We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place needs new staff”

Timmer's On Big CEDAR Lake
Reserve with OpenTable
Timmer's On Big CEDAR Lake is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 100 Restaurants in West Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Come and visit this beautiful historic landmark! Built in 1880 Timmer's Resort was totally remodeled in 2008 to restore the original charm of this lakeside dining and cabin resort. Our beautiful lodge has fire places in each dining room as well as beautiful views of Big Cedar Lake and its surrounding pines and native foliage. Our classic menu offers homemade goodness. Salads, Sandwiches, Seafood, Aged Steaks, Ribs along with our signature dishes Chicken Wellington & Citrus Crusted Salmon! You will discover our homemade desserts are sure to please. Our wine list is strong with California and US wines that will please any wine aficionado. Summer months you will want to enjoy our outdoor dining patio..It's everyone's favorite! Let us share our love of true Wisconsin hospitality with you. Timmer’s offers live music on the weekends for your entertainment. We welcome you to enjoy and discover Timmer’s!
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice place needs new staff”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great views and outside dining is relaxing, however the wait staff is bad. Second time recently with bad service.
They could also update their wine selections. Took till the end of our meal to tell us they didn't have that vintage anymore.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JnDtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    29
    12
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wauwatosa
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food with a great view”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We took a ride out to Big Cedar Lake on a warm Saturday night. Used Open Table to make a reservation at Timmer's for an outdoor dinner. The food was excellent as was the service. Our waitress warned us that the kitchen was running a little slow because of the crowd, but our appetizer (edamame pot stickers) came out fast and was really good. Salads soon arrived and were also good, although pretty standard in the ingredients. The salmon and the swordfish were both top notch. Prepared perfectly and with excellent side dishes, they were well worth a short wait. The only minor issue was that the peanut butter pie was pretty ordinary. Nothing bad, just nothing special.
Definitely worth a return visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_and_DebbieWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Won't go back.”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Where do I begin? My husband and I went in as newlyweds on a Saturday night. When we went in, we were given the stinkeye for not having a reservation, but were told they would "make room" for us. We got a drink at the bar, where my husband was served first, and I waited about five minutes after he received his drink to have my order taken. When we received our change, it was thrown across the bar at us.

It was about an hour before we got our table, which was fine; we were out to have a casual and enjoyable evening. However, when we got our table and our waitress brought bread and butter, it tasted like a freezer.

My husband ordered the prime rib, at which time he was told they were out. I ordered the soup of the day, and wasn't told they were out until my husband received his meal.

Upon leaving, my husband asked the hostess (who was playing on her iphone) to speak to the manager. The hostess (Amy) accosted us for not having a reservation, at which time I and my husband decided to leave.

Disgusting service, mediocre food at best. Not worth the time or effort. Timmer's, you have lost our business.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dustergrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Real Find”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were staying overnight in Hartford, WI and looking for a nice restaurant nearby on a Saturday night. Thanks to Tripadvisor we found Timmer's. The food and service were excellent and the room was relatively quiet and upscale rustic with a large stone fireplace with real wood blazing away.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A wonderful restaurant and evening”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had dinner on Thursday night in this beautifully renovated restaurant with a definite north woods cabin feel, -- a table right by the fireplace, what could be nicer. One of the specials was filet and quail, which we all ordered, and the meal was absolute perfection - down to the asparagus, carrots, and mashed potatoes. Since it was not a busy night and later in the evening, the young chef Josh spent some time visiting with us, he is delightful and you can tell he has a real passion for cooking and the food he prepares for the diners at Timmers. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilinda69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timmer's On Big CEDAR Lake also viewed

 

Been to Timmer's On Big CEDAR Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing