We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest and relaxation”
Review of Westby House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westby House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Westby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rest and relaxation”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed at this property for one night on my way to La Crosse. I was looking specifically for a B & B in the general area, and this one looked intriguing. I reserved the Library room, and it was perfect for my needs. A large room (at least for a single), and the entire property had a homey feel. Although I had a corner room, and the busy Main street was a block away, it was very quiet and peaceful. Marie was very welcoming, provided all the needed info at check-in, without being too intrusive. I did not dine in the area, just wanted to spend some time alone, reading and relaxing. The bed was extremely comfortable, and although the room was not plush and luxurious, it had all the little details that are expected at good B & B properties. I did not participate in the breakfast, but Marie did provide a continental plate that was more than adequate. Enjoyed my stay immensely, and if I'm in the area, I will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marily21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRCGAL, Owner at Westby House Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
We are delighted that your stay was all Rest and Relaxation! Thanks for sharing with fellow Trip Advisor folks to assure them of making the right choose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
111
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orfordville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2012

My husband and I just completed a two-day stay at the Westby House. The accomodations and food were excellent. The house is warm and comfortable and breakfast is always a special treat. We really enjoyed our hosts and will be back again. This was our second stay there.

Room Tip: We love the Rose Room. It is sunny, quiet, comfortable and the electric fireplace cozy, especially a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2012

My future wife and I just completed our second stay at the Westby House. We always receive a warm and cordial welcome from Mike and Marie. They are so helpful and are always ready to assist their guests with any question a guest may have.

We stayed in a different room our second time, it was decorated with care, and as always, the room was spotless.

Marie without fail prepares the most creative and tasty breakfasts. We have stayed at other B&Bs and their food does not compare with the wonderful food Marie serves.

If you are seeking a restful getaway in one of Wisconsin's most scenic regions, the Westby House will certainly fulfill your needs. I know we will be back for another stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This was our second stay at the Westby House and it was fabulous as expected. You will never have a better breakfast no matter where you go!!!! This quaint Inn is everything you will want for the perfect getaway. Charm, great service, great hosts......you will be planning your return trip. Marie's attention to detail with her meals is uncanny. If you like some outdoor activity sprinkled in with the pampering this is the place. Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: The Westby Suite was perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 601Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2012

My husband and I took a get-away between the holidays. The Westby House suited us well. Marie was a great host and a great cook: the food was creative, healthy with multiple courses. We explored the Kickapoo River Valley Reserve and the Mississippi River Valley. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Went with a group for a weekend. Great Food, Great Service, and of course Great accommodations. Both Marie and Mike and staff took care of every need. The group is already planning next years trip, only longer we all agreed. Could not want for anything more.

Room Tip: Bring your appetite, get ready for a great experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We spent a weekend at the Westby and it was a first time for us in a bed and breakfast. All others after this stay will have big shoes to fill. From the very start, the service, cleanliness, food, and comfort were beyond wonderful. We had one of the smaller rooms. It was delightful. The mattresses and feather bed were superb. Sleeping in a new place often keeps me awake, but here I was home. La Crosse was 40 minutes away through beautiful countryside. We will definitely return to the Westby House next fall or sooner.

Room Tip: Our room was the Rose Room, on the corner of the building with 2 windows, on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westby
1.0 mi away
Old Towne Motel
Old Towne Motel
#1 of 1 in Westby
18 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 20 in La Crosse
1,691 reviews
6.3 mi away
Midway Motel
Midway Motel
#1 of 2 in Viroqua
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
22.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#4 of 20 in La Crosse
1,021 reviews
22.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westby House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westby House Inn

Property: Westby House Inn
Address: 200 W State St, Westby, WI 54667-1253
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Westby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Westby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westby House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A most popular Wisconsin Bed and Breakfast, is a Inn that offers uncommon, friendly and gracious hospitality and exceptional lodging accommodations to those who are adventurous in spirit and in need of some serious TLC. The Inn has become a favored hotel-alternative, relaxing destination for travelers from Midwest cities such as Madison, Chicago, Minneapolis/St. Paul and Dubuque,Iowa. Also for fabulous Girlfriend and Friend Getaways, Retreats, Meetings. Our inn is popular for small, intimate weddings, complete with a wedding planner to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Westby House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing