We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in every way”
Review of The Poplar Inn

The Poplar Inn
Ranked #2 of 100 Restaurants in West Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $45
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Germantown, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great in every way”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have eaten at the Poplar Inn a couple of times in the last few weeks. Both times were excellent. The atmosphere, service and food were all top notch. In our visits we have tried fish, steak and duck entrees. Everyone was very pleased with their choices. A great place to eat in West Bend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    34
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“great steak, poor service”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Fantastic beef tenderloin, cooked perfectly and absolutely delicious. Too bad it was accompanied by cold vegetables and poor service. Requested herbal tea, got caffeinated selections, server changed between our order and service causing confusion and no-service. The tables upstairs are so close together that we suffered through all the intimate details of the divorce being discussed at the table next to us. I expect more for the high prices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Didn't disappoint”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ate here for our anniversary. We loved everything about this place. The staff was very friendly! The drinks and bartender was great. We started with the Blue Tenders for an appetizer. It was so good I wanted to lick the bowl! We both had fish for dinner and we were not disappointed! Excellent!! We didn't feel rushed like we were being pushed through. We had a very relaxing dinner. We will definitely go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very nice place”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This quaint restaurant offers great romantic dining, great atmosphere, good food, great service. It's a bit pricey for WB.

Helpful?
Thank educated53037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Southeastern Wisconsin's finest”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Poplar Inn has become our favorite place. We eat here often, not only because we live in West Bend, but because this place rivals any fine restaurant in Milwaukee. The upstairs is romantic and quaint. Tony and the waitresses are so welcoming and friendly. We feel like we are some of their best friends when we dine here! The food is amazing and the drinks are too. The food is consistently good. My favorites are the scallops, pesto salmon and often their seafood special. Chef even will make something I request, if it's not too busy! The tiramisu is some of the best we have ever had. It is non-traditional, but incredible! Sitting upstairs year round is our favorite, but on a beautiful summer night, it's lovely to sit outside in the back. This is a real gem and worth the drive for those of you outside of WB.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kwise81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Poplar Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Poplar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing