We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn Wausau
Nearby Hotels
La Quinta Inn Wausau(Wausau)(Great Value!)
$79
La Quinta
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn & Suites Wausau(Wausau)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Wausau(Wausau)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Stewart Inn(Wausau)
$114
$110
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveler rating
340
127
29
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
340
127
29
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool toysfront deskbreakfast staffthe breakfast arearoom was cleanstaff was friendly and helpfulbusiness traveloff the highwaygranite peaknice hotelnice stayother hotelsgreat place to stayconvenient locationwould highly recommend this hotelnice breakfastcomplimentary breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
444 - 449 of 511 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a great hotel and proves its number #1 rating.

The rooms are modern and clean and as others noted, moderately szied. The breakfast (and especially the coffee) is top notch. The kids loved the variety, and as a parent, I loved the plethora of fresh fruits. The added bonus was during the weekdays there is a complimentary brown bag with snacks and water that you can take with you. This came in handy to avoid the overpriced food at Granite Peak.

The staff was always very pleasant and available. We had asked for a cot so that our two kids would not fight over the sheets, and the staff immediately responded to our request. Also, at breakfast, though the hotel being at capacity, the staff made sure that there was plenty of food, and replenished the coffee.

I would highly recommend this hotel (it is worth the extra $25-50 that you will over the other hotels.)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fastpast_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

We are so glad you have enjoyed your stay us and appreciate a great feedback. We will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This Hampton is a very clean, nice hotel. It is a pretty good location located near several restaurants. It is also very easy to get on/off the interstate.

We were there with a group and there were several other large groups there that same weekend. If I had a complaint it would be there is no gathering area. The groups tried to assemble in the lobby but it is extremely small and near rooms therefore its hard to keep the noise down. The night person was also not the most friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tcs122499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

We do invite everyone to share our lobby area. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you'll be staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is an older property located right next to the Interstate in Wausau. The hotel physically is in good shape, furniture is clean and in good shape, and is very quiet given the location.

Staff... the staff was friendly and checkin and indifferent at checkout. Therefore the staff get a 3.

I'm a Hilton Gold on the cusp of a Diamond. None of my reservation requests were honored. I was on the 2nd floor, and not the 3rd (top floor). While the hotel isolates exterior noise well, you hear everything going on above you. I ask to be away from the elevator and ice machine, they put me right next to it. Oh, and the spectacular view (see photo). If this is how they treat regular Hilton customers, I'd certainly hate to be a Priceline or other blind purchase customer.

My final complaint is the breakfast area. It is super small. This hotel attracts a lot of families on the weekends. The breakfast area was a zoo, almost impossible to even navigate to get a cup of coffee it is so small and congested.

Nothing special to see here. There are better options in Wausau.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jra3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear JRA3,
We apalogize for the inconvenience during your stay. Please feel free to call Pa at (715) 848-9700 to discuss further details. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stay here often. Rooms are very clean, beds are comfortable, and the breakfast is good. The only issue is the breakfast area is small - so if it is busy you have to take the food back to your room. Property well maintained and the staff is very friendly. Location is good - close to hwy 51.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We will be looking for options in the future about expanding our breakfast area. We are glad you visit us often and will keep seeing you! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked 2 rooms in mid-March for a 2 family weekend ski getaway at Granite Peak. The rooms were average size but very clean and modern. As usual with Hilton Hotels, we were very pleased with the service/staff. We were greeted with treats when we checked in and our kids even got another round the next day. Hotel is close to restaurants and the ski hill. Pool area is pretty small but nice nonetheless, although was strong chlorine smell that hurt the eyes a bit. Nice workout room. Very good value!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bravotango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmoua, General Manager at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Bravotango
Thank you for your feedback! We are thrilled to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant experience. We look forward to seeing you again!

Nikki Moua
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews