We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful restaurant and evening”

Timmer's On Big CEDAR Lake
Reserve with OpenTable
Timmer's On Big CEDAR Lake is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 100 Restaurants in West Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Come and visit this beautiful historic landmark! Built in 1880 Timmer's Resort was totally remodeled in 2008 to restore the original charm of this lakeside dining and cabin resort. Our beautiful lodge has fire places in each dining room as well as beautiful views of Big Cedar Lake and its surrounding pines and native foliage. Our classic menu offers homemade goodness. Salads, Sandwiches, Seafood, Aged Steaks, Ribs along with our signature dishes Chicken Wellington & Citrus Crusted Salmon! You will discover our homemade desserts are sure to please. Our wine list is strong with California and US wines that will please any wine aficionado. Summer months you will want to enjoy our outdoor dining patio..It's everyone's favorite! Let us share our love of true Wisconsin hospitality with you. Timmer’s offers live music on the weekends for your entertainment. We welcome you to enjoy and discover Timmer’s!
Level Contributor
142 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A wonderful restaurant and evening”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had dinner on Thursday night in this beautifully renovated restaurant with a definite north woods cabin feel, -- a table right by the fireplace, what could be nicer. One of the specials was filet and quail, which we all ordered, and the meal was absolute perfection - down to the asparagus, carrots, and mashed potatoes. Since it was not a busy night and later in the evening, the young chef Josh spent some time visiting with us, he is delightful and you can tell he has a real passion for cooking and the food he prepares for the diners at Timmers. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilinda69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    29
    11
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
milwaukee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fish fry & entertainment”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stopped by for a fish fry and had the bonus of some great entertainment in the bar after we ate. Walleye was delicious and the best potatoe pancakes I have had! Beautiful setting as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
223 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Special New Years Eve dinner”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I took two of our adult children out for a nice evening at Timmer's on New Years Eve and it was a wonderful experience. They had a special menu including an appetizer buffet, a choice of soups, salads, entrees, and desserts. My wife and I had the prime rib, rare to medium rare, and they were perfect. The desserts were amazing. The restaurant was crowded but we still had great service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank aatbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cozy dining.”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The atmosphere is just lovely. The renovations to this historic resort are upscale, yet true to it's heritage. We have dined here many times, and never have been disappointed in the food. Their Sunday brunch is a fantastic value at just $14.95. All the dishes are made with fresh ingredients from the farmers' market during the growing season. Service is great, and presentation is beautiful.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4thebirds24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We have frequented this establishment many times, mostly because we love the decor. An "up north" cabin feel close to the big city. Great bar, music on Fridays, and outdoor seating. The food has been good, not always exciting and sometimes not great...so it is with jubilation that with the changing of Chef's I can say it was really good. Friday fish fry with hand breaded haddock was light and seasoned well, the potato pancakes were not greasy and had a nice flavor. Walleye with lemon and capers was fantastic and the new coleslaw is a much needed improvement. We are anxious to try the king crab leg dinner on Monday's and Italian buffet on Tuesdays as well. Yay Timmer's

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilly1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timmer's On Big CEDAR Lake also viewed

 

Been to Timmer's On Big CEDAR Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing