We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quality Inn Wausau
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Wausau(Wausau)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stewart Inn(Wausau)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveler rating
86
64
46
29
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
64
46
29
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool areavideo gamesping ponghoffman housepool tablemotor lodgegranite peak ski areagreat priceski hillpool and hot tubwould stay here againstaff was friendlymidwaypoolsidewipetclerk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 258 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had stayed here a year ago and wanted to try it again. We booked it online using our points. No where on the website did it mention that the whole pool, hot tub, game area was under renovations. They had arcade machines turned off. Pool was cold, hot tub was not hot and jets were not strong. Caution tape all around, pool had chunks of grout in pool from workers putting new tile on floor in. They did not clean up very well each day. Shower head in room was broken, we reported problem and they did put another one in, but water pressure was not good. They had music in the pool area turned up so loud that we had to go to front desk to ask them to turn it down as we could not hear tv without turning it up to drown out sound of music. And there was only like 4 people out there so they didn't have to have it on that loud.
Then there were kids running in hallways from pool to second floor, back and forth while screaming constantly. Room did not have microwave in it. Did not have a chance to try their breakfast this time. They should have had on the website that work was being done in pool area, we would not have booked it had we known that.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Harleyrider2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

We are truly sorry to hear your experience was not as it should have been. Please contact us directly so that we may assist you in regards to your recent stay. I look forward to speaking with you soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Best Western Midway is located along the interstate on the western side of Wausau, near the ski area. It is an older hotel, but very well maintained and updated in a lot of areas. The rooms are large and comfortable, the bathrooms are kept clean, and the atrium pool and hot tub is really nice - the pool is big and deep and plenty big. A good hot breakfast is included in the restaurant. Wifi in rooms is free and fast, and there is a good selection of TV channels on the flat screen TV.

Although some of the decor is dated, this is a very pleasant and well maintained hotel that provides a good value.

Room Tip: Walls between rooms are thin, so ask for one with unoccupied rooms around it if available.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blanker001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and are always using your feedback to make your next stay even better. We are constantly planning and putting update in place. Look for more updates on your next visit. Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I checked in late and out early again, so I will share what I can. This is not a beautiful hotel, but it its a nice value. Check in was smooth and personable. The walk up the fight of stairs to my room (204) was easy. Since the room opened up to the pool area, it was hot and humid in the hallway. The room had a window air conditioner which I turned on right away to max cold. The lighting made it hard to see the controls, but I managed with my cell phone. The bed was big and comfortable, so were the pillows. There was a fridge and microwave in the room. Tall guy note: shower head was tall enough to stand under it. I love that when that happens. There is free parking. It is right by the hospital. The breakfast is what you might expect for a free warm continental. Nothing special but serviceable. The room really reminded me of my house growing up. Not luxury, but clean and cozy. Next time I am going to try those old school video games in the pool area.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6Foot6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for staying with us! Its great to hear you had a comfortable nights sleep. We strive to earn your trust and satisfaction. All rooms now feature a mini-fridge for your convenience. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here during a motorcycle rally held at the fairgrounds. The front desk staff went out of their way to make sure everyone had a great time. The pool and hot tub were clean and very inviting. The only issue we had was the maid service forgot to replenish our coffee, soap and shampoo. Not too much of a problem seeing they had all this available at the front desk. We will stay here again when in the area!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

By providing your feedback, we are able to see the areas we excel at and places we can improve to make your next stay even better. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Wausau, WI area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Although this property is getting older now, it is kept clean. The pool area has been freshened up with a newer paint job in the pool and we noticed they added lifts to the pool and hot tub for people with disabilities, and we were very impressed by this upgrade. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Free breakfast offerings were numerous, quality of it was acceptable (room for improvement there). Beds were very comfortable and for staying poolside I found it fairly quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeciGratz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

We are truly happy to see your stay was relaxing. We are constantly making update to the property. Expect to see several more updates complete by the end of the year. Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews