We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great neighborhood place where they know your name and the food is good too!!”
Review of El Mezcal

El Mezcal
Ranked #10 of 162 Restaurants in Wausau
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood place where they know your name and the food is good too!!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

If you love a place that has quick service, great food, and a neighborhood atmosphere, then El Mezcal is your place. I go here often, once a week on average, and the food and service is top notch. I see complaints that say oh bad food or bad service. Restaurant staff are people too. Everyone has a bad day, but I can say the good days out weigh the bad days 20 to 1(I have been here way more than 20 times too). Staff is friendly so if you do not like something tell them. Food is bland ask for more spice when you order. I actually ask for additional spice once a month. They have a rating system that kind of goes like this 1 normal to 5 very spicy mexican. (It is not ghost chili hot though) I usually ask for a 3(medium extra spice). Enjoy yourself it is $5-$10 a plate mexican with 2 for 1 Margaritas. You want fine dining and aloof waiters go someplace else!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jsamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    24
    12
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mosinee WI
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“no more”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Dissappointing, used to be really good. Uninterested waiter. Place not very clean. Food was not the best the last time but decided to give it another try, big mistake. fajitias were bland, the meat was dry and gristly and the chicken not much better. The shrimp chimi was filled with rice,only had 3 salad size shrimp in it and when I bit into it, it was bad (not edible). Going to El tequila salsa next door or Hector's in Weston--much better.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bessetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The food here is great! A lot of food for a really great price! Always have a great time. The staff are always friendly and courteous. I love how everything is freshly made. Their menu has an great selection of different items, from chicken, beef to seafood. All are very tasty! I like to try something new and I am not disappointed every time I do. Have to have one of their margaritas! They are the best! And their Fajitas are amazing! Love Love Love!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrill, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of my favorites!!!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

When we travel to Wausau we end up eating here about 70% of the time. Fell in love with it the first time we came here. In the beginning it was mostly male waiters that were kind of hard to understand all the time, but now they have some females, but almost attentive with drink refills. We have never experienced slow service however I have heard from a friend if you go on Cinco de Mayo you have to wait for food, duh Mexican on a Mexican holiday?! Really cool how they bring your food out with plates all the way up there arm, very impressive, never seen them drop one yet! Food comes out super fast too!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mickey178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This one is just'ok'... not as good as the one in Marshfield. The food or the margaritas. The service is ok, not as excited either.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jaden6WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mezcal also viewed

 

Been to El Mezcal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing