We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced!”
Review of Rib Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rib Mountain Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Wausau B&B and Inns
Forest Park, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Old drafty building with paper-thin walls! Everyone was extremely rude to us from the moment we got there. A smoke alarm was beeping in the hallway right outside our door and I called to have them fix it, they did not. We still drove to the slopes every day so it makes better sense to stay at a much nicer place in town for half the cost! I will definitely be back to ski at Granite Peak but I will be staying somewhere else. RIP OFF!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ROED9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    14
    6
    6
    8
See reviews for
18
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Old dump! WAY over-priced. Paper thin walls and LOUD. Can find much better accommodations less than 3 miles away for nearly HALF the price. Walk to slopes entirely over- rated. Staff practically incompetent. Cancelled "half" my reservation without cause or confirmation. Completely unreliable, unhelpful and rude! Phil the manager could not run a trailer park let alone an Inn. You have been warned!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank World T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letsgonow333, Director of Sales at Rib Mountain Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
In all honesty the gentleman booked for four days and then decided to cancel. We advised him that due to the late cancellation we would try and rebook the room for him. We re-booked the unit for 2 of the nights and informed him as such. After he arrived his friends were also staying but they were staying for all 4 days. He then wanted to stay all 4 nights. Phil informed him we had already re-booked the 2 other nights and we had no other rooms available. While we are sorry he couldn't stay longer with us, we had no choice but to honor the other reservation. We are a small hotel and over the holidays ie. New years eve it can be loud. Again sorry for the noise.

Sincerely,
Rib Mountain Inn stafff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wausau hotels

Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in a VIP room in the main lodge. The room was clean. The walls are a bit thin. We could hear the person next door snoring and we could hear the family below us. The bathroom was clean with plenty of towels. The shower head had too much water pressure which made washing your face in the shower a bit of a challenge (better than too little pressure!). The bed was ok - we got the last available room, so we had 2 double beds. A double bed is a bit small for 2 people. I am not sure if the size of the bed was the issue or if the mattress was not good - we woke up sore each morning. The heater was a bit difficult to control (it was a standard heat/ac unit you find in hotel rooms - should be easy to use) and was loud. We would be very warm all evening with the temp set at 66. In the morning when we would wake up we would be freezing with the temp set to 66. The heater would wake us up each time it kicked on during the night.

The place is a very short walk to the ski lodge. The walk is a quick walk through trees, across a parking lot, then to the ski lodge. The walk is 5 minutes at a SLOW pace. This point was a huge win for us.

The outdoor hot tub was GREAT! We were fortunate to enjoy sitting in it while snow was falling at night.

The breakfast was good... but we had trouble getting food. The place was packed and the food went fast once it was put out. There are not enough tables for the number of people that came for breakfast. We ended up taking food to our room a couple mornings.
We did like all of the food and the coffee.

The hotel is a bit pricey. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay in the main lodge to have easy access to the spa and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Way overpriced. Paper thin walls. Loud obnoxious guests with lots of yelling until after midnight though quiet hours were supposed to start at 10pm. No one available to help out as front desk closed at 10pm. Room was wet and moldy.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Halomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My family rented a townhouse through VRBO to accommodate all of our siblings and relatives for a Christmas Day get together in lieu of several hotel rooms. We needed a place to host dinner for 14 people in our home town and as there were no restaurants open, this place served us perfectly. While the daily rate is rather high compared to a hotel, considering what a restaurant would have cost for this many people, it is not unreasonable. With three spacious bedrooms (w/ adjoining small bathrooms), a large living room and an open kitchen set up, there was plenty of room for all though we did need to bring our own card tables and chairs as well as additional plates and silverware.
There is breakfast included at the hotel across the street which was above average, as well as a hot tub outdoors, which we did not use. All things considered, we had a great family holiday and will be renting this place again next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My family made reservations two weeks prior to our one day ski trip. We decided to try this place in spite of the many posts about poor staff and bad service, because it was close by the hill and seemed convenient.

The day of the trip it was actually raining the entire day. I called the hotel at 3 pm and was told that I would be charged a $30 cancellation fee. Given that I was late in canceling, I felt this was acceptable and agreed, and we decided to drive home instead of staying the evening, and save a few bucks for another stay in the future when the conditions were better.

Now two weeks later, I still have the full amount ($130) of the room on my credit card. I called to ask about removing the charge and replacing it with the $30 cancellation fee. ‘Josh’ told me that the hotels policy was to charge the first night at the time of the reservation and the $30 cancellation fee only applies if the reservation is cancelled 30 days prior to the date.

After talking to him, it was very apparent that I was out the money and they were not going to do anything about it.

Wausau has many, many other places to stay that are near the ski hill that have better accommodations, breakfast included, and with a pool area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Reserved a condo for 3 nights and it easily sleeps a very large group - 3 bedrooms (1 being the Master bedroom) with a double bed and a basement room with 2 double beds (and it own bathroom) and a fold out couch. Continental breakfast across the way and a path right to the slopes. Condo comes with enough equipment to make meals (may need more plates etc. if you have more then 10 people though) and a wood burning fireplace with a garage. Nice stay and very comfortable. Enjoyed our time for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhundt67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wausau hotels
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
455 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
1,061 reviews
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#6 of 11 in Wausau
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#7 of 11 in Wausau
291 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 11 in Wausau
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rib Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rib Mountain Inn

Property: Rib Mountain Inn
Address: 2900 Rib Mountain Way, Wausau, WI 54401-9281
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rib Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a one-of-a-kind boutique HOTEL and Inn nestled in the beautiful Northwoods of Wausau, Wisconsin, just steps away from the highly acclaimed Granite Peak Ski Area and Rib Mountain State park, where the luxury of an upscale bed-and-breakfast are combined with the convenience of a resort hotel. With Woodburning fireplaces in every room, thoughtful amenities and impeccable service, Rib Mountain Inn/ Granite Peak Lodge promises an exciting experience that you won't find anywhere else. Enjoy our extended stay options or nightly hotel. Outdoor Hot tub 14 person On golf course and Ski hill remodeled in 2015 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Rib Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rib Mountain Hotel Wausau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing