We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very clean, no soundproofing, thin blankets in cold weather”
Review of Quality Inn Wausau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn Wausau
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
savage, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very clean, no soundproofing, thin blankets in cold weather”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Service is excellent, location great if you're a skiier, and rooms are immaculate. However, they are VERY dated (my room was mid-80's decor complete with duck wallpaper and forest green carpet). Don't expect any soundproofing, at least if you're near the pool. thankfully, the pool area closes at 11, so I was able to get some sleep, other than some drunken jerk yelling at 3 am.I could see families having fun there but I was traveling solo for a funeral and wasn't looking to play by the pool. It is dog-friendly, at least. Rates were jacked high due to ski season and were far too high for a small town dated hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank pizzicato66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    60
    41
    27
    31
See reviews for
90
42
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Staff was friendly and accommodating. I stayed there for two weeks while my mom had surgery. The staff is young, but sure seemed to do their best. The 24 hour shuttle was great and that is what made me pick this hotel over others. It would WELL be worth it for the owners to put some money into improving a few things ie. Shower curtain that fits the tub, microwave in all rooms, room heating issues, extra shuttle supply to support all clients needs. The location is great and it was super easy to get to the hospital and clinics. I have already booked my next stay with them.

Room Tip: It is very noisy if you have a room around the pool. Second floor would probably be quieter. Durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin, Usa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We love staying here. The whirlpool suite is great. The decor very old world feels like one is in Italy. There is a recreation great room in the center of the hotel that is convenient has lots to offer. We find ourselves coming back here again and again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Most disgusting place i have ever been to. My company put me up at this hotel bc the pics look like it was a nice place but lord these had to of been old pics back when they opened the place. Breakfast got me so sick that i couldnt work while i was there. At the time of check in the hotel smelled like mildew. When i got to my room it smelled like smoke and had a leak in the ceiling i called tge desk to let them know and told them to make a note of it so i wasnt charge but bc they r a bunch of kids who are running the place that she didnt leave a note and after i checked out and was home my bank statement had a $250 charge on my card for the smell of smoke in the room. I called the hotel but they refused to take off the charges. This is by far the worse place. I woukd of been happier sleeping outside in the cold wet snow. This place should be condemned

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DAyy1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, Director of Sales at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Good afternoon, We are sorry to hear that your stay was not enjoyable. We value your opinion and your feedback. With out it we would not be able to take effective action to collectivly correct the issues at hand. We strive for the best in our customer service and product value. If there is anything I can do to accomidate for your stay with us, please feel free to contact me anytime. We want to insure you will be returning to our facility and we want for your next stay with us to be enjoyable. My contact information is listed below.

Christine Weber
715-842-1616
Director of Sales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wausau hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Wausau, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Solid value with easy access to the area. Good restaurant specials with a limited menu. nice pool area. Large rooms made my stay very comortable. The staff is very helpful, ready to assist with local information.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleton, WI, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Nice hotel, close to the ski hill if you are into that. Breakfast was good. Not to far from Texas Roadhouse if interested. Nice looking pool and hot tub Comfortable bed and nice recliner rocking chair.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

sleep in ur car before u stay at this hotel...horrible manageent and staff. very unprefessional and rude. they have teenagers running this hotel. no joke. dont give them your c.c bc they will charge u for things that the other ppl who stayed in the room prior to ur check in to cover the cost...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
6 Thank Diana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, Director of Sales at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
I am sorry for the inconveniences during your stay. I assure you, your experience does not reflect the high standards we expect your guests to receive during their stay.

I greatly value the comments our guests have about their experience here and truly take each and everyone to heart. I am very sorry for the issues you experienced during your stay. I can assure you we will be discussing this in our next meeting and implementing strategies to prevent similar incidents from occurring again.
I hope you stay with us in the future. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our service and make your stay excellent.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wausau
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
4.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#6 of 11 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#7 of 11 in Wausau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Wausau

Property: Quality Inn Wausau
Address: 2901 Hummingbird Rd, Wausau, WI 54401-7367 (Formerly Midway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUALITY INN FREE SHUTTLE SERVICE TO GRANITE PEAK SKI Get more value at the pet-friendly Quality Inn® hotel in Wausau, WI near State Park Speedway, Leigh Yawkey Woodson Art Museum and Central Wisconsin Airport, to which we provide free transportation! Conveniently located off of Highways 51 and 29, this Wausau hotel gives you easy access to The Grand Theater, Yawkey House Museum and such points of interest as: Nine Mile Forest Rib Mountain State Park Granite Peak Woodson History Center The Center for the Visual Arts Shoppers can browse for treasures at Wausau Center Mall; beer lovers can sip microbrews at Bull Falls Brewery; and the whole family can catch some thrills slipping and sliding in the snow at Sylvan Tubing Hill! We offer you real value for your hard-earned money and meet the needs of all kinds of travelers. Business travelers appreciate our meeting rooms and banquet facilities, which can accommodate up to 400 people. They also appreciate our business center, which features copy and fax services and a computer with Internet access. We welcome you to savor a delicious meal in our restaurant, Hoffman House, and a refreshing drink in our lounge, which features a cocktail hour. Swim in our indoor heated pool, utilize our guest laundry facilities, utilize the nearby fitness center with free passes from the front desk and enjoy such amenities as: Free hot breakfast Free WiFi Indoor heated pool and whirlpool Bus, truck & R.V. parking Make yourself at home in your guest room, which features a 32-inch flat-screen TV and coffee maker. Some rooms also feature a refrigerator, microwave, sofa sleeper and balcony. Your Q Bed features a comfortable, premium mattress and linens, a generous supply of fluffy pillows and a soft, plush blanket–because we know you value a good night's sleep. Relax and focus on the experiences you came for! Enjoy the combination of friendly service, generous amenities and cozy accommodations at the Quality Inn hotel in Wausau, WI. We look forward to hosting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Quality Inn Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wausau Best Western
Best Western Wausau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing