We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Ever Stay away!”
Review of Quality Inn Wausau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn Wausau
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I hesitate to even give this hotel a single star. It was a horrible place to stay the staff was rude to us the entire time my group had stayed there. There's an extra 20$ a night for pets to stay this means they are not pet friendly. The key cards ony worked 1 time out of 9 tries if you have infants DO NOT stay in this hotel. The doors ARE not stroller friendly, nor is it really handicaped accessable, unless you are very good at keeping doors open while geting your wheel chair through. No elevator for guests to use, staff won't let you use the service elevator, and if you tell them you have an INFANT in your room you are put on the second floor...climbing the stairs with a stroller is a pain in the rear.Then to top it off I had asked for a crib in my room for my INFANT (cannot stress that enough) and an hour after arriving, (unpacking) I had to go down to the front desk to inquire about the crib I was charged for but never had. Staff said they would take care of it walked back up into the room to find a pack and play I had to set up because they couldn't be bothered. I paid 10$ a night for a pack and play that I had to set up, had they told me it wasn't an actual crib I would have just packed up mine instead of asking for one. Worst experience ever!!!! My advice is for anyone looking for a hotel to go to the Howard Johnson, Super 8, Days Inn, La Quinta Inn, heck even the Plaza DO NOT STAY HERE! Unless you want to be treated horrid by staff and have bugs in your room. Yes there were spiders in the room. Also the a/c didn't work for the first night ( I couldn't get ahold of the front desk) it wasn't until the second night of my stay the a/c finally kicked in. There was NO working thermostat in the room (looked very thourghly) so I didn't have any tempture control. Again DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

We are truly sorry to have let you down. Please contact us directly so that we may discuss your stay further. Your experience is not common at our property, nor is it one we like our guests to have. We look forward to speaking with you further and hope to regain your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 253 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

Worst Best Western I've ever been to. Just bad all around, and way overpriced. The noise was terrible. The room was unclean, with ants and hair in the bathroom. The remote did not work properly, and the staff did not seem to be bothered by the list of problems I presented them when I checked out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

I'm sorry your stay was not comfortable and relaxing as it should have been. We strive to provide superior service and cleanliness, and are truly disappointed we did not provide this experience for you. Please contact me directly so that we may discuss your stay further and allow us another chance to provide you the experience we are proud to be known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel had a nice pool area without the over powering chlorine smell other hotels have. The pool area is huge. I did not stay near the pool but noticed rooms off the pool area. If noise bothers you, make sure to get a room on the other side. The rooms were nice with clean sheets and towels. I can imagine it being very busy in ski season.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoptontj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback from your recent stay. We strive to provide the ultimate customer service, cleanliness, and relaxing time away from home. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Hotel was run of the mill, generally needing updating. The housekeeper that cleaned my room was exceptionally rude though. I swear she even rolled her eyes at me! Unacceptable. I travel a lot and have never been treated in such a fashion. She had a strained, "I don't have to put up with you" attitude.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

We sincerely apologize for any staff that were unfriendly during your stay. Your review is not of an experience our guests normally receive. Please contact me to discuss your concerns further so that we may better prevent an experience such as yours in the future. Thank you for your business and I hope that we can regain your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stay at this Best Western on a regular basis. What prompted my initial return and the many there after was the employees. The accommodations are great with lots of recent upgrades. Cali's pub kind of reminds me of Cheers. Lots of regular business and local people makes it easy to strike up a conversation. It gets a lot of family traffic based on the indoor pool yet it is not noisy. Really dont think you can go wrong with this hotel for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: For business, go for the tower. For pleasure try the lower two floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jughead401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your feedback and business. Our full-service property is perfect for business or family guests. From our in-door pool area to our on-site restaurant and lounge, you are sure to relax while away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I did priceline so I was given this hotel for 50.00. So for the money it was Ok but would not book again. It was very noisy on the Hwy side of hotel. Tried to call down to the desk several times with no answer. When I did get someone and asked to be moved they said they were sold out. I guess everyone there walked or drove together since the parking lot as very empty. It looked like a hotel used a lot buy the area ski hill a little beat up.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConiMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

On behalf of our entire staff, I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I assure you your experience is not common at our property. I invite you to contact me directly so that we may discuss your stay further and make up for the inconveniences you experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed at this hotel while we were in town for a basketball tournament. We have stayed in other hotels in the Wausau area during "tournament time" but really enjoyed the layout of this particular place. There were at least 2 other large groups staying at this hotel and there was plenty of room for all of us to congregate in the pool area. I also enjoyed the fact that the pool area did not contain that overbearing chlorine smell that many pool areas have - - Thank you!!!! Our room was clean and perfect for our stay. Our team ate in the hotel restaurant one of the evenings and had very good food (Prime Rib was super!). The hotel has a nice bar area, but the bartenders didn't seem to have access to items for specialty drinks. . . . yet we survived. The people at the front desk were very welcoming and helpful during our stay. I would love to come back to this hotel in the future. Overall, great experience! Most importantly, our girls had a very enjoyable time! :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13momof3kiddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

It puts a smile on our face to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please don't hesitate to contact us if we can provide any assistance in the future. Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wausau
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
495 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#5 of 11 in Wausau
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
1,160 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#6 of 11 in Wausau
138 reviews
4.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Wausau

Address: 2901 Hummingbird Rd, Wausau, WI 54401-7367 (Formerly Midway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range: $65 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUALITY INN FREE SHUTTLE SERVICE TO GRANITE PEAK SKI Get more value at the pet-friendly Quality Inn® hotel in Wausau, WI near State Park Speedway, Leigh Yawkey Woodson Art Museum and Central Wisconsin Airport, to which we provide free transportation! Conveniently located off of Highways 51 and 29, this Wausau hotel gives you easy access to The Grand Theater, Yawkey House Museum and such points of interest as: Nine Mile Forest Rib Mountain State Park Granite Peak Woodson History Center The Center for the Visual Arts Shoppers can browse for treasures at Wausau Center Mall; beer lovers can sip microbrews at Bull Falls Brewery; and the whole family can catch some thrills slipping and sliding in the snow at Sylvan Tubing Hill! We offer you real value for your hard-earned money and meet the needs of all kinds of travelers. Business travelers appreciate our meeting rooms and banquet facilities, which can accommodate up to 400 people. They also appreciate our business center, which features copy and fax services and a computer with Internet access. We welcome you to savor a delicious meal in our restaurant, Hoffman House, and a refreshing drink in our lounge, which features a cocktail hour. Swim in our indoor heated pool, utilize our guest laundry facilities, utilize the nearby fitness center with free passes from the front desk and enjoy such amenities as: Free hot breakfast Free WiFi Indoor heated pool and whirlpool Bus, truck & R.V. parking Make yourself at home in your guest room, which features a 32-inch flat-screen TV and coffee maker. Some rooms also feature a refrigerator, microwave, sofa sleeper and balcony. Your Q Bed features a comfortable, premium mattress and linens, a generous supply of fluffy pillows and a soft, plush blanket–because we know you value a good night's sleep. Relax and focus on the experiences you came for! Enjoy the combination of friendly service, generous amenities and cozy accommodations at the Quality Inn hotel in Wausau, WI. We look forward to hosting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Inn Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wausau Best Western
Best Western Wausau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing