We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blah... ”
Review of Quality Inn Wausau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn Wausau
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Blah... ”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I'm writing this review at 5:30am as I can not sleep due to the bed is extremely hard and uncomfortable. Back back and my hips are so sore because there is no give in the mattress. I might as well have slept on the floor.
Last night when I went in to take a shower there were hairs in the bath tub that I had to rinse down before I would use it. (yuck)
On a good note the front desk staff was very friendly and the pool area looks like a lot of fun.
My son and I are here visiting a college and have to drive home 4.5 hours after a 6 hour campus visit. It's going to be a long ride home due to very little sleep and a sore back. :(

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kykarlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We sincerely apologize your stay wasn't relaxing and comfortable. I assure you that your experience is not one we expect our guests to have. Please contact us directly at 715-842-1616 so that we may make it up to you for the inconvenience you experienced as well as gain more information so that we may better prevent future guests from having a similar experience. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    61
    41
    27
    32
See reviews for
92
43
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ironwood, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This Best Western is a very clean, nice motel in Wausau. It provides a nice breakfast and shuttle to the CWA airport! We highly recommend this motel!! You can leave your car here FREE with a night's stay as well! A very good deal indeed! The staff is super friendly and go over and beyond!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Connie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We are truly excited to hear we exceeded your expectations. Thank you so much for staying with us and please don't hesitate to contact us if we can assist you in any way on your future travels. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Rooms are nicer than I expected. Good value. Decent breakfast, plenty of things to do nearby, coffee maker in room wasn't great, but overall a pleasant surprise. Had a poolside room, there is a restaurant, bar, meeting rooms, plenty of things to occupy your kids. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMD615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I stopped at this hotel for one night during a road trip. We had no reservation, but were greeted warmly by the front desk clerk. There was a lot of noise coming from a pool party when we arrived, but it was quiet by the time we returned from eating dinner downtown. Our king room was very spacious and had a recliner. It seemed to be an ADA accessible room; however it was on the second floor, at the top of a steep staircase, and there is no elevator. There was a counter with a fridge and microwave outside the bathroom, and plenty of room to move around. There was enough space for toiletries on the bathroom vanity and shelf. The location is right off a highway, and it's a bit of a drive to the lovely redeveloped downtown area. Breakfast was typical BW fare.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColoradoTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed your room. All of our ADA rooms are on first floor and are setup very different from the room you stayed in, but all of our rooms truly are that spacious. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We had stayed here a year ago and wanted to try it again. We booked it online using our points. No where on the website did it mention that the whole pool, hot tub, game area was under renovations. They had arcade machines turned off. Pool was cold, hot tub was not hot and jets were not strong. Caution tape all around, pool had chunks of grout in pool from workers putting new tile on floor in. They did not clean up very well each day. Shower head in room was broken, we reported problem and they did put another one in, but water pressure was not good. They had music in the pool area turned up so loud that we had to go to front desk to ask them to turn it down as we could not hear tv without turning it up to drown out sound of music. And there was only like 4 people out there so they didn't have to have it on that loud.
Then there were kids running in hallways from pool to second floor, back and forth while screaming constantly. Room did not have microwave in it. Did not have a chance to try their breakfast this time. They should have had on the website that work was being done in pool area, we would not have booked it had we known that.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Harleyrider2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We are truly sorry to hear your experience was not as it should have been. Please contact us directly so that we may assist you in regards to your recent stay. I look forward to speaking with you soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wausau hotels

St. Paul, MN
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Best Western Midway is located along the interstate on the western side of Wausau, near the ski area. It is an older hotel, but very well maintained and updated in a lot of areas. The rooms are large and comfortable, the bathrooms are kept clean, and the atrium pool and hot tub is really nice - the pool is big and deep and plenty big. A good hot breakfast is included in the restaurant. Wifi in rooms is free and fast, and there is a good selection of TV channels on the flat screen TV.

Although some of the decor is dated, this is a very pleasant and well maintained hotel that provides a good value.

Room Tip: Walls between rooms are thin, so ask for one with unoccupied rooms around it if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blanker001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and are always using your feedback to make your next stay even better. We are constantly planning and putting update in place. Look for more updates on your next visit. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I checked in late and out early again, so I will share what I can. This is not a beautiful hotel, but it its a nice value. Check in was smooth and personable. The walk up the fight of stairs to my room (204) was easy. Since the room opened up to the pool area, it was hot and humid in the hallway. The room had a window air conditioner which I turned on right away to max cold. The lighting made it hard to see the controls, but I managed with my cell phone. The bed was big and comfortable, so were the pillows. There was a fridge and microwave in the room. Tall guy note: shower head was tall enough to stand under it. I love that when that happens. There is free parking. It is right by the hospital. The breakfast is what you might expect for a free warm continental. Nothing special but serviceable. The room really reminded me of my house growing up. Not luxury, but clean and cozy. Next time I am going to try those old school video games in the pool area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6Foot6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! Its great to hear you had a comfortable nights sleep. We strive to earn your trust and satisfaction. All rooms now feature a mini-fridge for your convenience. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wausau
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#6 of 11 in Wausau
294 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
1,062 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#7 of 11 in Wausau
128 reviews
4.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Wausau

Property: Quality Inn Wausau
Address: 2901 Hummingbird Rd, Wausau, WI 54401-7367 (Formerly Midway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUALITY INN FREE SHUTTLE SERVICE TO GRANITE PEAK SKI Get more value at the pet-friendly Quality Inn® hotel in Wausau, WI near State Park Speedway, Leigh Yawkey Woodson Art Museum and Central Wisconsin Airport, to which we provide free transportation! Conveniently located off of Highways 51 and 29, this Wausau hotel gives you easy access to The Grand Theater, Yawkey House Museum and such points of interest as: Nine Mile Forest Rib Mountain State Park Granite Peak Woodson History Center The Center for the Visual Arts Shoppers can browse for treasures at Wausau Center Mall; beer lovers can sip microbrews at Bull Falls Brewery; and the whole family can catch some thrills slipping and sliding in the snow at Sylvan Tubing Hill! We offer you real value for your hard-earned money and meet the needs of all kinds of travelers. Business travelers appreciate our meeting rooms and banquet facilities, which can accommodate up to 400 people. They also appreciate our business center, which features copy and fax services and a computer with Internet access. We welcome you to savor a delicious meal in our restaurant, Hoffman House, and a refreshing drink in our lounge, which features a cocktail hour. Swim in our indoor heated pool, utilize our guest laundry facilities, utilize the nearby fitness center with free passes from the front desk and enjoy such amenities as: Free hot breakfast Free WiFi Indoor heated pool and whirlpool Bus, truck & R.V. parking Make yourself at home in your guest room, which features a 32-inch flat-screen TV and coffee maker. Some rooms also feature a refrigerator, microwave, sofa sleeper and balcony. Your Q Bed features a comfortable, premium mattress and linens, a generous supply of fluffy pillows and a soft, plush blanket–because we know you value a good night's sleep. Relax and focus on the experiences you came for! Enjoy the combination of friendly service, generous amenities and cozy accommodations at the Quality Inn hotel in Wausau, WI. We look forward to hosting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wausau Best Western
Best Western Wausau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing