We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the cheese fries”

Wausau Mine Company
Ranked #4 of 163 Restaurants in Wausau
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Love the cheese fries”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great building, great service, and great food! I would highly recommend the cheese fries there. And they are not badly priced.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    101
    52
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Wisconsin, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Food!”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Food was great for the right price. My husband loved his prime rib sandwich! I read a review that it was so dark you could not see what you were eating but I did not see a problem with that.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“anything with a tomatoe sauce, terrible”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband , I and 3 kids stopped here for mothers day lunch , the day before(Saturday). It was not busy and service was quick. two of us had pizza, I had the fresh made ravioli , one had the kids hotdog and one had just cheesecurds. The curds were the only thing that got eaten. the pizzas and ravioli all had the same sauce which was overly thick , heavy and blah. the ravioli was swimming in this sauce and not good at all. Other reviews seem favorable. I would just stay away from pasta's or anything with tomatoe sauce until they incorporate a new recipe.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank creebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Fun theme place to eat with the kids”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

As the name suggests, it is like a mine. You can't miss the building on Stewart Ave when you approach the place. I like the pizza because of the their cheese. No oils floating on top. Rest of the menu is ok. Nothing spectacular, nothing to write home about. However, most kids will like it. It is worth a try. You be the judge.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChiKid60035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Place”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I have always enjoyed going to this restaurant. Yes, it is a bit small and the service can be a bit iffy at times, but my food has always been great! The setting of the old mine is interesting and it makes the place interesting. I know the kids always love the setting and the idea of "being in a old mine."

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SamK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wausau Mine Company also viewed

 

Been to Wausau Mine Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing