We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unusual ambiance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wausau Mine Company

Wausau Mine Company
Ranked #7 of 159 Restaurants in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, American, Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Quad Cities Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unusual ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Interesting little place. Average food at an average price. The walls look like a cave and the tables are rough hewn lumber with a thick varnish. The exterior of the building is an eye catcher designed to look like a collapsing mine entrance. I am glad we visited it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank luv2playa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    92
    51
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Atmosphere was most unique but the food was just ok. The kids were entertained with the decorations. Service was good. My husband had the Philly sandwich was was really good. I ordered the shredded beef quesadilla which was not very good. Thought that it was little expensive for what you got.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JJKPeoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Food is excellent, service very good, fantastic "over the top" pizzas are their specialty, fresh salads, great burgers,servings are generous, cozy ambience

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A must stop when visiting Wausau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great food, friendly bartenders and waitresses, a really fun atmosphere. Be sure to try a side order of Italian fries with cheese in addition to your meal. My wife and I have always had great service. ps: the pizza is truly to die for.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Never again!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Terrible service.. Waited 40 minutes for 3 sandwiches and a medium rare steak and it wasn't busy at all. When I asked the waitress how much longer on our food, she was rude and snotty the rest of our time there!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wausau Mine Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing