We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nicely remodeled” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Wausau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Wausau
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very nicely remodeled”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

This Hampton was remodeled recently and the rooms are VERY nice. Lobby area is also nicely done. Staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is easy to get to off the interstate too. Close to Granite Peak Ski area too which is why we were there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbsinkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    105
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
154
83
23
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

We had 3 rooms for October 24, 2009. Although the hotel seemed to be full or nearly so, it was amazingly quiet. Our rooms were on the first floor with one immediately off the lobby and breakfast area. Yet, we could not hear noise from the adjacent busy areas or the adjoining room or footsteps overhead. We also were on the side nearest the Interstate and could not hear traffic or feel the vibration. All of our rooms were nicely appointed (albeit identical, right down to the cow print) and very clean. The staff was pleasant and helpful.

There were 13 people in our party, including children, and not one complaint. Well, there was one. The person last to shower at about 9:30AM said the water wasn't very hot.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marshmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, MO
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2009

Stayed here for an overnight trip. Clean, friendly, great breakfast. Easy to find, right off the interstate.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

Road construction is still an issue, but that is not something Hampton can change : ) and it's only temporary. For the summer of 2009 it might be worth checking directions with the hotel before you go there. Our stay was perfect. We liked the way the rooms have been redecorated, the beds were comfortable, breakfast fine, hotel staff pleasant and accommodating and we felt the rate was very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnKSt_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, WI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

Had a nice stay here. Everything was clean and orderly. However, difficult to get to if no somewhat familiar with area, as had road construction at approaching intersection. The breakfast was very good. Everything orderly and well stocked. Really liked the coffe available 24/7 in lobby.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank witnwisdom03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for two nights to attend a wedding in the area. I was pleasantly surpised with the rooms. Very spacious and the bathroom was really nice as well. There were some drawbacks..they do have a mini-fridge but no microwave and they do not even have a DVD player in the room. That would have been nice to have.
There is not alot of storage. You get 3 small drawers and a closet with some hangers. So you will live out of your suitcase if you are staying longer then a weekend.

The breakfast was really nice in the morning. Alot of fresh fruit and warm meals.

We unfortunately were staying while a Basketball tournament was going on. So, it was loud and the parents from the BB teams took all the fruit and put it in thier coolers, so unless you got there earlier then them...you were out of luck. The parents also were having a little mini-party in the lounge....being loud and drinking at night. My family from around the US were all staying here and we booked well in advance to make sure that we were all on the same floor..they put most of us on the 3rd floor and my mom was on the 1st, thier explanation was that they had overbooked and the BB teams won over the wedding party on staying together on the same floor.

I gave a good rating due to the fact that there will not always be a BB tournament and maybe the next time it will be quieter. I am giveing them the benefit of the doubt.

It was still a nice stay ...for 2 nights.

You are very close to the Interstate and other major attractions. Good location.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smiller376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2009

I stayed here 8 weeks in the fall of 2008. It is a nice hotel overall. It is close to the interstate but you have to wind around coming from the North to get there. The rooms have refrigerators but no microwaves which is a major drawback. The rooms have almost no storage space so you wind up living out of your suitcase. The staff is friendly especially Jen and Mary in the morning at breakfast. The free breakfast is awesome! The cleaning staff is so-so. The pool is nice and the business center is very convenient. The rate is pretty high ($85 corp rate) for the area so unless the client is paying it may be better to stay at a cheaper place.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank R0adWarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wausau
1.8 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 10 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#5 of 10 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 10 in Wausau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
6.4 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#6 of 10 in Wausau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Wausau

Property: Hampton Inn Wausau
Address: 615 South 24th Avenue, Wausau, WI 54401-5226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn of Wausau is a 100% smoke-free hotel, placed right in the heart of Wisconsin. We are located near several restaurants and only 10 minutes from downtown. While staying with us you will received a complimentary hot breakfast each morning, access to our indoor pool and whirlpool, our 24 hour business center and our 24 hour fitness center. We provide friendly service, clean rooms and comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Wausau Hotel Wausau
Wausau Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing