We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waupaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crystal River Inn B&B, LLC
Ranked #2 of 8 Waupaca B&B and Inns
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful B&B”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

The Crystal River Inn is really everything a Bed and Breakfast should be. Tucked away in the lovely community of Rural just outside Waupaca, this B&B is close to everything and nothing all at the same time! If you want to go hiking, biking, or paddling, or want to visit great restaurants, it's all located nearby. But if you want to hide away and read or just relax and look out on the Crystal River, you can do that too! The Inn itself is beautiful, and the hosts are marvelous--extraordinarily helpful and a treat to talk to! Plus, the food is delicious and the prices are great!
We'll most certainly be back!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great--we stayed in Helen's Summer room, which I think is the prettiest, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GKate099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
43
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bay view
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Crystal River Inn, Waupaca (Rural), Wisconsin during the John Muir Chapter's Autumn Assembly. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Our hosts, Deb and Robert, were warm, friendly and good cooks (both breakfasts were suburb). We will definitely stay here again when in the area and highly recommend the Crystal River Inn. Take the time to walk around the grounds of the Inn and look at the prairie areas, and be sure to walk around Rural and see the historic homes and Crystal River. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WARMSPRINGSROAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistique, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

This quaint B&B is located in a beautiful, restful, historic community of Rural. The Crystal River, more like a babbling creek, meanders through the tree shaded yard and around the neighborhood. There were several places on the property to sit and listen to pleasant country sounds, but for our trip it was too cool. Our spacious room with king bed had a fireplace, large whirlpool and spacious bath with shower. There was a screened porch at our room entrance and if warmer we would have left the door open at night to hear the wonderful water sounds. Breakfast was tasty - loved the taste of their bacon and the way the delicious garden fresh zucchini was prepared. I would love to live here or at least stay longer to be able to enjoy all that this B&B offers. Thanks Deb and Bob for sharing your place with us.

Room Tip: Would enjoy staying in each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imahaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Court House, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I stayed in the Little House on the Prarie with 2 girlfriends. We had 2 bedrooms and a loft bed, plus a living room and a kitchen. It was clean and homey. Just a slight problem with the lay-out - the bathroom was in the 1st bedroom, just next to the door, so the person in the loft woke up the bedroom sleeper when going to the bathroom at night. Breakfasts were wonderful, Robert went out of his way to cook vegan breakfasts for me which were great, and Deb was very helpful. I would recommend staying here if in the Waupaca area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divegirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The owners of this bed and breakfast have made a convert in me. I will be looking for bed and breakfasts everywhere I go. This couple went out of their way to make my 10 days here some of the best I have ever spent on the road. From an excellent breakfast, tailored to my tastes, to a quiet, comfortable nights sleep, everything about this experience was excellent. Fortunately, I am not being asked to offer suggestions for improvement, because I do not think I would be capable.

Room Tip: If privacy is very important to you, there are rooms which are not in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E_Teters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is one I don't want to give away! We stayed in Andrew's room for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Inn. The house has so much character. It is a great base camp for kayaking (the Crystal River runs through their backyard) and biking (Hartman Creek State Park is 3 mi. down the road). There are fresh baked goodies in the afternoon and tasty breakfasts to get you started on your day. Breakfast at your convenience at 8am or 9am, you pick. There are so many neat spaces to relax and enjoy the quiet, both outdoors and inside the house. There is a gazebo in the back which overlooks the river--a perfect place to enjoy morning coffee or a glass of wine. The Innkeepers were so gracious and accepting of our active weekend and we are already planning a return trip.

Room Tip: We were in Andrew's room, which shares a bathroom, and had no problems with it. The rest of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IMURPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My wife and I visited friends in Waupaca WI, and they had recommended the Crystal River Inn as a wonderful place to stay; we were not disappointed. Our room was very comfortable, AC, private shower and very clean. The owners, Deb and Robert, made us feel right at home and we enjoyed a delicious breakfast cooked by Robert. The Crystal River runs right through the backyard and gives a beautiful backdrop to both a sitting area and the dining area. We played golf in the Wuapaca area and the Inn was very close to these facilities. We are planning another visit to our friends lake house in the future, and will once again select the Crystal River Inn as our place to relax after a busy day. The Crystal River Inn offers many room selections at a very fair price.

Room Tip: Go online to review the different room pictures and accomodations as the site was very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcovert048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waupaca
3.8 mi away
Ramada Waupaca
Ramada Waupaca
#1 of 3 in Waupaca
343 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Foxfire
Comfort Suites Foxfire
#2 of 3 in Waupaca
98 reviews
21.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites New London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Waupaca
Econo Lodge Waupaca
#3 of 3 in Waupaca
46 reviews
7.8 mi away
Artha Sustainable Living Center Bed and Breakfast
15.7 mi away
Lindsay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal River Inn B&B, LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal River Inn B&B, LLC

Property: Crystal River Inn B&B, LLC
Address: E1369 Rural Rd, Waupaca, WI 54981-8246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Waupaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Waupaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 1853 farmstead in the historic village of Rural on the Crystal River is a welcoming place for all to feel at home. The setting fosters rest and refreshment of body, mind and spirit! Travel Green Wisconsin Certified. Wild Ones, Audubon, National Wildlife Federation members. Full breakfast with Southern touch; wildlife/bird habitat; grass labyrinth; foot paths; bicycle friendly. Cabins for families. Wisconsin government rate. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing