We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Eloise's Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plaza Hotel and Suites
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Not Eloise's Plaza”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Wausau - a place where nothing ever really happened and nobody really famous ever came from. However, Wausau is where the Northwoods begins so you may need to stay there sometime. The Plaza is not as bad as the reviews indicate, but if you are looking for something halfway modern, this ain't it.

I stayed here for a conference on June 19, 2013. My room was large but other than the bathroom, it obviously hadn't been remodeled since it's heyday back in the 80s, or 70s, or perhaps the 60s. Nor was the bed particularly comfortable.

Although the hotel was extremely tired looking, it did have a sort of kitschy charm to it. The rooms all had large windows next to the door in the style you would find at a 1950s motel. Except instead of looking out onto a parking lot, the window look out into an inner courtyard with an indoor pool that had a large frog in it. Bizarro. On top of that, the conference rooms all had numerous cheap looking crystal chandeliers.

As I mentioned, the place wasn't as horrifying as some of the other reviews paint it. But then again, even Eloise's pet turtle, Skipperdee, probably wouldn't stay here a second time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason_Klimowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    25
    29
    52
See reviews for
39
19
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed for a genealogy conference. The conference rooms were fine, great spacing of chair rows. Breakfast was terrible over the weekend - Friday morning breakfast included sausages, scrambled eggs, waffles. Saturday and Sunday mornings were small muffins and donuts, no hot items at all. Coffee was out on Saturday morning and the young man needed to be told that it was out. Front desk clerk was dealing with check-ins and phone calls with no back up staff. Check-out on Saturday morning at least had two staff working the front desk.
The exhaust fan in the bathroom did not work. The door bottom had been shaved/planed until the spacing on the lock side was over 2 1/2". Needless to say, my door alarm slid right under the bottom of the door, which didn't do much for my peace of mind at night. Single elevator with no real option of using the stairs. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmom15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for
Presidents' Day weekend to go skiing at granite peaks (our favorite Midwest ski resort) the rooms were small, you had to step behind the bathroom door to shut it. The beds were very uncomfortable. The breakfast was a joke and when it ran out, they didn't Do a good job refilling. But the worst thing was the cleaning staff. When we got back from the slopes our door had been left open a crack, cleaning supplies were left in our stuff and the a/c had been turned on and our room was an ice box. Not what you want to come back to after being out in the cold all day. The manger was apologetic, but that was about all. She did offer a free night stay, but I would take it (would never come back).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wausau hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because everywhere else was booked for the two days we wanted. The decor and carpet on last leg but fine to us. The cigarette smoke coming thru the vents was not. All our things reeked. The bed was hard and noise was crazy on first floor. We asked to switch rooms and got one without the smoke but carpet peeled up in areas and another uncomfortable bed. Would not stay here again especially for $109/night! This is worth $80 best case.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4theluvOcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, WI
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

What we were looking for: a hotel with a pool and hot tub, a shuttle to / from Granite Peak, and a clean room that allows pets.
What we got: a pool and hot tub that is in the middle of the property and closes at 10 - they were quite rigid about this, due to the nature of the layout - rooms opened up to this area. The problem here, however, is that other properties in the area often have 24 hour pools. Also, they didn't stock towels adequately, with people often having to wait for a towel to dry off.
We called the property before booking because they advertise that they offer a complementary shuttle to / from the ski area - this was a key point in spending a little more money for this hotel versus others, so we didn't have to call a cab. Once there, however, they changed their tune - the shuttle would end service at 1:00 PM!!!!! What? This was a key reason we booked this hotel!!!
The room clearly doesn't get rented out often unless they are at peak occupancy, because there were no towels in the room, the refrigerator wasn't on, and the room was cold (heat had to be drastically adjusted). At least the room was clean (or so we thought) and the bed was semi-comfortable. However, when making up the bed after the first night, I noticed TRASH along the bottom edge of the bed frame that wasn't ours!

Overall, skip this facility until they make some major changes in their service and are actually honest in the amenities they sell you on (i.e. shuttle service). Their competitors beat them hands down - we should have stayed at the Super 8 and taken a cab to Granite Peak!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pad_lake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Saw other reviews, mostly negative on this place, and I am not sure what the complaints are about. This is not a Ritz Carleton or some nouveau chic hotel. Went there for skiing at nearby Granite Peak. The rooms (in the tower) were clean, and relatively sound-proof. Sure, they could have used a little updating, but there wasn't anything horrible about them. The beds were comfortable. The hot tub was working, and it was very large and spectacular, and accompanied by a large pool and a small kids pool. (At the nearby Hampton, or Courtyard Marriott, their hot tubs/pools are small and cramped.) The continental breakfast was average. Nothing hot, except waffles -- no eggs or bacon -- but so what? Have you ever had really great eggs at one of those places? The only thing that went wrong was our clock radio in the room wasn't working, but they immediately replaced. I've stayed at other places in Wausau, and for the money, this was by far the best. Remember, people -- this is Wausau, not New York or Chicago.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

but it getting a bit worn around the edges... Our room was clean and it was quiet. We attended a conference and they had a lot of large meeting rooms. The banquet food was good and the staff were very pleasant. There is plenty of parking and the hotel is located in a handy area. The restauarant was open on Saturday night and the bar was open other nights. The pool and hot tub were fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scamperaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wausau hotels
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#7 of 11 in Wausau
286 reviews
3.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
1,057 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 11 in Wausau
245 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#6 of 11 in Wausau
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel and Suites

Property: Plaza Hotel and Suites
Address: 201 N 17th Ave, Wausau, WI 54401-4224 (Formerly the Ramada Inn)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Plaza Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Wausau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing