We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get up there and enjoy the awesome view!”

Rib Mountain State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Fantastic hiking trails with spectacular vistas and unique habitats, nature programs for the family, Summer concerts, and Winter snowshoe events. Reserveable shelters, and a beautiful outdoor event venue. Park concessions open daily during Summer season (Memorial Day weekend - Labor Day weekend), and weekends during Fall (through mid October) with gifts, snacks and more.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
milwaukee, wi
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Get up there and enjoy the awesome view!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is the 3rd highest peak in WI. However, it has the appearance of the highest. You can see Rib Mountain from over 20 miles away in some directions (from the west for sure) and over 40 miles away from a fire tower near Tomahawk. It also contains the longest downhill ski runs in the state - about 800 vertical feet.

I visited this park numerous times when I lived in Wausau and still do when I'm visiting. I used to run up it regularly, also because it's a good endurance test and it's such a peaceful place. After I moved from the area a new and improved road and paved trail were built all the way to the top.

Often locals park their cars at the bottom to walk up. Some of us try biking - another great workout with a fast coast on the way down. The views are great! The trails are enjoyable. For being right in the heart of Wausau, the park stays relatively quiet - good thing. Even when it is busy it is not overwhelming. If it feels that way, get out on a trail on the southern exposure. You should climb the observation tower. The view is one of the better ones in the midwest. Even the views that are not from the tower are pretty amazing.

Weddings have been held up there - but some have gotten very chili because it's colder up there than at the bottom. There should still be a little snack shop. You can camp there, also. Independence Day advice: don't go up there to watch the fireworks. You end up higher than them and far away, so you don't get much of the effect of them.

You need to pay a fee if you don't have a WI state park pass - unless you walk or bike in.

Overall, I highly suggest taking at least an hour or two to explore and relax up there. Enjoy the view!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingHwarang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    43
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to ski in the midwest.”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Always enjoy the trip to Granite Peak at Rib Mountain. Great terrain park for our snowboarders and plenty of groomed slopes for everyone else. Not bad vertical for the midwest.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vince Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Awesome views and exercise”
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Park has changed remarkably the past five years from the new roads and walking paths to the recently completed ranger station. We always park at the base of the hill and walk up to the main entrance. There is a fee to enter in a vehicle but no charge to walk in. We walk for the exercise not to avoid the fee however. I don't know how many miles of internal trails there are precisely, but at least 12. Many of the trails have vistas and other points interests like rock formations and an observation tower. During the summer months the snack bar is open at the top of the mountain. Its not bad and diffinately cheap on the snacks. If you go bring some bottled water. Getting water up there has been hit and miss. Some of the fountains didn't work and the vending machines can struggle with dollar bills.

Helpful?
Thank Wausau_WIWapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nekoosa, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“State Park shut down!?!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We took a motorcycle ride to see the fall colors and walk through the park to ride and also ride the ski lift. We were stopped at the top and asked to turn around as we were told that there were so many people in the park that they were closing it down for an hour. We turned around and went back down to go to Granite Peak only to be told that they had just shut the lift down at 4 p.m., about 15 minutes prior - the time it took us to drive from the top all the way down. They turned us away then we seen the "Paradise Limo Coach" and the bride and whole wedding party with guests all getting on the lift. Very disappointing!! We now knew why the park had shut down and the lift. Money talks and they were catering to weddings in the park. We had taken the weekend drive to take in the fall colors to go to the park and also ride the lift and it all revolved around these weddings, we seen 3 brides and their parties with guests getting out of a school bus, a small white coach and the large limo coach. Nice advertising!! What a joke. We weren't the only unhappy people!! There were many other bikes and other cars that had to turn around at the top. We later knew it revolved around wedding parties below being married in the park. We thought about being "on the bride's side" and the other cars and people said they'd be on the groom's.... What a waste - many people could've enjoyed the park and the ski lift.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank d s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hiking”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We ventured over to Wausau to check out the hiking at Rib Mountain. And we had at great day to do it. We enjoyed all the hiking trails (we did most of them), and the scenery was great. The only complaint I had was the trail marking was a little confusing. Other than that, it is an excellent park with a bunch of shorter trails, which are great with younger children.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank theriekkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rib Mountain State Park also viewed

 

Been to Rib Mountain State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing