We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful birthday dinner”

Carmelo's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 162 Restaurants in Wausau
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Oliva family and dedicated staff welcome you to Carmelo's. Established in October of 1986; three generations strive to provide a family atmosphere and fine dining experience. Enjoy!
Marathon, WI
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful birthday dinner”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was my first visit to Carmelo's!! We had a relaxing birthday dinner for my sister. Carmelo's is a great blend of high class food, relaxing atmosphere and a beautiful view of Rib Mountain. The restaurant fits your needs no matter what - you could be just off the golf course, dinner before prom (many prom students were dining the night we ate there), casual family dinner event or formal night out. The food was exceptional! The wine and beverages were very tasty. We also had my 19 month old niece with us and the waitress was so patient with us and the baby - everyone was sweet and friendly. I will definitely be visiting again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HTCWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas O, Public Relations Manager at Carmelo's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, nice environment”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Dinner was very good, the the service was good as well. The only downside was that the side salad was brown and not good.

Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas O, Public Relations Manager at Carmelo's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your dinner and the service. I'm sorry the salad wasn't as fresh as it should have been. We have changed the lettuce we use in our salads, so this shouldn't happen in the future. Thanks again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good Service & Inexpensive Great Food”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Carmelos has been around for ever but never fails to provide a good Italian meal. The food is inexpensive and the drinks are well poured. The ravs are the best. The fish fry is great but it can be crowded on Friday nights.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RibMountain60370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas O, Public Relations Manager at Carmelo's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the great comments! We appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best Fish in Wausau”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is a terrific spot. If you go on a Friday night, either get there early, or be prepared to wait at the bar. Typically the wait time is over an hour on Friday nights, and they don't accept reservations. The wait time goes by quickly with their friendly bartenders and lively atmosphere.

The food is fantastic. Many of the dishes are homemade, including their chicken lasagna which is excellent. We have never had a meal here that we didn't like. They are probably best known for their pan fried fish on Wednesdays and Fridays.

The restaurant is a bit tired and could use a refresh, but the view makes up for it. In the summer, you look out onto the golf course. In the winter, the ski hill is lit up and is a beautiful view from the restaurant.

Give Carmelo's a try, you won't be disappointed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BadgerFan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas O, Public Relations Manager at Carmelo's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Excellent fish fry. The service and food is always excellent. It has a great view of Rib Mountain and Wednesday and Friday fish fry is always excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gessjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas O, Public Relations Manager at Carmelo's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for the great comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmelo's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Carmelo's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing