We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brunch-tastic!!!!”
Review of Cafe Hollander

Cafe Hollander
Ranked #3 of 98 Restaurants in Wauwatosa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cafe, Pub, Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boonville, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brunch-tastic!!!!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My family went for brunch. They food was unique and delicious. I had the daily special which was a California omelet with tomatoes, cheese, African sausage, avocado, and green onion. The breakfast potatoes were great. My husband had banana coconut pancakes with a rum maple syrup. They was fabulous. I loved it. A little rich, but great. The best of all the orange juice was freshly squeeze and absolutely perfect. I could have drank an entire carafe of the juice. This a must for breakfast. They have indoor and outdoor seating. A great place to see the occasional train. Great for kids. Brunch started at 8 which is great for my family who do not know was sleeping in means.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    92
    23
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
374 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“In The Beer CityThis Is A Place Not To Miss”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

In the beer city, this is a place not to miss. Not so much for Wisconsin products but for it's catalog of Belgian beers and ales which is the size of a small novel. There are many exclusive products and helpful ideas about food pairings. It has a comfy pub ambience with ample outdoor seating for a sultry afternoon. I was there with one friend for just a nosh rather than a meal. We split a salad with spicy, fresh arugula, blue cheese and spiced nuts and a cone of their signature fries, which really do approximate Belgian pommes frite. We chose the sweet potato frites which were crunchy (not easy to do) and came with a range of dipping sauces. We chose the Indonesian peanut sauce which was slightly sweet and had a little too much garlic (don't tell anybody I said that). It was a minor fault. For dessert, we had a slice of the signature pecan pie, done at a Dutch thickness. The crust was a little heavy but otherwise this was a dreamy transparent custard with delicious pecans that could have toasted a little longer. It was however, delicious. We came for a nosh and got a meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great outdoor dining experience !”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Cafe Hollander provides a unique blend of unusual with expected. The fish tacos are amazing! The beer choices superb! The people watching enjoyable !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mac5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great beer selection and good food”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

They have an awesome beer selection here and there is also a lot of info about the beers that you can choose from. The food is also good and everything is paired with the beers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
156 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Relaxing Brunch - Food Good & Service too!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

On a sunny summer afternoon one Saturday we stopped at this popular restaurant in old Wauwatosa. The weather was perfect for a patio brunch. The food was solid - good. And the server we had was attentive and very good. It was a pleasant time. Very relaxing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheWash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Hollander also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Hollander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing