We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcome.”
Review of Quality Inn Wausau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Wausau
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Ashlnd
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“welcome.”
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We, love Bestwester Midway,when we get to Wausau we are tired from the drive,When we come in it is a comfort to see a smiling face.we get a hot cup of coffee,a fresh cookie and relax. We don`t have to leave the building to get great tasting food,for us it`s ust what the doctor ordered

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdvaillancourt2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Thank you! It is great to hear you loved staying with us. I'm glad you enjoyed the fresh cookies at check-in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    61
    41
    27
    32
See reviews for
92
42
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ham Lake, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

I wasn't sure about this hotel after reading the other reviews, but we decided to stay anyway. We thought it was awesome, granted we stayed during the week and I can see how the pool area would be a big pull for kids on the weekend. We reserved a 2 room pool side suite for one night. Bed was very comfortable,couches were awesome, pool area was great. We ate at the onsite rest in the evening and it was good. The comp breakfast in the morning was a nice suprise. The tv's in the room were old, the picture on one tv was very fuzzy depending on which channel watching. But for the price we paid, we'd definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jewls74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Thank you for staying with us. I'm glad you had a great time at our facility. I would like to note we recently started a fantastic new menu at the Hoffman House Restaurant and Lounge. I'm sorry about issues you experienced with your television. There was an issue with a cable splitter in the utility room which caused some interference, which is corrected now.

Thank you again for choosing Best Western.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Very old very used. Pool area was terrible, ran out of towels, Dirty, little kids in hot tub, huge chips out of the bottom of the pool in the deep end. Dome leaks. They had waste baskets catching drips from ceiling! HOT in our room we were told no AC "open your window". Front desk staff very unfriendly and unhelpful. Don’t ask them any place to go none of them are from the area. If I were the owners I would shut it down and bulldoze the whole place.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank whoopteeDoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
I want to sincerely apologize you had a bad experience with us. We are constantly planning and making improvements to our property and service. Our mattresses were recently replaced and right at this moment our pool and whirlpool are closed for maintenance and repairs. Both are expected to be open by July 11th, 2011 with a brand new look. There are a couple very minor roof leaks in the pool area, which we plan to have repaired as soon as possible. In the mean time I truly apologize for the inconvenience caused by this.

I'm sorry the Guest Service Representative wasn't helpful giving you directions. This is the first comment I've received from any guest in regards to this. All of our staff is from and familiar with the area. We are constantly training and coming up with new ways of improving our service, including at the front desk.

I invite you to try us again and see all the changes made in the short time since your stay. You will not be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wausau hotels

Neenah, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Favorite choice for Wausau hotel when on weekend ski trip to Granite Peak.
Kids love the pool game room. Fun videogames, pool, pingpong, and hot tub.
Lots of space in pool room to hang out with a large group.
Skip the restaurant if you have time, and get take out from the Great Dane Brewery.
And again if you have time, get breakfast across the Hwy at Emma Crumbees.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank marktetai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
You're right! Wausau's Best Western has become a tradition for many families. From our spacious domed atrium pool area, to our business and fitness center, Best Western offers all of the amenities you need for a getaway. We also offer a Hot Breakfast Buffett each morning including a selection of hot breakfast items, fruit, pastries, juices and more, all just a few steps from you room. Best Western also boasts two on-site dining options available so you don’t even have to start your car. The Hoffman House Restaurant and Cali's Grille Room Lounge offer mouthwatering Steaks, Pizzas and more! Wausau's Best Western could be your family's new tradition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Don't stay at this hotel on a weekend unless you have children. All rooms face the pool which has a quiet time of 11 PM!!! - too late for business travelers.
Biggest issue is that no one enforced the rule of no glass in pool area. There were glass beer bottles, glass pickle jars, etc. where big groups of adults and children were eating by the pool.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rvtravelermiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
I am sorry you were disappointed during your stay. We offer many quiet rooms just down the hallway from the pool area that many business travelers truly enjoy. Our pool and whirlpool are sure to be a hit with adults and children alike. We do enforce the rule of no glass in the pool area; I apologize if there was glass taken in the pool area by guests during your visit. The safety of our guests is of very high importance, and I apologize our staff did not catch the guests you saw with glass in the pool area. Please visit us again soon, we constantly strive to better serve our guests and we will be changing our pool closing time soon to better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

The service is extremely poor. Unknown to me the hotel is run down, but not a lot of choices during busy season or ski weekends. And they know it, so they treat you like crap when you make any special requests. Manager Nicole was less then helpful when a roll away bed was requested. Would not here again. Priceline 2.5 star was not worth it ($60)!!!!
Re

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aboat911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternWausau, Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. Our staff are trained to provide outstanding service to each and every visitor. Best Western is the leader in customer care. We also are continually making improvements to our facility, as well as our service, all with the guest in mind. I hope that you will return in the future so we can make up for your past experience and show you what a phenomenal hotel we really are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Valley, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We flew in from Canada on a business trip for 6 days . The staff was excellent and more than willing to go out of their way to help. The ladies at the front desk were pleasant and helpful as well as the gentleman that drove the shuttle was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were quite spacious, clean , some rooms were more updated than others. hot continental breakfast was good. The only thing that we did not like was that the walls and floors were very paper thin and not sound proof. Otherwise would use hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loraken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wausau
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#7 of 11 in Wausau
286 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
1,057 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#6 of 11 in Wausau
126 reviews
4.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Wausau

Property: Quality Inn Wausau
Address: 2901 Hummingbird Rd, Wausau, WI 54401-7367 (Formerly Midway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUALITY INN FREE SHUTTLE SERVICE TO GRANITE PEAK SKI Get more value at the pet-friendly Quality Inn® hotel in Wausau, WI near State Park Speedway, Leigh Yawkey Woodson Art Museum and Central Wisconsin Airport, to which we provide free transportation! Conveniently located off of Highways 51 and 29, this Wausau hotel gives you easy access to The Grand Theater, Yawkey House Museum and such points of interest as: Nine Mile Forest Rib Mountain State Park Granite Peak Woodson History Center The Center for the Visual Arts Shoppers can browse for treasures at Wausau Center Mall; beer lovers can sip microbrews at Bull Falls Brewery; and the whole family can catch some thrills slipping and sliding in the snow at Sylvan Tubing Hill! We offer you real value for your hard-earned money and meet the needs of all kinds of travelers. Business travelers appreciate our meeting rooms and banquet facilities, which can accommodate up to 400 people. They also appreciate our business center, which features copy and fax services and a computer with Internet access. We welcome you to savor a delicious meal in our restaurant, Hoffman House, and a refreshing drink in our lounge, which features a cocktail hour. Swim in our indoor heated pool, utilize our guest laundry facilities, utilize the nearby fitness center with free passes from the front desk and enjoy such amenities as: Free hot breakfast Free WiFi Indoor heated pool and whirlpool Bus, truck & R.V. parking Make yourself at home in your guest room, which features a 32-inch flat-screen TV and coffee maker. Some rooms also feature a refrigerator, microwave, sofa sleeper and balcony. Your Q Bed features a comfortable, premium mattress and linens, a generous supply of fluffy pillows and a soft, plush blanket–because we know you value a good night's sleep. Relax and focus on the experiences you came for! Enjoy the combination of friendly service, generous amenities and cozy accommodations at the Quality Inn hotel in Wausau, WI. We look forward to hosting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wausau Best Western
Best Western Wausau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing