We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal”
Review of Courtyard Wausau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Wausau
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very quiet. Front desk very helpful, gave me a great deal since they were slow. Room was clean. The Great Dane restaurant next to the hotel was quite good too. Excellent stopover on our Lake Superior tour.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank MichiganBenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 137 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

I don't think I've ever found a group of staff where absolutely everyone was friendly and accommodating. That was very refreshing; collectively the best I've experienced.

The rooms are nice and clean. I remember coming here several years ago when they were brand new, so there is a slight bit of age shown on some of the furnishings, but still very comfortable. The rooms are amazingly quiet whether you're on the freeway side or not. Everything was in good working order and they do their absolute best to honor any requests whether it be room type, microwave or what ever needs you have.

This is my home away from home! I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKLMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

AMAZING! From the convenient location, cleanliness and decor all the way to the superb rooms, delicious food and AWESOME STAFF!!!

This was a stay for a wedding we were a part of and it turned into so much more. I have never ever ever met a staff more friendly, accommodating and efficient, and we travel a lot. From check-in, to check-out, even just passing through the lobby.

The bistro made an EXCELLENT breakfast, that surprised us completely!!!!!! I could go on and on, but you need to experience it yourself if you get the chance to stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the parking lot, as the courtyard side faces the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichellesCharmWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night for business. It looked like the hotel lobby had been recently renovated with modern and polished look. There are many comfortable seating areas equipped with TV and electronic plug-ins. However, my room was not as nice - dated furniture and carpet. The worst part - the bathtub did not drain. I finished my shower in ankle-deep water in the bathtub - not a very pleasant experience! I don't think I am going to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bwang20874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

While traveling in Wausau for business we stayed at the Courtyard. The room had 2 queen size beds and a sleeper sofa, the room was very clean and the staff was excellent. No matter the time the staff was always cheerful. Breakfast was nice as it was made to order food instead of buffet. I did notice that there was also dinner served in the evenings however we ate out. I would recommend this Courtyard to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jitterbug_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The staff at the Courtyard Wausau was amazing. Everyone from the front desk to housekeeping exceeded our expectations. It was a last minute trip. We arrived early and they were able to get us a room right away. It really made the start to our weekend getaway a perfect one. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: We were up on the third floor. The room was large, clean and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We got a 2nd floor, double queen (NOT full-sized beds, but QUEENS) room. Spacious for a family of four, with 2 small kids. Beds were VERY comfy, room was clean and everything was in good working order. It had a good-sized flat screen TV...... Staff was top notch, from the guys who checked us in late in the evening, to the waitress in the restaurant... Speaking of the restaurant, it was recently remodeled and has a tasteful, modern look to it....The swimming pool was on the small side, but definitely serviceable---our boys had a great time... The pool/hot tub area was CLEAN, well maintained and well stocked with towels.... In fact, the entire hotel looked well maintained, including the grounds.... In nice weather, the courtyard, which is attached to the pool area, looked like a great space to relax and enjoy the weather....

The hotel is located just off the US-51 freeway, and our west-facing room faced the highway, yet we heard hardly any noise.... The windows do actually open, so if you like to sleep with the windows open, you might wanna consider an east-facing room.... BUT, they did a pretty good job of concealing much of the roadway by strategically planting trees and shrubs to mask it... Of course, this is a moot point in winter time, when the foliage is gone, but then you might actually get a glimpse of Rib Mountain..... Also, the location appeared to be in a safe area of town, with a few business/corporate properties nearby, along with a few other chain hotels....

We had a breakfast voucher, which was nice to have as the room was a bit on the pricey side... My french toast was pretty good, but not the best i've ever had (which would be my toast)....

Not much to complain about except the fact that it's near the freeway, there was no fridge in the room, and the room and food prices were a bit pricey (if you don't have a voucher)..... But other than that, for business or vacation travelers alike, i would recommend the Courtyard Marriott in Wausau, WI.

Room Tip: West faces the freeway and Rib Mountain, east faces town and a few corporate buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StrangeTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wausau
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
484 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
1,138 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#9 of 11 in Wausau
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#4 of 11 in Wausau
323 reviews
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau
2.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Wausau

Address: 1000 S 22nd Ave, Wausau, WI 54401-5221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range: $134 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Wausau 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Courtyard Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Wausau Hotel Wausau
Wausau Courtyard
Wausau Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing