We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak to die for”
Review of Eddie Martini's

Eddie Martini's
Ranked #2 of 98 Restaurants in Wauwatosa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $98
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Steak to die for”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Do not judge a book by it's cover. Do not judge Martini's restaurant until you eat thier. Reservations necessary unless you like late night eating. The bar is small but the drinks are superb. The dining room is intimate and professionally staffed yet friendly to talk to. The food from appetizer to dessert is wonderful our guests had salmon and the special striped bass, my wife and I both had filet mignon. We all loved our food and wished we had room for dessert as we watched other people's dessert go by our table. We are already planning our next visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank I90traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    32
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Upscale Eatery in Western Milwaukee Suburbs”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I've dined at Eddie Martini's likely a dozen times now. It's known for top flight cuisine, old world service standards and an elegant experience outside of the busy downtown area. As is typically the case, parking is at a premium due to it's location and draw ... although, it seems they've accessed some parking on it's Western side from an adjacent office building.

From a cuisine perspective, they are known for their Seafood Martini ... which is built to share out of an seriously oversized Martini(ish) glass. Steaks, Chops and Seafood choices are plentiful with their flagship lobster bisque being a "don't miss."

I recently dined there for my Wedding Anniversery. My feedback to the waitstaff was overwhelmingly positive save for two comments .Their Applewood smoked duck breast appetizer was so smoked that I could have mistaken it for Ham. Just a bit too far in my opinion. Lastly, their fine Ahi tuna main course is rolled in toasted seseme seeds. The flavor of the seeds overwhelmed the delicate tuna made it taste a bit like a breakfast bagel. Again, a good idea taken just a bit too far.

That being said, we'll be back again to try some new creations and enjoy their full wine list.

Reservations are a must in order to avoid being disappointed. However, their elegant bar is a fine place to pass the time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Eddie Martini's is a small, intimate establishment in the heart of Wauwatosa. There is a very nice selection of entrees but they are know for their steaks. We had steaks that came prepared the way we requested them which is harder and harder to find. The baked potato was huge and the serving of hashbrowns with bacon was interesting but a bit salty. The caprese salad was fantastic. All of the flavors came through nicely and it was just the right size to share. Our servers were outstanding and although it is a small dining room, the noise level was very subdued. I believe the steaks were among the very best that I have ever had anywhere!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tym2fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a drink at the bar before dinner. The bar area is small, so be prepared for that. The drinks were overpriced but delicious. Our server was knowledgeable and friendly. The pace of the dinner was perfect, not rushed at all. My husband's bone-in filet was one of the best steaks either of us have ever tasted. The baked potato and roasted asparagus were very good. The bacon potato hash was just ok. We both had an after-dinner drink of Sambuca and thought the pour was very short, especially for $10/each. Overall, we had an excellent dinner and will return in the future, but only for another special occasion because it is expensive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KellyW695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hard to beat”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This restaurant is amongst the best. The staff, and experience was simply fantastic. Been to Chicago, Boston, London, and San Diego area steak houses. Eddie's can compete. Anyone saying the food was nothing special must be like Outback!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leduc1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eddie Martini's also viewed

 
Milwaukee, WI
 

Been to Eddie Martini's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing