We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, amazing beers”
Review of Cafe Hollander

Cafe Hollander
Ranked #5 of 98 Restaurants in Wauwatosa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Belgian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent service, amazing beers”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I've been to this place a couple of times. Each time the wait staff has recommended amazing pairing of beers and food. They have a very good collection of beers. Try some of the european like brews.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ankuremail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    97
    24
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I sat at the bar and the staff was very friendly while I was having a late lunch after work. I ended up staying for 2 glasses of sparkling wine because I felt so at home. The food was amazing try anything that comes with the bier cheese soup!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rockymtngirlco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great outdoor venue”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Had lunch there with several others. Ate outside overlooking the Menomonee River. Sandwiches were excellent-buffalo barbecue was very good. There is a neighboring train track which adds to the atmosphere as two went by when we were there. Can be very noisy there but in good weather is about as good as a setting gets in Wauwatosa. Very large on tap beer/ale selection. Lively spot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonville, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brunch-tastic!!!!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My family went for brunch. They food was unique and delicious. I had the daily special which was a California omelet with tomatoes, cheese, African sausage, avocado, and green onion. The breakfast potatoes were great. My husband had banana coconut pancakes with a rum maple syrup. They was fabulous. I loved it. A little rich, but great. The best of all the orange juice was freshly squeeze and absolutely perfect. I could have drank an entire carafe of the juice. This a must for breakfast. They have indoor and outdoor seating. A great place to see the occasional train. Great for kids. Brunch started at 8 which is great for my family who do not know was sleeping in means.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“In The Beer CityThis Is A Place Not To Miss”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

In the beer city, this is a place not to miss. Not so much for Wisconsin products but for it's catalog of Belgian beers and ales which is the size of a small novel. There are many exclusive products and helpful ideas about food pairings. It has a comfy pub ambience with ample outdoor seating for a sultry afternoon. I was there with one friend for just a nosh rather than a meal. We split a salad with spicy, fresh arugula, blue cheese and spiced nuts and a cone of their signature fries, which really do approximate Belgian pommes frite. We chose the sweet potato frites which were crunchy (not easy to do) and came with a range of dipping sauces. We chose the Indonesian peanut sauce which was slightly sweet and had a little too much garlic (don't tell anybody I said that). It was a minor fault. For dessert, we had a slice of the signature pecan pie, done at a Dutch thickness. The crust was a little heavy but otherwise this was a dreamy transparent custard with delicious pecans that could have toasted a little longer. It was however, delicious. We came for a nosh and got a meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Hollander also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Hollander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing