We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Prices for Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Suites West Salem
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Reasonable Prices for Great Service”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at this property for a week while we explored the Coulee region of Wisconsin. During the week older women serve as the Housekeepers so our room was always neat and clean and any requests were done with a smile and happy conversation. When thanking one woman for getting us an extra towel she said, "I love my job." Comfortable beds, very quiet so much so, one could hear the lone train whistle high in the bluffs. Loved the "family room". Extra comfortable chairs and rockers, a fireplace, the computer area, books, games, magazines. Breakfast was the usual for most motels, the eggs and sausage could have been kept hotter, but the waffles were great. Front Desk Staff was the best, they pointed us to all the "Local" eateries, yummy best kept secrets!
If you want good, basic, clean, quiet, and safe - look no further. If you need to be in the middle of noisy, hustle bustle, cars honking, buildings all around - not for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Bluff. Heaven. There are no elevators in this two story building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miasnanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinnwswi, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites West Salem, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time and letting us know about your stay at the AmericInn West Salem. It is through these responses that we become a better motel and staff. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    43
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
56
31
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

On a recent return from a trip out west we passed through LaCrosse, WI. Our regular hotel chain was booked solid so I took a chance and booked this AmericInn in West Salem, WI. What a treat! Very friendly young lady checked us in and our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The T.V. had the best picture of any hotel I have been in for a long time. The room had little amenities to make our stay more comfortable such as micro and mini-fridge, toiletries and an ironing board and iron. Although we were not far off of the highway I was amazed at how quiet the room was. In the morning we sampled a breakfast that was the best we have ever had in any of the chains. I would return to this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinnwswi, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites West Salem, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at the AmericInn West Salem. It is through these comments we become a better motel and staff. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel. The staff was kind and courteous. The hotel was very clean. We enjoyed our room. The breakfast was very good. I was very glad to see that they had hot items like biscuits and gravy, hard boiled eggs, sausage and waffles.
We didn't get to use the pool because it was closed while we were there.
Other than that we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinnwswi, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites West Salem, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We appreciate hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon Station
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was a very nice stay for us, as always with Americinn our room was clean and we had a quiet comfortable nights sleep.I wish I had gotten the young man's name that checked us in on 4/27/13 as he was very courteous and went out of his way to make sure our stay would be nice.He was even there bright and early the next morning checking people out and was constantly checking on the breakfast items to make sure they were hot and well stocked-was very impressed with what he did.We would stay here again when we get back up in this area

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The motel was warm, welcoming, spotless, and professional. We had great service, a great room and the whole staff was helpful. However, Matt stands out. He was warm, polite, professional, and helpful. The breakfast was great, especially since free. We stay in our travel trailer a lot, however we will stay here gladly for the times we can't camp. Awesome stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrftBrDrnkr61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is the second Americinn I have visited in as many months, and both times I have been so pleasantly surprised by their staff. They seem to take a lot of pride in their customer service, and are always willing to go the extra mile to make you feel at home. On a long trip where I'm in a different hotel almost every night, this really makes an impression.
The hotel itself is lovely; there's a great pool area, with a sauna and hot tub (adults only swim from 11-midnight!!), as well as a nice open lobby, where coffee and tea are always available. I didn't take part in the breakfast, but it looked substantial for a free one. The room was spacious, and felt very clean.
The only issue was with check-out -- our group had requested a late check-out, but were called early in the morning to tell us that only half of us would be able to stay in the rooms for the extra hour. Minor, but worth mentioning.
Overall, I felt very well taken care of, and would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndigoChild39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights in March 2013. This location is a very typical AmericInn, which is good because you can always depend on a clean, quiet and comfortable stay. I really like the upgraded beds and pillows. The staff was very helpful, giving good advise on area restaurants and having menus available, which definitely improved my dining experience while there. When I asked for a late check-out, the front desk person quickly said okay without asking any questions. One improvement I'd recommend is more variety at breakfast, but I may just feel that way because I had been eating AmericInn breakfast food all week. Otherwise a great stay, and a fair value, even without a AAA discount.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Salem
5.4 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse
5.0 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse
8.9 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska
4.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites La Crosse/Onalaska
8.7 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites West Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites West Salem

Property: AmericInn Hotel & Suites West Salem
Address: 125 Buol Rd, West Salem, WI 54669-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > West Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites West Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located just off I-90 between La Crosse and Sparta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites West Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing