We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“State Basketball Tournament”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hampton Inn Wausau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Wausau
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
Wausau, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“State Basketball Tournament”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We were there with a basketball team along with other teams in the hotel. With all the 5th grade kids running around there, the customer service was still wonderful. We had a great experience while staying there. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your review and glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope the team will consider staying with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    106
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
154
84
23
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mishicot, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We were here for a weekend + of basketball along with 5 other teams. Although this would usually be considered a business-type hotel they were more than accommodating for all of us. The rooms were very clean and more than comfortable. The pool, although small for all the teams that were there was adequate. You and your staff should be proud of all smoothly everything was run, from breakfast, to the snacks left out Sunday afternoon. We really appreciated letting us extend our checkout a little bit Monday too.
Thanks and we will stay again!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you and the team have enjoyed their stay with us. We hope the team will consider staying with us again next year or if your family is coming to town, we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, WI, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Had nice extras...offered a do it yourself ski waxing kit (wasn't able to use this trip). Nice extra touches too. Cute rubber ducky in the bathroom when we got to our room. Staff was helpful and nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for your review and glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

The hotel seemed like a very old Hampton Inn. I have stayed at Hampton Inn before that are quite nice, typically the new ones. However, this one felt dirtier, the staff wasn't as pleasant, and the bed had very old comforters and pillows. I obviously came on the wrong day and stayed in the wrong room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina_red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Please contact Pa Lo at (715) 848-9700 to discuss about any issues during your stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

I am so impressed with the service I received from the staff at this hotel, I don't even know where to start. There were so many little extras I received during my 2 night stay that sets apart my experience here from even some of the full service hotels, and i'd like to share at least some of them. (1) Room check in: room check was in fast and efficient! It was a busy time at night when I checked in, and the girls at the desk (sorry, I don't remember both names, but I think one was Ka-Pong?) were incredibly professional yet cheerful and entertained all questions from the customer in line ahead of me with courtesy and respect, yet were still able to move customers along quickly yet not hurriedly. I remember thinking to myself "THIS is what great customer service looks like!" So kudos to the 2 young ladies at the front desk! (2) The room itself: clean, modern enough, no complaints. There was a little "gift" bag waiting for me, with a small hand written note (sorry, I lost the note!) and inside the bag was a variety of chocolate snack-sized candies - snickers, M&Ms, etc - and a bottle of Budweiser beer! A very nice touch! (3) Parking: I like how this hotel has designated spots for Diamond members…. I was not able to get one of these designated spots each time I parked but it is a great treat to use when it is available (4) Lost and Found: I left a pearl necklace behind when I checked out on Fri but did not realize it until Sunday night as I was packing to for my flight back to NY; when I got to work on Monday, there was a message on my work phone left the prior Friday about a necklace they found in the room; they asked me to call back to describe it and they offered to mail it to me via UPS mail at no charge!! I received it within a week. (Thank you, Nikki M. for taking so much care in wrapping my necklace!) (5) Breakfast: Breakfast was the usual Hampton Inn fare but the food areas were kept clean even during the busy times and there was always an employee present if something was needed. (6) Work out room: The work out room is a little small for my liking but this is not a huge property so what can you do? Still had a treadmill and elliptical and some weight stuff. Enough to do the job. >> All in all, I was really impressed with employee service and positive attitudes at this hotel. I travel on a monthly basis and honestly, sometimes I can't recall much about a place that I may have stayed the previous month, so all the little smiles and extras make this place stand out & I will remember my experience here. I have already referred some family members to stay here for an area basketball tournament and are to check in tonight -- I am confident they will have as positive an experience as I did. If I am ever in the area again -for work or personal reasons -- I will stay here again! Thanks, Hampton Inn Wausau!

Room Tip: Room #300 was at the end of a hall and was private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariel519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for a great review and so glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us. Here at the Hampton Inn, all staff members should and always will excede in customer service! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

This hotel continued our great experience with Hampton Inns. When you can get a room of this quality for the same price as many other hotels, i will stay here most any time. Their rooms are always very welcoming as well as their hotels and the staff. Quality breakfast as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for a great review and glad you have enjoyed your stay us. We will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Once again this Hampton Inn in Wausau, WI has provided excellent customer service. Michelle Yang the General Manager is polite, professional, and a role model for what a Hotel G.M. should be like. Pat the night shift customer care clerk is a great person. The entire staff is awesome. I highly recommend this hotel over others in Wausau. Forget Holiday Inn, of Jefferson Street Inn, both are terrible.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for a great review and glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us. We always look foward to seeing friendly faces and we will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wausau
1.8 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 10 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#5 of 10 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 10 in Wausau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#6 of 10 in Wausau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
6.4 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Wausau

Property: Hampton Inn Wausau
Address: 615 South 24th Avenue, Wausau, WI 54401-5226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn of Wausau is a 100% smoke-free hotel, placed right in the heart of Wisconsin. We are located near several restaurants and only 10 minutes from downtown. While staying with us you will received a complimentary hot breakfast each morning, access to our indoor pool and whirlpool, our 24 hour business center and our 24 hour fitness center. We provide friendly service, clean rooms and comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Wausau Hotel Wausau
Wausau Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing