We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to eat”

The Great Dane Pub and Brewing Co. Wausau
Ranked #4 of 162 Restaurants in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice place to eat”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

nice place to eat, has a micro brewery so you get a different taste of beers. There is a outside patio in the summer and there is often music on weekends.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    117
    55
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great beer, friendly staff.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

My family regularly dines at The Dane. They have a unique menu that is frequently updated. Cheese curds are delicious. They have a gluten-free menu and vegetarian options.
The facility boasts two full bars and plenty of table seating for families. Outdoor seating is available when the weather is nice. One of the few places in the area that consistently has live music.
Late night Fridays they generally have a DJ (personally, I could do without that).
Who doesn't love a shuffleboard table?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarLil1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“POOR SERVICE”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Very poor service. Staff treat you like you dont matter and they do not value you as a customer. The beer is not very good and the drinks are very over priced. There are many other resturants in Wausau that are better. Try the City Grill downtown, its amazing or RedEye.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kennychesney2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a friendly relaxed setting”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We visited old friends who took us out to dinner at the Great Dane- we all had a great time and a wonderful dinner. All of us enjoyed our meals and appetizers as well as the beers. Great cheese curds and good variety of food for everyone including the two year old in our party. Would go again and try something else great on the menu.

Helpful?
1 Thank rediguanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waupaca, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“3 out of 3 visits were not good”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have gone to The Great Dane Pub & Brewing Company in Wausau 3 times and each time it was not a great experience. First of all we went there for the beer and then the food They had a great selection on the board, but they were out of the first 4 we asked for. This happened all three visits. It went like this for the beer: "We will have your IPA listed on the board." . Waitress comes back after a very long time and says "We are out of that". So we choose another beer and after an equally long wait the same thing happens "We are out of that". After a few times of this we ask "What do you have?" and she doesn't know. After another really long wait we finally have a list we can actually choose from. This scenario repeats itself with the food. By the time we get our beer, we have all finished our water. And forget getting a second beer. It seems like once you are served they forget about you and they were not very busy. The beer was fine but the food was less than mediocre. The Great Dane in Madison is awesome, so this was been a great disappointment. The service was very very slow. We seriously wanted to leave the money on the table for the beer and leave.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Dane Pub and Brewing Co. Wausau also viewed

 

Been to The Great Dane Pub and Brewing Co. Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing