well as developing the way we communicate the flexibility of our standard practices.

Kathleen - Innkeeper
Hamilton House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somonauk, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our stay at the Hamilton House B&B was superb! From Kathleen's hospitality, to the wonderful homemade food for breakfast, to the luxurious bedding and relaxing in the whirlpool in our room, everything was fantastic! I can't say enough wonderful things about Kathleen and her B&B. The history of the house, the furnishings, the privacy, all the amenities made our stay a most enjoyable one. Please stay here if you want a wonderful weekend getaway! It is so worth it.
Just do it!

Room Tip: The Paul Cezanne room was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhbookwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BandBInnkeeper, Owner at Hamilton House B&B, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for the kind words. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Hamilton House and your choice of the Cezanne room. I appreciate you taking the time to share a bit about your stay.

I am especially happy to see that you were pleased with the amenities and privacy. My goal is to tend to all the details and personalized service so my guests can enjoy private time together creating lasting memories.

I look forward to your next trip to Whitewater.

Kind regards,
Kathleen - Innkeeper
Hamilton House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We arrived at the B&B to be welcomed by the owner, Kathleen, who was friendly and accommodating. When we went to check in she showed us our room, which was lovely, but told us that outside our room there was some carpentry work being done on the porch and that it may be a little noisy. She kindly offered us another room away from the noise, which was an upgrade, and at no extra cost to us. Then, in addition to that, she brought our breakfast right to our room, which was over and above the call of duty! When we paid at the time of check in, she also informed us that we would be receiving a discounted rate because we reserved our room on line (which we did not even know about)! The rooms were impeccably clean, and tastefully decorated. Both of the rooms we stayed in had a fireplace, a separate bathroom, a shower, and a whirlpool tub. Shampoo and body wash were provided in a dispenser, which was a great idea. Some B&B's have the tiny bottles, which are ok, however, they are more trash for our environment and I like to leave less of a "footprint" if I can. Other B&B's have a regular bottle of shampoo and body wash, which just feels unappealing to "share". The dispenser was the perfect solution. Kathleen scheduled a massage for me, which was wonderful. The therapist came right to my room and it was one of the best massages I have ever experienced. There were lots of special touches, for instance, freshly made sangria in the afternoon, fresh flowers, bath salts, a very comfortable bed with quality linens and wonderful pillows, a docking station for an I phone, beautiful furnishings, luxurious towels, robes, individual coffees, cold drinks and access to a mini fridge if we wanted to bring in wine or something to keep refrigerated. Kathleen was eager to share with us all of the ins and outs of our stay, as well as recommending places to visit, and yet not be intrusive and allow us to just relax. She recommended a winery and bistro where we had a lovely lunch and a fabulous, trendy restaurant called "the Black Sheep" for dinner that exceeded many of the better Chicago area restaurants. We had the privilege of enjoying three gourmet breakfasts during our stay, all serving fresh fruit, local meats, delicious juices, coffee, and a delectable entree. The stuffed French toast was my absolute favorite! Sunday, Kathleen even served dessert after breakfast! The serving sizes were perfect, just enough of everything, and not gluttonous portions. Jim joined us Sunday morning and shared the rich history of the mansion including some very fascinating stories of tunnels entering and leaving the building that were part of the Underground Railroad. All in all it was a lovely experience. We frequent B&B's often, and have high expectations and a wide variety of experiences upon which we can compare. And we are very honest in our reviews. So when we give it a "thumbds up" you can be assured that it was a very positive experience.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were inviting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BandBInnkeeper, Manager at Hamilton House B&B, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay at the Hamilton House. Future guests will find it very helpful. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your in room massage. We enjoy being able to provide the added value of having the massage therapist come right to your room. A massage followed by an afternoon nap is a little piece of heaven.

Jim and I look forward to your return visit.

Thank you,
Kathleen - Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We had the BEST time at the Hamilton House in Whitewater, WI! This place was immaculate and we felt right at home on our weekend getaway! This is a great place to stay if you are going to Alpine Valley Music Theater.. Its an easy 25 to 30 minute drive to the theater. We really appreciated Kathleen's (the innkeeper) suggestions on local restaurants, hiking and entertainment. She was so knowledgeable and you can tell that she really loves her work. The house was full when we were there, but was so quite it seemed that we were the only guests when in our room. Some of the other guests commented that it was one of the quietest places they have ever stayed. I really only booked this place because it was close to Alpine, but we had such a peaceful weekend, we're planning to go back just for fun!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julieka11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BandBInnkeeper, General Manager at Hamilton House B&B, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind words in your review. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially after booking for convenience to Alpine Valley. It is my goal to provide a quiet, peaceful respite for our guests. It is great to hear that we were able to create that space for you during your getaway. I look forward to your next visit, just for fun.

Thank you,
Kathleen - Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I chose the Hamilton House as our home away from home when we went to the Dave Matthews Band concert at Alpine Valley. Kathleen, the innkeeper, was incredibly welcoming and helpful with suggestions for dinner and area attractions. We loved our room--very clean, plenty of space, romantic fireplace and jetted tub, and super comfortable bed. We also liked that the house was quiet and the breakfasts were delicious!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cezanne room. The bed (queen size, I think) was very comfortable and we loved the j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BandBInnkeeper, Owner at Hamilton House B&B, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing a bit of information to future inn-goers.

I am pleased to read your found the inn quiet. We make every effort to provide a quiet, relaxing space for couples to spend time together.

While the Cezanne room currently has a full sized bed, not a queen, it does have the best jetted tub and I particularly like that the fireplace can be seen from the the bed; great for cuddling up in the winter months. I appreciate your comment about the hand held shower. We are currently researching ways to add a standard shower to this tub. Hopefully it will be in place at your next visit.

Thank you,
Kathleen - Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Hamilton House was our first bed and breakfast experience and it exceeded our expectations. Hospitality is the main theme from the innkeepers, Kathy and Jim. Kathy had great suggestions about things to do in the local area and did a fantastic job at making sure we had everything we needed for an enjoyable trip. We were so fascinated by the history of the house that Jim shared over breakfast Sunday morning - the stay is worth it to learn more about that home.

The Hamilton House was beautiful and well-kept. The deck was a great place to relax while watching the birds and checking out the flowers. Our bed was very comfortable. We had everything in our room we could have needed. We enjoyed meeting the other guests over breakfast and in the parlor.

So glad to see people living their dream, like the owners of this bed and breakfast. When someone is passionate about what they are doing, it becomes obvious to those who get to experience it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Monet - very roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BandBInnkeeper, Owner at Hamilton House B&B, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share a few details about your recent stay at the Hamilton House. Your Comments will be very helpful to future guests.

PS, I love to get first time B&Bers! Thanks for picking us to be your first B&B. I look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

Kathleen - Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitewater
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Whitewater
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Whitewater WI
Super 8 Whitewater WI
#1 of 2 in Whitewater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
23.0 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Lake Lawn Resort
Lake Lawn Resort
#1 of 7 in Delavan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
24.0 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton House B&B

Property: Hamilton House B&B
Address: 328 W Main St, Whitewater, WI 53190-1958
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Whitewater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Whitewater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hamilton House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamilton House is dedicated to providing outstanding comfort and personal service to the leisure and business travelers. Guest rooms features include; whirlpool tub, gas fireplace, wireless internet, CD player, and private bath. Enjoy morning coffee in your room followed by a full breakfast in the formal dining room. Common areas offer assortment of games and places to relax. Complementary evening refreshments. In room massage and in room breakfast available. Short drive to a variety of entertainment, shopping, and outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hamilton House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing