We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homemade, Homemade, Homemade” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emilys - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Emilys
Cuisines: Bar
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Wales
Level Contributor
85 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Homemade, Homemade, Homemade”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stopped here for a weekday lunch and were very happy we did. We have been here for dinner and fish fry, but not lunch. We had a manhatten and a large Bass Ale tapper which cost $10, very reasonable. Since it was a Friday, the soup special was their homemade clam chowder, loaded with clams with a touch of dill. Very rich and satisfying. One of us had a BLT which had nice healthy slices of tomato and a generous portion of bacon. It came with homemade potato chips. I had the raspberry orange salad with pine nuts, blue cheese and chicken with a raspberry vinigarette. It was very good. They have a large selection of of tap beers and a separate room for cigar affectionados. Wednesday is Mexican night at Emily's, Tuesday is the liver and onions another reviewer appreciated, Thursday is fried chicken, Friday is fish, baked or fried cod and Saturday is, what else in Wisconsin, prime rib. And did I mention all their soups are homemade?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tucker1575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Found a keeper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I am very picky, and always on the lookout for a good fish fry. When I decided to get a fish fry, none of the places I have already gone to were on my list to visit again (although AJ Obrady in Menomonee Falls is pretty good). I like my cod in a crispy light batter with a bit of lemon, not too thick, and potato pancakes with applesauce. I like an 'all you can eat' because I don't like coleslaw, caraway rye, tartar sauce or potatoes any other way.
Emily's is a 'corner bar' atmosphere about a mile west of Hwy 60 on Scenic (right between 41 and 45). Got there before 5 and got a table right away but it started filling up very quickly. Service great, food came quickly, and I ate my potato pancakes immediately and they were very good. I then ate the fish which was still hot and the crispy breading even held up to all of the lemon juice I squirted on it. Fish was very good, and there was three nice pieces and did not have to ask for seconds. All in all, out of the 20 places or so I have eaten fish in the northern suburbs of Milwaukee, this one is best. I would go back anytime.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gkaufmann_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Try the specials”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

My favorite is the Liver and Onions. Try and find some better, anywhere. Great burgers too. Guinness on tap.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best fish fry in Washington co”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I frequently stop in here on Friday nights! Fish fry is amazing and it's all you can eat. Always hot and fresh and never soggy or greasy! A must try for everyone. Once you do this will be the only place you will go for fish!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bucky_Badger51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Keep on Driving”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a run-down restaurant which survives only on the pity of locals. The majority of the seats are folding chairs, the service is poor and it smells of smoke. The sandwiches were bland and nothing worth writing about. Save your money - McDonald's has better food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WiscMom95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emilys also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing