We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing small-town hotel”
Review of Quality Inn Wausau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn Wausau
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This hotel was spectacular - Better than we could have imagined. Excellent pool area atrium with rooms overlooking it - very fun. Room was lovely with fridge and nice decor. The room overlooking the pool was quite loud until the pool closed at 11:00 pm, but that is to be expected. Complimentary breakfast was AMAZING with eggs, bacon, waffles, etc. Even a complimentary shuttle to the ski hill. I have already recommended this hotel to friends and family!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jacki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 253 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

This hotel is a bit older and shows some wear but the rooms were big clean and quiet. Breakfast was very good. Pool area was very clean. Staff was friendly and welcoming on arrival. Early check in was no problem. Close enough to the downtown area and shuttle is available.
A good deal and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al7757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Perfect place to stay for a weekend snowboarding at Granite Peak. Two minutes to the mountain. Enjoyed having some drinks at the end of the day in the hotel bar. Would have been a fun place to stay with a group, which it seemed like a lot of people did. Not the fanciest of places, but exactly what I was looking for.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Found a great deal through granite peak ski resort! Stayed with friends. Staff was friendly with dining suggestions. Room and hotel were clean and comfortable. I would recommend highly for a great value for anyone, family, fun, or business.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Kibitzforu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Service is excellent, location great if you're a skiier, and rooms are immaculate. However, they are VERY dated (my room was mid-80's decor complete with duck wallpaper and forest green carpet). Don't expect any soundproofing, at least if you're near the pool. thankfully, the pool area closes at 11, so I was able to get some sleep, other than some drunken jerk yelling at 3 am.I could see families having fun there but I was traveling solo for a funeral and wasn't looking to play by the pool. It is dog-friendly, at least. Rates were jacked high due to ski season and were far too high for a small town dated hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank pizzicato66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Staff was friendly and accommodating. I stayed there for two weeks while my mom had surgery. The staff is young, but sure seemed to do their best. The 24 hour shuttle was great and that is what made me pick this hotel over others. It would WELL be worth it for the owners to put some money into improving a few things ie. Shower curtain that fits the tub, microwave in all rooms, room heating issues, extra shuttle supply to support all clients needs. The location is great and it was super easy to get to the hospital and clinics. I have already booked my next stay with them.

Room Tip: It is very noisy if you have a room around the pool. Second floor would probably be quieter. Durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We love staying here. The whirlpool suite is great. The decor very old world feels like one is in Italy. There is a recreation great room in the center of the hotel that is convenient has lots to offer. We find ourselves coming back here again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wausau
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
495 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#5 of 11 in Wausau
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
1,160 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#6 of 11 in Wausau
138 reviews
4.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Wausau

Address: 2901 Hummingbird Rd, Wausau, WI 54401-7367 (Formerly Midway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range: $65 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUALITY INN FREE SHUTTLE SERVICE TO GRANITE PEAK SKI Get more value at the pet-friendly Quality Inn® hotel in Wausau, WI near State Park Speedway, Leigh Yawkey Woodson Art Museum and Central Wisconsin Airport, to which we provide free transportation! Conveniently located off of Highways 51 and 29, this Wausau hotel gives you easy access to The Grand Theater, Yawkey House Museum and such points of interest as: Nine Mile Forest Rib Mountain State Park Granite Peak Woodson History Center The Center for the Visual Arts Shoppers can browse for treasures at Wausau Center Mall; beer lovers can sip microbrews at Bull Falls Brewery; and the whole family can catch some thrills slipping and sliding in the snow at Sylvan Tubing Hill! We offer you real value for your hard-earned money and meet the needs of all kinds of travelers. Business travelers appreciate our meeting rooms and banquet facilities, which can accommodate up to 400 people. They also appreciate our business center, which features copy and fax services and a computer with Internet access. We welcome you to savor a delicious meal in our restaurant, Hoffman House, and a refreshing drink in our lounge, which features a cocktail hour. Swim in our indoor heated pool, utilize our guest laundry facilities, utilize the nearby fitness center with free passes from the front desk and enjoy such amenities as: Free hot breakfast Free WiFi Indoor heated pool and whirlpool Bus, truck & R.V. parking Make yourself at home in your guest room, which features a 32-inch flat-screen TV and coffee maker. Some rooms also feature a refrigerator, microwave, sofa sleeper and balcony. Your Q Bed features a comfortable, premium mattress and linens, a generous supply of fluffy pillows and a soft, plush blanket–because we know you value a good night's sleep. Relax and focus on the experiences you came for! Enjoy the combination of friendly service, generous amenities and cozy accommodations at the Quality Inn hotel in Wausau, WI. We look forward to hosting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Inn Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wausau Best Western
Best Western Wausau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing