We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of City Grill

City Grill
Ranked #7 of 161 Restaurants in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The City Grill is where you can get a good steak but don't need to dress up to eat it. Housed in the beautiful downtown Wausau, it's a revolving door of locals seeking fine dining in a trendy atmosphere decorated in local art. The City Grill hosts live music once a week and is a great place to take a date, meet friends for appetizers or just watch the game with friends. And while the fillets and martinis taste top dollar, we promise they won't empty your pocketbook. In addition, City Grill offers banquet facilities, located on the 2nd floor of building. Our professional planners will help you choose the hall to accommodate your guests and will help you plan a personalized reception or meeting. Whether hosting 2 guests or 400, the City Grill & Jefferson Street Inn is the perfect venue for corporate events, board retreats, holiday parties, rehearsal dinners, showers, gift openings and brunches. Our personalized service ensures that every detail is carried out according to your specific taste and style.
Baileys Harbor, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had dinner and drinks several times throughout the weekend. The food was very good and the drinks quite yummy!! Staff was always friendly and smiling!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    33
    18
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We didn't know it, but most places are closed in Wausau on Sundays- since we were staying at Jefferson Street Inn, we went out our first night and didn't even have to leave our hotel for dinner the next night. The NCAA tournament was on so we were able to sit at the bar and have a very nice meal by ourselves! It was perfect! We both had filets (bartender recommendation) and the meal exceeded our expectations. We would definitely visit again--

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam-859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
128 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Have the filet!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Various dishes offer the filet alone or as a combo with seafood. 4 of 5 of us had a filet, which was so tender, I could have cut it with the fork. I ordered the one with sea bass; green beans and asparagus al dente hit the spot; served over risotto. Well-seasoned. I cleaned out the plate! Had the hazelnut chocolate cheesecake for dessert, which was served looking like a scoop of ice cream in a martini glass; the cheesecake was so smooth, it had the texture of ice cream; super yummy. The server forgot to bring my coffee with the dessert and when I pointed that out, she brought it piping hot and didn't charge for it. On top of that, it was all reasonably priced for steaks and wine. It was Tuesday night and the place was hopping!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

The food was excellent and so was the service. The drinks were a very good pour and priced very reasonably.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pulpwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food & open late”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at Jefferson Street Inn and ate at City Grille two times: First night, Friday, because it looked good and we didnt feel like an adventure after 4.5 hours driving; Sat night, because by 9:45 PM all the other kitchens in reasonable walking distance were closing up. Good wine by glass list, good selection of local beers (and others), great petite filet steak with hawaiian seabass, quite good (though maybe cooked a bit too long) beef shortrib sous vide. Poached pear salad has asparagus tempura and a citrus dressing - oddly pleasing and unique. Believe the kitchen is the same for the Grille and room service. Worth it, either way!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank citykir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing