We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Uncomfortable!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Forty Winks Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Forty Winks Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Wauwatosa
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I love to stay at Mom and Pop motels but this one was dreadful! The bed was hard as a rock and just as lumpy. The rooms are not well insulated so the people above were as loud as if we were in the same room! Bathroom and carpet were moldy.We left an entire day early because we could not sleep. The Front desk did nothing to improve the situation. We were not credited for leaving early. There was no apology.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is nice just a bit older. The room was very clean and smelled great when we got in. The only minor issue we had was with the hot water. We had plenty of hot water but the nozzle would whistle kinda loud....took a while to get it to work without the noise. No other complaints!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamandMiranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood Heights
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I paid $79 for three nights because my cousins were staying there while in town for my aunt's memorial service. The rooms are clean, but the furnishings are very old and tired. The decorative touches include dusty silk flowers circa 1980 and needlepoint wall hangings. No shampoo, no hand lotion, nothing but the tiny little rectangles of soap. There aren't enough outlets in the room or the bathroom. We were unable to completely turn off the water in the shower--and it was more than just a drip. There is an ice bucket, but no ice machine (you have to go to the front desk and ask for ice). It took the front desk person forever to check us in even though nobody else was ahead of us. I'm sure we could have found a more comfortable place to stay for not much more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucys_Grandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is ok to stay in, if you're in a pinch. It's a little old...green carpeting. No shampoo, can buy at check-in for a $1.
There was no continental breakfast (fruit, breakfast bars...) like their book says in the room.
For the wifi, you need to ask them for the code...its on a little piece of paper.
Wish they had a light switch when you walk into the room..had to walk in the dark to get to the desk area across the room.
Would I stay here again, in a pinch....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImSlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great rate for a Saturday in july. Just off the highway with lots to do in the area. Room was clean and fairly large. Bed was a little squeky and room could have used some touching up but over all it was good for a place to rest for the night.

Room Tip: Choose a 2nd floor room because you may hear the people if you are on first floor all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank auctioneerDePere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

very nice stay at 40 winks, large, clean room with beamed ceiling, microwave and fridge, nice area and cheap rates. I would stay there again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dougamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Wife and I went to the Brewers game and Wis State Fair, and we found this hotel on the internet, that was close to everywhere we wanted to go. We are glad we did. A good location with basic, clean, reasonable priced rooms. Owners were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fttom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wauwatosa
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Milwaukee West Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee West
1.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Milwaukee West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Milwaukee West (Brookfield)
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Milwaukee West
BEST WESTERN Milwaukee West
#21 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn West Allis/Milwaukee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forty Winks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty Winks Inn

Property: Forty Winks Inn
Address: 11017 W Bluemound Rd, Wauwatosa, WI 53226-4122
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wauwatosa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Wauwatosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Forty Winks Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned business. The inn was built by Russell Barr Williamson of the Frank Lloyd Wright team. Our rooms are large. all rooms have HBO, Showtime, ESPN, Fox, plus all local channels. We offer free morning coffee and coffee cake in our fireplace lounge. Parking, Wifi,Local calls and ice are free. All rooms enter into our glass atrium hallway for safety and security. We are located near Milwaukee County Zoo, Miller Park (home of the Brewers)2 shopping malls, The County Medical Complex, Childrens Hospital, Froedert Hospital, The Heart Hospital, W.f.Emergency Hospital and Medical College Of Wisconsin. The bus stop is at our front door. There are 40 area restaurants within walking distance. Our slogan is "Clean,Comfortable,and Convenient".We truly have an excellent location and are a outstanding value. We endeavor to keep our rates low, the reason for not many amenities. our rating of 4 out of 5 stars speaks for us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Forty Winks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing