We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jefferson Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is not a hotel to bring kids to, as the pool is hard to find and not worth swimming in once you find it. Rooms are spacious and service great. The restaurant, City Grill, has great desserts. Their mixed drinks are also excellent; they muddle them and make them from scratch. Located right next to the Art Block and the mall.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renny29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay! We appreciate your comments.

We look forward to you returning and enjoying the area there are many fun activities happening downtown this year.

All the best, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,088)
There are newer reviews for Jefferson Street Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,003 - 1,009 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

I've stayed at the Jefferson Street Inn many times in recent years. It's always been good. Always rated at or near the top of hotels in the Wausau area -- and rightfully so. But it's been about a year since I last visited, and therefore was absolutely astounded at the "tweaks" that have brought this lovely hotel to even new levels of excellence - -and I am not given to faux compliments. I stayed in what is called a "Premier Suite" - -dual fireplaces, soaking-Jacuzzi-like tub, mammoth king sized bed, separate room with pull-out sofa sleeper, full large fridge, stove, utensils etc. Fantastic. The listed cost per night as of July 2, 2012 came to $179.00 plus applicable taxes. Let me tell you, that as someone who has "traveled the world," there is no greater bargain for that price anywhere. Indeed in a major metro area- - such as NYC or L.A. that same type of room is going to run you a minimum of $500 per night, if not more -- and that's the truth. In addition the fabulous condition of the room, mammoth king sized bed, the ironing board, beautiful bathrobes, excellent coffee maker and supplies. But there's more. The Jefferson Street Inn (owned I BELIEVE in part by former NFL quarterback Dave Krieg - -and some investor consortium) has expanded on many levels - -lovely shops, condos for purchase, pool, sauna, whirlpool, workout area/room - -and the redone City Grill, is very beautiful. It's been newly decorated with all manner of wire and glass blown art- - all over the place. Lights- - walls - -very nice. And the food -- the only thing I ate this time was the complimentary continental breakfast: Wow! It's always been very good, but it has reached new levels. For instance I very much like the "health" aspect of the food, without sacrificing the "usual" - -sweet rolls, bagels etc. But when I see things like yogurt/granola/fresh fruit cups; fresh fruit stand-alone cups; hard boiled eggs; a varied offering of the "high end" health juices, I know that someone has given a lot of thought about it all. And yes, you can help yourself to fresh apples and oranges at the desk, coffee all the time, and an excellent new high-end computer in the lobby with a printer -- and the hotel offers FREE Wi-Fi.
All in all, I cannot too highly recommend the Inn. The service is nonpareil. It really is one of the best values and places I've had the pleasure of staying in, in years.

Room Tip: Upgrade to one of the Premier Suites. Worth the money.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldtimer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thank you for your kind words! We work hard to insure we pay attention to the details and are delighted you were pleased.

We look forward to you returning and enjoying the area!

All the best, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Jefferson Street Inn is the only place to stay in Wausau. The service is outstanding, they really have a way of making you feel like family. The location is convenient to shopping, hiking and dining. The rooms are truly luxurious while still being reasonably priced. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristin315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us and others. It is important to us to hear from guests to insure we are meeting and exceeding our guests’ expectations. We look forward to you coming back to Jefferson Street Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I stayed one night. Happened to get upgrade to suite. Fireplace was great but wish it had a timer, had to get up to turn off. The only other odd thing was the size of the shower. The rooms were huge and the shower was average to small. Another side tip, my GPS was very confused in Wausau. I had a hard time finding the hotel. I should have printed directions, I am just so depend on GPS, it never occurred to me. Hotel staff gave me directions to me business meeting which was great.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank palrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed three nights for a relaxing girl's weekend in Wausau--the idea was to get some peace and quiet, to go to the spa, to hang out in the hot tub, and to have some drinks. The hotel was lovely and quiet. The fan did run constantly in the room, but I appreciated the white noise, frankly. It was a little bit difficult to control the temperature, but fortunately the weather was lovely so we had the windows open often. The room was clean and spacious, the bathroom especially large and comfortable for a hotel. All the staff were very courteous and friendly. The pool and hot tub were empty when we were there, which was a huge plus for us--we had the whole area to ourselves! Breakfast wasn't anything to write home about, but there are many cute shops and restaurants within walking distance, so we definitely took advantage of that. The whole downtown area felt safe and peaceful. We did park in the ramp next door, and it was nice to put the cars away and not worry about them for a few days. Overall, a great weekend!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay! We have so much going on downtown this summer, hope you will return soon! All the best, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My family and I have stayed here several times. There are so many pluses...we liked the location. It's within walking distance to the mall and the very neat downtown. Wausau's 3rd Street is like Main street. Cute shops and fabulous restaurants. Go see Janke Book Store, which should maybe be renamed because its so much more than books. Also, pop into Evolutions floral. It, too, is way more than a florist shop! The Downtown Grocery is another cute little store that has really healthy options. If you are there on a Thursday in the summer, you might catch a band or other live performance on the City Square. There are several good eateries--the City Grill is part of the Jefferson Inn--good food and unique, but a bit pricey. The ambiance is terrific and even the plates are cool. Walk to Malarkeys Pub, The Mint Cafe or another choice is the Back When Cafe. Here you will get amazing food (try the sea bass if it's on the menu) really good wine and great service. You will get what you pay for!

The rooms are nicely decorated and clean. I personally liked the Aveda products in the bathroom. The sheets are a little scratchy, but the pillows and mattresses are comfy. Twice we were upgraded to bigger rooms--which was nice, but the standard rooms are spacious enough for four people (two adults and two tweens).

The fitness room and pool are not located near the sleeping area, so you have to walk through the hotel and other businesses to get there, Bring flip-flops and a towel! The pool is quite small, and I don't remember windows...I do remember it being kind-of dark.

We were really happy with the customer service. The staff is available and friendly and will have suggestions for things to do. Wausau is a great place. The Jefferson Inn is a great hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade--you may get it!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imtheglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at JSI! The entire staff is committed to a positive guest stay! We are also delighted to hear you enjoyed the downtown area, the shops you meant are all independently owned and operated and it shows, I will pass your comments on, which will mean a lot to them.
We look forward to having you back soon! All the best, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

The lobby of the Jefferson Street Inn is smallish, but very impressive. The hotel is clean and our room was spacious enough. The location is great for walking to the mall or other shops and restaurants nearby. Our only issue was in trying to adjust the heat. We stayed two days and it took until the second night to get the AC/heat at about the right temperature. The thermostat is not very accurate and the fans along the wall blow constantly. We couldn't find a way to shut them off. We had a banquet served to our group there which was quite delicious. The complimentary breakfast was on the skimpy side, so our tour leader organized a hot meal breakfast for us in a separate room on the second morning. Overall, this hotel is very clean, with comfortable beds and roomy bathrooms, in a great location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dikline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your positive experience at JSI!

The team works hard to ensure our guests enjoy their stay; we look forward to having you back soon!

All the best, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wausau hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stewart Inn
Stewart Inn
#3 of 11 in Wausau
42 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#7 of 11 in Wausau
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#4 of 11 in Wausau
306 reviews
3.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 11 in Wausau
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jefferson Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jefferson Street Inn

Address: 201 Jefferson St, Wausau, WI 54403-5428
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range: $157 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jefferson Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jefferson Street Inn is downtown Wausau's full service, luxury hotel featuring 100 suites and executive guest rooms. Pamper yourself in our warm, inviting surroundings. Unwind in your personal whirlpool bath, then slip into one of our cozy robes and relax on our pillow-top beds by the fireplace in your suite. Jefferson Street Inn is located in the heart of downtown Wausau, adjacent to the historic Washington Square shopping center. Jefferson Street Inn is a full service luxury hotel that offers sophisticated accommodations and suites, all rooms include microwaves, mini fridges, coffee makers with Starbucks coffee, Aveda amenities, large desk area and impeccable customer service. At Jefferson Street Inn, you'll enjoy a vacation in close proximity to Wisconsin attractions and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Jefferson Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jefferson Street Hotel Wausau
Jefferson Street Wausau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing