We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Wonderful!”

Le Reve Patisserie & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 98 Restaurants in Wauwatosa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Le Reve is a classic French bistro in the heart of the village of Wauwatosa. Le Reve offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner along with a beautiful display of traditional French pastries.
Pelican Lake, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Le Wonderful!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

A friend received a gift certificate for Christmas, so we decided to go for lunch and celebrate the holiday season. We could not have been more pleased. The food is absolutely out of this world delicious. Be sure to leave room for one of their fabulous French pastries. You get to go to the pastry case and pick out what suits your fancy. We have never seen such desserts--perfection for the eyes and the palate. Our waitress was very attentive, and the dining room was very cozy. Parking is a squeeze in downtown Wauwatosa, but there is a nice municipal lot about one block away. We will definitely dine here again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnThatLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    83
    23
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I met some friends at Le Reve on Saturday night. They don't take reservations, and the small bar was full, so they put us on the list and took our number to call us when we were up. We went to Bartolotta's for a drink while we waited. It was a short wait on a packed Saturday night at Le Reve. We were seated at a darling table for four on the main level. I have sat on the upper level and prefer the ambiance of the main level. Our waiter was prompt to begin with. We ordered drinks and then ordered our dinners. My friend and I had the goat cheese and beet salad, which was delish. My husband had the French onion soup, and our other friend had the soup du jour which was a cauliflower and cumin. Wonderful starters! Our waiter pretty much ignored us after he took our order. Sad, because I really wanted to like him! However, our entrees were incredible: salmon with root vegetables and a warm bacon shallot dijon=OMG! Mushroom gnocchi, pheasant, and the braised short ribs. Incredible. The desserts were decadent. It was a fantastic time, sans our non-existent waiter. We can't wait to go back, and hopefully have service that is as incredible as this place is!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kwise81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“In a small town but New York feeling”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

the food is great and different selections than normal smaller resturants.
GREAT bakery. Service is friendly and helpful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jfm70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a very fun "find" for us because good restaurants on the West side, and especially out in Waukesha County where we live, are pretty scarce. We loved everything about our dining experience, except that the waiter forgot to bring bread, and he didn't warn me that a sizeable salad accompanies the seafood crepe. I had also ordered a beet and goat cheese side salad, so together it ended up being far too much lettuce. Everything else was excellent and we can't wait to go back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sydeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A little bit of Paris...in Wisconsin! Who would have guessed!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This small restaurant is the real thing...it truly felt like being in Paris....what a delightful find! We were seated upstairs and I highly recommend you ask for an upstairs table...quieter and cozy. There was a nice wine list for starters and then we moved on to the salads. The beet salad with pears and cheese was lovely, light and flavorful. Everyone in our party of six was happy with their entrees. Two of the men had the marrow crusted tenderloin and were happy to give us a bite of their generous meal. Two of us had salmon and were equally happy. My husband tried the monkfish..and thought it was delicious. I however had the winner...a ravioli filled with sweet potatoes and served with a brown butter and mushroom sauce. Wow... And when we were done, the gentlemen in our party headed to the patisserie downstairs to choose their desserts...and were kind enough to share with us. Service was top notch, atmosphere was lovely, get reservations, and be prepared to be spoiled!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank acandkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Reve Patisserie & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Le Reve Patisserie & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing