We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aways a great stay”
Review of Super 8 Wausau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Wausau
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
293 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Aways a great stay”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Im sorry to hear that Brian B did not have a pleasant experience but I can assure everyone that I have been staying here for about 7yrs now while in the area on business and the hotel has a great staff! Nick the GM is outstanding and maybe if it was brought to Nicks attention he would have been able to help out Brian B. The hotel has gone thru many changes in the years that I have been coming here and they just keep getting better every time I show up! Great Job!!! Also within walking distance to may resturantes.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N P, General Manager at Super 8 Wausau, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Good Morning Brent, The fact that you “will only stay at this hotel” speaks volumes to the staff here at the Super8 Wausau, WI. You have paid us a tremendous compliment. Thank you so much for your patronage, and for being a part of the Super8 family. Our staff work very hard to ensure the happiness of each guest. Your comments are a great reward for the hard work set forth. We look forward to the next time we welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    197
    81
    54
    36
See reviews for
199
92
51
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had to have someone at Aspirus Hospital for surgery the day after a winter storm. Beds perfect, pillows perfect, climate controlled rooms perfect, staff perfect. And the breakfast! Great haven off the treacherous roads. Whirlpool and pool were great relaxation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hodagtraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N P, General Manager at Super 8 Wausau, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Good afternoon and thank you so much for your praise! Our happy, friendly staff are essential to the Super8. We would not be who we are without them! Thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Wausau but not for any medical reason but for pleasure. Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2014

very dissapointed first i was told i could check in around noon becuase i had a wedding to attend at 3:00 i wasnt able to check in until after 2:00 next my brother got the same room for 30.00 dollars cheaper and we booked at the same time.my other brother was charged 10:00 more then me.all got the same style room.this room was not worth 102.00 dollars. we could not turn the heat down.the room was 90 degrees all night.i wish i would have stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N P, General Manager at Super 8 Wausau, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for rating our hotel and providing your comments. We take great pride in Guest Service and Customer Satisfaction. Although it is our goals to meet the needs and expectations of each and every guest we serve, we realize that a few of our guests may not be completely vowed.

Regarding your rates we change our rates depending on our occupancy. When we have low occupancy we offer more discount and our rate is also low. When we start filling up we increase our occupancy and we lower our discount. Next time if you want every one at same rate please book as a group and we offer everyone low rate depending on the volume of your rooms.

Also regarding the early check in we do let our guest know that its never a guarantee if our rooms are clean we will allow you to check in and we did allow you to check in around 2:00 pm as our regular check in time is any time after 3:00 pm.

We apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Please rest assured and know that we will go above and beyond and do everything in our power to make it right and earn back your respect, trust and business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wausau hotels

Exeland, Wi
Level Contributor
152 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Our room and entire hotel were very clean and well kept. There was a large group of young skiers checking in at the same time. The desk clerk assured us that we would be far away from the noise and we were! It was extremely quiet all night. Nice hotel. Our second stay and will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N P, General Manager at Super 8 Wausau, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us again and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast, location, and clean hotel. Our staff works very hard to ensure that our hotel is kept up, and that guests are warmly invited in. We look forward to your next stay in Wausau. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Don't book this hotel during the weekend after Christmas. There is some wrestling tournament in the area and this is where the wrestlers stay. Teenaged boys everywhere, but mostly under control. Forget about the free breakfast in the morning and walk across the parking lot (where you couldn't get a spot the night before because of the buses and other guests who can't park right) to McDonald's and save yourself the frustration of no guest seating and watery waffle batter. Staff, although overworked and understaffed, were courteous and friendly. Pool was loud and crowded...no room in hot tub after skiing because families with small children using it for a kiddie pool.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ScubaGiggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N P, General Manager at Super 8 Wausau, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Good morning ScubbaGiggi. I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am terribly sorry to hear that your experience was not what you expected. We do absolutely everything in our power to try and mitigate any issues that may arise especially during our holiday times. I hope that you would choose to stay with us again and allow us the opportunity to impress you with our hospitality and attention to detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wausau hotels
3.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#7 of 11 in Wausau
278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
1,045 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 11 in Wausau
244 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#6 of 11 in Wausau
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Wausau

Property: Super 8 Wausau
Address: 2006 Stewart Ave, Hwy 51/I-39, Hwy 29 & 52, Wausau, WI 54401-5389
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Wausau 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated motel located in a thriving service section of Wausau. We are close to many restaurants, recreational areas and shopping centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Wausau
Wausau Super Eight
Wausau Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing