We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool and fun place”

Wausau Mine Company
Ranked #6 of 162 Restaurants in Wausau
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Norway, Michigan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very cool and fun place”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to Wausau Mine. Although staff said it would be a long wait, we decided to stay and we were so glad we did. The atmosphere was very cool, with the cavelike feel in the dining room. Kids 12 and 15 thought it was a neat place and were able to find something they really liked on the menu. Pizza was very tasty. Reasonable prices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SkiRacingFamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    98
    52
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fun place with children”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We really enjoyed the place, great place to go with children, they will feel they have dinner in a cave. Everybody will be able to find a dish they like to eat. The bears were good as well, staff was very friendly. I gave it 4 stars because I like more healthier choices, but it was a great night. My children would love to go again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Experience”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

One of the places suggested when I asked at the front desk when we checked in. Short 20 minute wait on a Saturday at 6:15 was a relief, gave us time to walk around and check out the very unique restaurant. Italian fries were indeed nothing special, just pizza crust covered with cheese. Rest of the meal was very good, portions huge, if we weren't on vacation we certainly would brought leftovers home. Thing we were most amazed with was the prices, very affordable. Would definitely recommend and will go again the next time we come skiing in Wausau.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davwess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosinee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“lunch”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Love the atmosphere at Wausau Mine. I love the meatball and cheese sandwich. Don't like having to pay for extra sauce for my sandwich though.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Renee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The restaurant sounded interesting so we tried it. Ok atmosphere but food also just OK. Nothing special. Tons of cheese doesn't make up for little flavor. By the way, everyone rants about the Italian fries- it's just pizza dough with cheese and pizza sauce, again nothing special.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iliketoeateateat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wausau Mine Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing