We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over cooked & disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olive Garden

Olive Garden
Ranked #22 of 159 Restaurants in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Medford, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
140 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Over cooked & disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Typically I don't walk away from Olive Garden disappointed, but this time the meal was over cooked noodles and not so great. The best thing I had was the Italian soda. The server was attentive but unfortunately if you don't have good food the place is sunk. I don't think I would go back to this Olive Garden.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    31
    21
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Lunch treat while visitin Wisconsin!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I recently went back to my hometown of Merrill to visit my family. We had to make sure to visit one of our favorite restaurants while we were there! My husband, my mom, and I went to Wausau on errands and stopped for lunch at Olive Garden. My husband got the Stuffed Chicken Marsala, I had Chicken, Bacon, and Shrimp Carbonara, and Mom had the Soup, Salad, and Breadsticks. LOVE the breadsticks and Salad! Both of the entrees were delicious and very filling. Our server, Noah B. was very attentive and friendly. All of the staff were smiling and very friendly. Would definitely recommend this Olive Garden to anyone.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beaslyliss2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
1 review
“What a mess!! Terrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Went here with my wife for a night out, did not see managers walking around or helping servers because they sat in the bar area and watched the football game the entire time we were their!!! The server was helpful as much as she could be but noticed another table of a couple who had been sitting for 15 minutes with their waitress no where to be found! Very poor leadership skills here! The select few servers that were actually working were very over whelmed and busy due to lack of help/communication from their own managers!! Food was ok took a bit. Will not go back until new managers are hired!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dontbother2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosinee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Take Out Food Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I've eaten at Olive Gardens all over the United States. My wife's favorite restaurant. But we never had take out from them. Thought we'd give it a try as we didn't want to eat in. What a pleasant experience. Food was ready on time. On-line menu did help in ordering. When we got home we found two huge salads with croutons and dressing separate. Bread sticks. Two very nice entrees. I'd certainly do this again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gerald k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
286 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

What we've come to expect from Olive Garden. Good food, large portions, and good service. The location was convienent to the hotel and we were seated quickly even on a busy night.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nursetraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olive Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing