We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem!”
Review of Shalom Wildlife

Shalom Wildlife
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in West Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This wildlife park is nestled away in the rolling hills near West Bend. There are a variety of animals, most in large enclosures. There are several miles of paths, so renting a golf cart is best. Very reasonably priced.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DoxieGal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    17
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent visit for our family!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Very tranquil, nice walking trails. The animals are really neat. Our kids loved them. There are also golf carts available but we walked, taking our time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fdlfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconSIN
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ditch the Carts and walk a little.”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The albino deer are shy....they buffalo are NOT! If you are lucky the little baby deer will come up to the fence to greet you.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank chermycloset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wildlife in the woods”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My kids love animals and I love nature,
so rather than the cement jungle of a zoo
(with the temptation to buy expensive snacks and souvenirs),
I was happy to find Shalom wildlife sanctuary after searching
online for animal sanctuaries in Wisconsin.

I was looking for something to do with the family
on our way to the Osh Kosh air show,
and this stop was the perfect counter
to the machines, noise and cement
I knew we'd see at the air show.

We went back again in the fall,
this time taking another family with small kids
because we enjoyed it so much the first time.
There was a children's birthday party going on
in a separate shelter there, but the little log cabin
where you first enter has picnic tables and restrooms.
It just happened to be my birthday too,
so we had cake (that we brought) in the log cabin afterwards.

We rented the golf carts both times,
but I think walking the paths
would make this a delightful way
to get exercise outdoors in the shade.
There was an older couple without kids
who walked the entire way and said
they've done that several times.
I love to walk in nature and was happy to see
that the fencing dividing you and the animals
didn't disrupt nature too much
(like a zoo would). It felt like we were walking around
in the animals' natural habitat.

The landscape is tall pines and rolling hills.
You can go up to the animals and feed them
and the kids loved that.

This is a perfect place, from a mom's perspective,
to teach the kids about animals and nature
(without feeling compelled to buy toys or food),
get exercise and wear the kids out
so they'll get a nice nap
in the car on the way home!

I suggest this for a Wisconsin day trip
that doesn't drain your wallet
and allows you to get out of the house
and be with your family in nature.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank vacationwith3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wild life at it's Best!!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Great for kids and adults, very interesting to see and learn about wild animals in their own habitat, also have a few new interesting animals such as wolves and more... Nice wagon rides and educational time with the owners who are very nice and have worked very hard to keep these animals in their real element.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shalom Wildlife also viewed

 

Been to Shalom Wildlife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing