We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rude staff”
Review of Quality Inn Wausau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Wausau
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
oshkosh
1 review
“rude staff”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Hotel was run of the mill, generally needing updating. The housekeeper that cleaned my room was exceptionally rude though. I swear she even rolled her eyes at me! Unacceptable. I travel a lot and have never been treated in such a fashion. She had a strained, "I don't have to put up with you" attitude.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We sincerely apologize for any staff that were unfriendly during your stay. Your review is not of an experience our guests normally receive. Please contact me to discuss your concerns further so that we may better prevent an experience such as yours in the future. Thank you for your business and I hope that we can regain your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    60
    41
    27
    32
See reviews for
91
42
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rogersville, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stay at this Best Western on a regular basis. What prompted my initial return and the many there after was the employees. The accommodations are great with lots of recent upgrades. Cali's pub kind of reminds me of Cheers. Lots of regular business and local people makes it easy to strike up a conversation. It gets a lot of family traffic based on the indoor pool yet it is not noisy. Really dont think you can go wrong with this hotel for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: For business, go for the tower. For pleasure try the lower two floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jughead401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your feedback and business. Our full-service property is perfect for business or family guests. From our in-door pool area to our on-site restaurant and lounge, you are sure to relax while away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I did priceline so I was given this hotel for 50.00. So for the money it was Ok but would not book again. It was very noisy on the Hwy side of hotel. Tried to call down to the desk several times with no answer. When I did get someone and asked to be moved they said they were sold out. I guess everyone there walked or drove together since the parking lot as very empty. It looked like a hotel used a lot buy the area ski hill a little beat up.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConiMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
On behalf of our entire staff, I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I assure you your experience is not common at our property. I invite you to contact me directly so that we may discuss your stay further and make up for the inconveniences you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed at this hotel while we were in town for a basketball tournament. We have stayed in other hotels in the Wausau area during "tournament time" but really enjoyed the layout of this particular place. There were at least 2 other large groups staying at this hotel and there was plenty of room for all of us to congregate in the pool area. I also enjoyed the fact that the pool area did not contain that overbearing chlorine smell that many pool areas have - - Thank you!!!! Our room was clean and perfect for our stay. Our team ate in the hotel restaurant one of the evenings and had very good food (Prime Rib was super!). The hotel has a nice bar area, but the bartenders didn't seem to have access to items for specialty drinks. . . . yet we survived. The people at the front desk were very welcoming and helpful during our stay. I would love to come back to this hotel in the future. Overall, great experience! Most importantly, our girls had a very enjoyable time! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13momof3kiddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
It puts a smile on our face to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please don't hesitate to contact us if we can provide any assistance in the future. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was disappointed with the overall appearance from the outside and in as well as with the operation of the business.. The hotel grounds and lobby could use some maintaining to say the least and updating for sure. My husband proceeded to check in but returned questioning the pricing. Making the reservations online myself because the hotel was too busy to handle our reservations by phone and advised for this. I went in to handle matters because I confirmed all details by phone after booking and had confirmation in hand with totals. I was told that paying a premium on line for a pet friendly room was not correct that there would be an extra $20.00 a night added to our room per night. My printed papers with my confirmation No. read $0 would be added to price. When I showed this I was told it was up to the individual hotels and this was stated on line in small print. I ask to see that on the computer in the lobby and was told that she would get a copy from the office. This was not something I saw on line and wanted to look and the web in the lobby with her but she refused. I had a chance to talk to a manager but he said it was their policy. We decided it wasn't worth it and decided not to stay because of the principle of the matter. They did agree to refund. We asked if there were any other pet friendly hotels in the area and they misinformed us. Their mistake again, bad for business! Super 8, Wausau, WI dog friendly, pristine property, professional staff and no hidden costs!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank MaureenV425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We are truly sorry for your experience. Please contact me directly so that we may discuss your experience further. I may be reached at 715-842-1616. We hope to be able to provide you with a superior experience the next time you visit Wausau, WI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wausau hotels

Houston, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was by far the worst experience I have had at any hotel in my entire life! I brought my family up for a weekend of skiing and when I arrived there was a large group hanging around outside the entrance and many were obviously drunk. When I checked in the desk clerk advised “we have upgraded you to a room near the pool." I have stayed at a similar type of hotel with a pool/entertainment area indoors with many rooms surrounding it. THIS IS A HORRIBLE ARRANGMENT FOR A HOTEL, especially for those with children and anyone that wants to sleep! It is beyond noisy when there are 50+ people all loudly enjoying themselves in the pool, playing games, drinking, etc. On the surface, that doesn't sound like a bad time and I don't blame them for enjoying themselves. But when that is all going on just outside your door it is IMPOSSIBLE to sleep. Evidence by the 2-3 hours I was able to get that night. The noise finally started winding down about 11PM when someone came out and "closed" the area down. That lasted about half hour till some were back out it and making the same noise. I called the front desk and was told someone would take care of it...they never did. I remember 12:30 AM on the clock but finally did fall asleep only to be literally startled awake by loud crashing against my door, window and the wall. It was so violent that it scared my daughter awake crying at 0256 in the morning!! There was a group of people just outside our door seemingly drunk and making more noise than the entire population in the pool area a few hours before. It was so loud when I called the front desk (again) I could hardly hear her. She promised to take care of it and a few minutes later someone came and asked them to be quiet. That worked long enough for them to move the noise into the room next door where the paper thin walls only blocked the view but absolutely did nothing to block the noise. From the yelling, laughing, screaming, urinating (yes, I had to lie in bed listening to folks urinating through the wall) I laid there awake listening to this till I had had enough about 0530 and just got up.

When I asked why I was "upgraded" against my will and told them I purposefully booked a room "away from the pool" I was told there were no rooms available. If what I reserved and paid for was not available then I should have been told in advance or if you can't guarantee what is purchased then don't give the option to choose.

The next night was not any better and in some ways, worse. No one came at 11PM to "close" the pool area as had happened the night before so the entire place remained horribly loud until 0100 or later. The experience was so bad we chose to just pack up and leave early. Despite being exhausted from the inability to sleep in such an environment I packed up my family and drove back to Chicago after skiing on Sunday. We paid to stay through Monday but decided it wasn't worth another sleepless night.

I have yet to mention the temperature in the room and the disgusting breakfast. Although it was in single digits, the room was so hot we had leave a window open all night to be tolerable...no control in the room. The advertised "hot breakfast buffet" was inedible and should not be considered a perk to staying here. The first morning we tried it the sausage was so overcooked and dry it was difficult to cut and eat. The only real edible food available was the waffle as you cooked it yoruself. We ate at McDonalds for breakfast.

Granit Peak is a great ski area and we enjoyed it very much!! Great snow in March, almost nil lift lines, and very enjoyable. If you choose this area, stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TxAv8torguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We are truly sorry your stay wasn't relaxing. We do offer individual guest room temperature control through the thermostat on the wall next to the bed in each room. It is unfortunate that in accommodating your request to change the dates of your stay, on the original day of arrival January 18th, we had to upgrade you to a Pool-view room in order to accommodate your request to move your reservation to March 1st. We also waived your cancellation policy in doing so. We sincerely apologize that this happened in order to accommodate your date change request, and that no away-from-pool rooms were available to move you to. Upon your request the following day after check-in, we worked on relocating you to a different hotel per your request, but unfortunately you never returned our call in order to complete the relocation to a different hotel. Our staff and myself offered many other options to make up for any inconvenience but you refused to allow us to make it right. If I can assist you further, please contact me at 715-842-1616.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wausau
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#7 of 11 in Wausau
278 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
1,047 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#6 of 11 in Wausau
126 reviews
4.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Wausau

Property: Quality Inn Wausau
Address: 2901 Hummingbird Rd, Wausau, WI 54401-7367 (Formerly Midway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUALITY INN FREE SHUTTLE SERVICE TO GRANITE PEAK SKI Get more value at the pet-friendly Quality Inn® hotel in Wausau, WI near State Park Speedway, Leigh Yawkey Woodson Art Museum and Central Wisconsin Airport, to which we provide free transportation! Conveniently located off of Highways 51 and 29, this Wausau hotel gives you easy access to The Grand Theater, Yawkey House Museum and such points of interest as: Nine Mile Forest Rib Mountain State Park Granite Peak Woodson History Center The Center for the Visual Arts Shoppers can browse for treasures at Wausau Center Mall; beer lovers can sip microbrews at Bull Falls Brewery; and the whole family can catch some thrills slipping and sliding in the snow at Sylvan Tubing Hill! We offer you real value for your hard-earned money and meet the needs of all kinds of travelers. Business travelers appreciate our meeting rooms and banquet facilities, which can accommodate up to 400 people. They also appreciate our business center, which features copy and fax services and a computer with Internet access. We welcome you to savor a delicious meal in our restaurant, Hoffman House, and a refreshing drink in our lounge, which features a cocktail hour. Swim in our indoor heated pool, utilize our guest laundry facilities, utilize the nearby fitness center with free passes from the front desk and enjoy such amenities as: Free hot breakfast Free WiFi Indoor heated pool and whirlpool Bus, truck & R.V. parking Make yourself at home in your guest room, which features a 32-inch flat-screen TV and coffee maker. Some rooms also feature a refrigerator, microwave, sofa sleeper and balcony. Your Q Bed features a comfortable, premium mattress and linens, a generous supply of fluffy pillows and a soft, plush blanket–because we know you value a good night's sleep. Relax and focus on the experiences you came for! Enjoy the combination of friendly service, generous amenities and cozy accommodations at the Quality Inn hotel in Wausau, WI. We look forward to hosting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wausau Best Western
Best Western Wausau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing