We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tripadvisor shopper”
Review of Hampton Inn Wausau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Wausau
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Approaching Wasau (or however its spelled) we chose this hotel because of its high rankings and ease of parking for my trailer and atv vs. #2 in town. Also Hampton Inn had a better breakfast set up than the #2- a downtown location. I visited both before I checked in, both nice hotels. Wausau is a beautiful area! We ended up renting 2 rooms which the desk was able to put directly across from each other. The hotel is 6 minutes parking lot to parking lot to Granite Peak ski area. We could even sorta see the fireworks from our room new years eve! The elevator did quit working during check out new years day but was quickly fixed before noon. Also, Jessica at front desk was GREAT in allowing my family some flexibility in watching Gator Bowl in lobby-our nephew is QB for Georgia and I screwed up my timing to next stop at Eagle River TV set. Thanks Jessica for great communication and common sense!

Room Tip: Visit downtown!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shawn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for a great review and glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us! we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Wausau
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 466 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

My work takes me to Wausau about two or three nights a month, and this hotel is the one that wins most often.

Clean, comfortable, and from time to time the Manager surprises us with little events, treats in the Lobby. It's kind nice to sample a cold Wisconsin MicroBrew after a long day of work- on the house.

The breakfast hostess and Front Desk staff are always friendly and pleasant.

The hotel is in an area where there's a lot of new restaurants popping up. If you're a walker, all are within a short walking distance....or if you aren't, they're just around the corner....a four minute drive.

I've spent many, many nights here and have never been disappointed. Book early, they fill often.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gregg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for a great review and happy that we able to accomodate you during your business travels! We hope you are able to enjoy Wausau without any worries of work in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great hotel in a convenient location. Friendly staff, excellent breakfast and comfortable rooms. Only issue was frosty windows but it was very cold the couple nights we spent there, just turned up the heat. Nice pool and hot tub. Would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drurybunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for a great review! We are glad t hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Hampton in Wausau is very conveniently located near Granite Peak. The hotel is very clean, the breakfast is wonderful (they even pack breakfasts to go if you are too busy to eat there). There are snacks provided later in the day too! The employees are kind, polite, helpful and very courteous.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for a great reveiw and glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us! Come back and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Perfect location for skiing at Granite Peak. Nice room, good breakfast and very nice staff. Price and location cant be beat. Plenty of restaurants close by and only a five minute drive to Granite Peak for great skiing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Jim2553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for a great feedback and glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us! Come stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Quality and service are excellent. Great breakfast and snacks. Love the "bags to go"!!! Entire hotel was Very well kept. The staff were so nice. The hotel service staff who cleaned the rooms were always friendly and did a wonderful job. We stayed two nights and when they cleaned they arranged and set up the kids stuffed animals on the beds - it was really cool. Superior price!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for a great review! Here at the Hampton Inn in Wausau, all the staff always strive for excellence! We will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great hotel with nice staff. Only problem being that the hotel rooms are overheated and thus the air becomes very dry in Winter and it is difficult to get the temperature down ( to say 67F) via the room thermostat- without opening the window or using the A/C!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your reveiw and feedback. I do apologize about the incovinience of the rooms. Please ask the front desk next time your in town for a fan instead of using the A/C. We are glad to hear that you have liked your stay and will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wausau hotels
1.8 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
1,084 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#4 of 11 in Wausau
305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#7 of 11 in Wausau
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 11 in Wausau
249 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stewart Inn
Stewart Inn
#3 of 11 in Wausau
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Wausau

Address: 615 South 24th Avenue, Wausau, WI 54401-5226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range: $105 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn of Wausau is a 100% smoke-free hotel, placed right in the heart of Wisconsin. We are located near several restaurants and only 10 minutes from downtown. While staying with us you will received a complimentary hot breakfast each morning, access to our indoor pool and whirlpool, our 24 hour business center and our 24 hour fitness center. We provide friendly service, clean rooms and comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Wausau Hotel Wausau
Wausau Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing